Fageol Motors Co., Fageol Safety Coach, Fageol Truck, Tractor, F.R. Fageol, Frank R Fageol, Fageol Motor Sales Co., Fageol Truck and Coach Co., Fageol Motors Company of Ohio (2022)

This biography encompasses the businesscareers of Frank R. and William B. Fageol, two of the four Fageol(pronounced fadjl) brothers, Rollie, Frank, William and Claud, anamazinglyproductive family of French, Prussian and Welsh descent who held over125 USPatents between them, many of which were influential in the developmentofearly motor trucks and buses. The Fageols held numerous earlyautomobiledistributorships and were responsible for the manufacture of the Fadglroadtrain, Fageol automobile, Fageol motor truck, Fageol tractor, FageolSafetyCoach, Eight-Wheel Motor bus and truck, and the Twin Coach bus and TwinCoach/Fageolline of delivery trucks.

Before the family relocated to California inthe early 1900sthe Fageols had been involved in various automotive ventures in andaround DesMoines, Iowa, the city where their parents (John J. Fageol & MaryM. Jones)had relocated to after their September 7, 1876 marriage in HancockCounty,Illinois.

The family patriarch, John Jacque Fageol,was born onNovember 15, 1854 inNauvoo, Hancock County, Illinois to Antoineand AnnaMary (Albrecht) Fageol. Antoine Fageol (b. June 8, 1812-d.Feb. 27,1877) was aFrench national and the 1850 US Census list his occupation as farmer,Anna Mary(Albrecht) Fageol was born in Prussia.

John’s siblings included Eugenia (b. 1850);Mary (b.1852-d.Oct6, 1931 – mar. to Joseph Jamison); Frederick (b. Nov. 7, 1859-d.1860);Louis H.(b. 1866 d- 1924) and Magdaline (aka Lena) Elizabeth (b. Apr 3,1861-mar. to Wilson)Fageol. Although Antoine and Mary were both residents of HancockCounty,Illinois at the time of the 1850 US Census, they are noticeably absentfromsubsequent enumerations.

Mary Maria Jones (John’s wife) wasborn on March16, 1857 inAppanoose, Hancock County, Illinois to William (b.1827inOhio) and Elizabeth (b.1834) Jones, two Welsh-American farmers. Hersiblingsincluded Alathier (b. 1859) Emma A. (b.1860); Diantha (b. 1862); andWilliam B.(b.1868) Jones. The 1870 US Census reveals that her father William, andsister Alathierhad either left home or passed away and, as in the 1860 Census, theJonesfamily was living on the farm of Mary’s paternal grandfather, SamuelJones(b.1796 in Md.)

The 1880 US Census (enumerated on June 24,1880) lists theFageols of our story in Lincoln township, Polk County, Iowa, thehouseholdconsisting of John J. (25yo) a farmer, Mary M. (23yo) keeping house andRollenB. (2yo) Fageol.

The 1885 Iowa State Census lists the familyas residents ofDouglas Township, Polk County, Iowa. John’s occupation being farmer,thehousehold consisting of John (30yo); Mary (28yo); Rollen Belle (6yo);WilliamBurton (4yo); and Frank Raymond (2yo) Fageol.

Rollen Belle Fageol, John and Mary’s eldestson, went byvarious first names throughout his career, the most common being RollieB.,although Rollen and Rowley were sometimes used.

Vital statistics of the Fageol familyfollows:

John Jacque Fageol wasborn November 15, 1854in Nauvoo, Hancock County, Illinois and died on October 20, 1925in St. Helena, Napa County, California.

Mary Maria Jones (John’s wife) wasborn on March16, 1857 in Hancock County, Illinois and died on August 19, 1928in Oakland, Alameda County, California.

Rollen (aka Rollie & Rowley)Belle Fageol wasborn on May 3, 1878 in Ankeny, Polk County, Iowa and diedon April 4, 1942 in Los Angeles County, California.

William Burton* Fageol wasborn on July 29,1880 in Ankeny, Polk County, Iowa and died on October 24,1955in Kent, Portage County, Ohio.

Frank Raymond Fageol was born onSeptember 14,1882 in Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa and died on August 8,1965in Contra Costa County, California.

Claud Harrison Fageol was born onNovember 6, 1888in Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa and died on December 24, 1968in Portland, Multnomah County, Oregon.

Hazel Elizabeth Fageol was born onMarch 19, 1890in Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa and died on August 20, 1978in Modesto, Stanislaus County, California.

*Correspondencewith William B. Fageol's grandson, William Bertram Fageol III, revealshis grandfather's middle name was Bertram, not Burton, however there'ssome disagreement within the familyas to which is correct (not surprisingly he's in the Bertram camp).Regardless, William III reports that to the best of his knowledge hisgrandfather never used it.

Ankeny, Polk County, Iowa – Rollie andWilliam’s birthplace- was a northern suburb of Des Moines located approximately 6 milesfrom thecity center.

Although numerous ‘biographies’ of the firmclaim the Fageolbrothers built their own 8-passenger steam bus in 1899, Frank R.Fageol,in an article entitled‘FageolReviews Transit Milestone’ which appeared in a 1946 issue ofMetropolitan (pp328) states they “owned and operated”, not built, thevehicle:

“My late brother, Mr. R. B. Fageol, and Ieach operated asmall Dos-a-Dos type four-passenger steam automobile at thecountry fairsin Iowa in 1898, where we hauled passengers in the fairgrounds as anovelty atten cents per ride.

“We owned and operated an eight-passengermobile steambus in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1899, operating betweendowntown DesMoines and the State Fair Grounds at Des Moines underthe nameof Fageol Auto Livery.”

Later that year Frank and Rollie constructedagasoline-powered cycle car in their father’s barn (located at 1728 DesMoinesSt., Des Moines) that was powered by a two-cylinder air-cooled Crestengineequipped with a novel carburetor/throttle consisting of a lamp wick setin thetop of the gas tank, the engine speed regulated by raising or loweringthe wickin the gasoline. The Crest engine was a product of the Crest Mfg. Co.ofCambridge, Mass., a pioneer air-cooled engine manufacturer who alsooffered theCrest and Crest-Mobile air-cooled gasoline cars during the early 1900s.Frankrecalled the Fageol bros.’ prototype in a 1954 issue of Metropolitan:

“Fageol Predicts - by FrankR. Fageol Chairman of the Board Twin Coach Company

“In 1900 F.R. Fageol and Rollie B.Fageol made anddrove this first gasoline automobile to be built in Des Moines, Iowa.First, Iconsider by far the most important transit happening in the last fiftyyears tobe the growth of passenger automobiles from 32,929 in 1903 to thepresentstaggering 45 million, accompanied by some two million miles of hardsurfaced.”

Frank and Rollie’s car was mentioned in theFebruary 27,1900 issue of the Des Moines Daily News:

“R. B. Fageol, son of J. J. Fageol of EastSeventeenth andDes Moines streets has invented an automobile that promises to make astir inmanufacturing circles. It is to run by gasoline. A company is to beformed formaking the machine In Des Moines. Contracts are prepared and willprobably besigned soon, by Stillwell of Kansas City, Evans of the Essex block,this city,Tood of New York and W.P. Chase Co. of this city, by which about$100,000 is tobe raised to start the plant. The machine weighs 350 pounds and is saidto be awonder.”

The same paper’sJuly10, 1900 issue reported on a possible problem with Rollie’s patent:

“COMPANY RUNS AMUCK

“AUTOMOBILE CONCERN FINDS CONFLICTING PATENT

“A London Machine Just Completed andPatentee Conflicts WithDes Moines Auto—Settlement May be Made.

“A company recently formed for themanufacture ofautomobiles under the invention and expected patent of Mr. Fageol ofthis,city, has run amuck.

“While negotiating for a patent atWashington, therepresentatives of Mr. Fageol discovered a London patent, which is saidtoslightly conflict with the patent applied for on the Des Moinesmachine. As aresult, negotiations were immediately begun for a settlement of thedifficulty,which is now thought will be completed within a few days, after whichthecompany will be incorporated here, and begin business.

“It was originally intended to use a portionof theWarfield-Chase building on Sixth-street, but the entire seven floorsareoccupied with the wholesale ware of this company. Another building willbesecured with more commodious quarters, and the manufacture ofautomobilesbegun.”

Rollie B. Fageol applied for a US Patent onthe vehicle onSeptember 11, 1900 which was awarded on June 4, 1901 (Automobile -US675379 -Grant - Filed Sep 11, 1900 - Issued June 4, 1901 – Rollie B.Fageol) but Icould locate no further evidence that the vehicle got beyond theprototype stage.The most novel feature of the vehicle was its novel front and rearsuspension -the front tires were mounted in twin bicycle forks – but no informationwas offeredon its power-plant or transmission.

The 1895-97 Des Moines city directories listRollin B.Fageol, machinist, for J.M. Ferree, sewing machines, staying with hisparentsat 1728 Des Moines. The 1899-1902 directories lists him as arepresentative ofthe W.P. Chase Co., a local bookstore and stationer. The 1902 directoryhas hisoccupation as machinist, but the 1903 directory lists him as presidentof theNational Crude Oil Burner Co. The 1904 directory lists him as mech.eng., Fageol-AldrichMfg. Co.; res. 1115 E. Walnut.

Although the financing for his car fellthrough, Rollieenjoyed some success with his crude oil burner (Crude Petroleum Burner– USPat. No. 719573 - Granted - Filed Apr 18, 1902 - Issued Feb 3, 1903- R.B.Fageol) that was offered by the National Crude Oil Burner Co. Organizedin Julyof 1902, and capitalized at $15,000, N.C.O.B. Co.’s offices werelocated at No.604 Iowa L & T building, its factory at 214 Locust St., Des Moines.Itsofficers included: R.B. Fageol, pres.; J.C. Tate, v-pres. and genl.mgr.; W.F.Farrah, sec.; E.L. Forbes, treas.

The Des Moines city directories reveal thefamily patriarch,John J. Fageol, had a number of occupations during his time in thecity. In1894 he’s listed as a carpenter; 1895 the proprietor of a meat marketat 1536E. Grand av.; by 1897 he had taken in a partner, Owen McClay, andrelocated to1504 E. Grand Av., in the style of Fageol & McClay, Meats, 1504 E.GrandAv. and by 1899 had replaced him with N.S. Edwards, in the style ofFageol-Edwards Meats, 1504 E. Grand Av., a firm which continued into atleast 1902.

The 1903 Des Moines directory lists John asforeman streetsweeping dept., Board of Public Works, and the 1904 directory asPresident of Fageol-AldrichMfg. Co., 721 Walnut St. Des Moines, the official name of the family’sautomobile distributorship which was financed in part by Des MoinesdruggistFrank S. Aldrich. The officers of Fageol-Aldrich were as follows; J.J.Fageol,pres.; W.B. Fageol, v-pres.; F.S. Aldrich, sec.; F.R. Fageol, treas.

The formation of the firm was mentioned inan April 1903 issueof the Des Moines News who reported that the Hopkins Bros., awell-establishedDes Moines sporting goods retailer who also carried bicycles and thesome earlyautomobiles which included Autocar, Buckboard, Oldsmobile and Winton,were inthe process of selling their automobile business to a new firm composedofFageol brothers.Although theannouncement was a bit premature, the move was finalized within theyear andreported in the April 21, 1904 issue of Motor Age:

“Hopkins Bros., Des Moines, Ia., havetransferred theirautomobile and accessories business to the Fageol-Aldrich Co., at409-411 Ninthstreet. The new concern will have the agency for the Oldsmobile,Autocar, andbuckboard besides carrying a full line of appurtenances and supplies.”

The Fageol-Aldrich partnership dealershipwas short-lived asthe August 17, 1904 issue of Horseless Age reported that Olds hadpurchased thefirm’s Oldsmobile distributorship:

“The Fageol Aldrich Co. of Des Moines, la.,is reported tohave sold out a part of its business to the Olds Motor Works.”

The 1899-1902 Des Moines directories listsWilliam B.Fageol’s employer as Henry Plumb, jeweler, staying with his brothers atthehome of his parents at 1728 Des Moines. The 1903 directory list hisoccupationas machinist, and the 1904 directory states he had “removed to SanFrancisco.”

After a false start in Seattle, William B.Fageol migrated southto California where he got a job with the California Motor Company as asalesman (one source says mechanic), the 1905 San Francisco directorylists himat 129 Grove St., San Francisco. The California Motor Co., an earlyautomobiledistributor headed by Louis H. Bill, the former Manhattan branchmanager of theH. A. Lozier Co., manufacturers of the Cleveland bicycle. Bill was theyoungerbrother of John T. Bill, who was a partner with John W. Leavitt in thewell-known San Francisco bicycle dealer Leavitt & Bill.

The October 17, 1901 issue of BicyclingWorld and MotocycleReview announced the formation of the California Motor Co:

“To Make Motocycles in California

“The California Motor Co. has been organizedat SanFrancisco with Louis H. Bill, president; J. W. Leavitt, vice president,and J.F. Bill, secretary and treasurer. While automobiles are in view, theimmediatepurpose of the company is the manufacture of a motor bicycle inventedby R. C. Marks, formerly of Toledo, Ohio, who with E. E. Stoddardand H.A. Burgess constitute the firm.”

Originally located at 2212 Folsom St., theCalifornia MotorCompany eventually relocated next door to Leavitt & Bill at 305Larkin St.(corner of McAllister), San Francisco where they sold Reading Standardmotorcyclesand Overland, Knox & Reo cars.

At much the same time Louis H. Bill becameSan Francisco’sfirst Rambler distributor, establishing the firm at 1331 Market St.,SanFrancisco. Bill hired Fageol as a Rambler salesman and was soonconvinced tohire Fageol’s younger brother Frank who was given a position aschauffeur/salesman with the firm.Hisstatus as chauffeur is confirmed by his 1905 driver’s licenseapplication whichprovides the address, 1331 Market St., as the address of his employer.

Frank R. Fageol’s employment history startswith a positionas an apprentice/laborer at the Kratzer Carriage Co. of Des Moines. Theheavywork did not agree with him and within the year he had taken a positionas asales associate with the W.C. Chase Co., the very same Des Moinesbooksellerand stationer his older brother Rollen also worked for. Hisfirst listing in the Des Moines directoryappears in 1899 where his occupation is listed as machinist. Hislistingremained consistent until the 1904 edition which lists him as “treas.,Fageol-AldrichMfg. Co.”

In the months preceding the San FranciscoEarthquake (April 18,1906), Louis H. Bill established a satellite Rambler agency, known asthe‘Rambler Garage’ in Oakland, putting the Fageol brothers in charge ofthe salesand service departments.

Within a few short months the brothers hadproved themselvescapable of handling the enterprise on their own, and in late 1906acquired theOakland Rambler distributorship from Bill, the real-estate transactionscolumnof the October 13, 1906 issue of the Oakland Tribune announcing thesale of theproperty to Frank R. Fageol:

“F. R. Fageol, one-story two-roomgarage, southeastcorner of Thirty- seventh street and Telegraph avenue; $3000.”

Frank and William Fageol were two of themany unsung heroesin the aftermath of the San Francisco Quake, and the December 23, 1906issue ofthe Des Moines Daily News brought their story to the citizens of theiroldhometown:

“RESCUED MANY IN FRISCO DISASTER; FrankFageol, Des MoinesMan Was a Hero. HE ALMOST LOST HIS LIFE

“Probably no one in the recent Friscodisaster had no moreexciting experience than a former Des Moines man, Mr. Frank Fageol, whofor anumber of years resided in this city and has many friends here. Mr.Fageol hasbeen living in Oakland, Cal., for some time engaged in the automobilebusiness.The story of his heroism in the awful earthquake has been related by aDesMoines woman who is intimately acquainted with the Fageol family andwho hasjust returned from a western trip.

“As soon as the disaster occurred Mr. Fageolat oncehastened to San Francisco in an automobile to ascertain the safety ofhis wife,who had gone there on a visit. No sooner had he reached the doomedcity,however, than he was seized by a United States soldier, who ordered himto usehis car in rescuing the injured. For seventy-two hours Mr. Fageol senthis bigcar whirling between tottering walls or climbing over masses of ruins.In thiscity he and his brother used up three automobiles. For three days andnightsthey did not get a wink of sleep. When, through sheer exhaustion, hiseyes wentshut he would be aroused by the soldier who, bayonet in hand, satbeside himand ever urged him to go closer to the tottering ruins.

“Scores of people were rescued by Mr. Fageoland thesoldier. They came very near losing their lives in the work of rescue.At onetime when they were running slowly up a street behind tottering walls,a bigbuilding came down with a crash behind them, effectually cutting offtheirreturn. A moment later and with a roar, a building in front of themcame downpiling a mass of brick and debris which filled the street. Thus theywerehemmed in in a square of flaming ruins. Seeing there was no other way,Mr.Fageol put on full steam and sent the cur rushing at the mass of ruinsin frontof them. How they got over he says he does not know, but they did itand gotaway safely, although the car was badly crippled.

“Mr. Fageol saw many harrowing sights onthis remarkabletour. People who were hopelessly pinned under burning timbers weregivenchloroform or put out of their misery with a merciful bullet from somesoldier's rifle.”

The 1908 Oakland directory reveals that bythat time theentire Fageol family had relocated to Oakland, and were all busyworking atFrank’s Rambler dealership:

“F.R. Fageol, Automobiles & Garage, Agt.For RamblerAutomobiles; Telegraph Av. sw cor. 37th
“Claud H. Fageol, mach. Rambler Garage, bd.463 37th.
“Frank R. Fageol, pres. F.R. Fageol, r. r.6425 Regent
“John J. Fageol, salsn F.R. Fageol; r. 46337th.
“Hazel E. Fageol, b. 463 37th.
“Rolen B. Fageol, mach. F.R. Fageol, b. 72039th
“William B. Fageol foreman, F.R. Fageol, b.720 39th”

Claud H., the youngest of the four Fageolbrothers, hadvarious scrapes with the law, the first being a charge that he held upa fireengine, the January 1, 1907 issue of the Oakland Tribune reported:

“HELD UP FIRE ENGINES; Such Is Charge PlacedAgainst ClaudeFageol, a Local Chauffeur.

“Charged with preventing fire engines fromgaining access toa hydrant, Claude Fageol, a chauffeur, was arrested yesterdayafternoon. Theengines answered a call at Twelfth and Broadway, where a live wire wasgenerating some alarm, and found Fageol in his machine in front of thehydrant.

“He is said to have refused to move at therequest ofFireman T. J. Roberts of Engine Company No. 2, so he was taken to JailbyPoliceman Tillerson. He was later released on $25 bail.”

Frank R. Fageol’s Rambler Garage had becomequite successfulin a short period of time, and the May 3, 1908 issue of the OaklandTribunereported on the sale of the business to Adams & Co.:

“The Rambler garage and salesrooms formerlyowned andmanaged by Frank Fageol corner Telegraph and Thirty-seventh street,have beensold by Mr. Fageol and in future will be known as the Adams Company,hissuccessors, who will maintain the high standard set by the former ownerin hissuccessful business career in the automobile business in Oakland andvicinity.Every type of the well-known Rambler will be kept by Adams & Co.,and anexpert force of salesmen and mechanics will be employed. Mr. Fageol isretiringfrom the automobile field.”

No further mention of Adams & Companywas forthcomingand F.R. Fageol continued to be Oakland’s Rambler distributor for thenextdecade. He also took on other lines as evidenced by the September 22,1910issue of the Oakland Tribune:

“FAGEOL TAKES ON DETROIT ELECTRIC; RamblerAgent WillRepresent Well Known Line Here.

“By J. A. HOULIHAN

“A most important change in the localautomobile circles isthe taking on of the agency, for Detroit Electric by Frank R Fageol.

“Here-to-fore this well known, line ofelectrics has beenhandled by the Western Electric vehicle company, who have relinquishedit infavor of Fageol.

“The new company will be known as theDetroit Electricagency.The quarters occupied by theWestern Electric Vehicle company have been secured by the new company.Mr. R.H.Morris will serve in the capacity of manager of the new agency.

“Fageol is one of the best known of theautomobile dealerson the Pacific coast. Success hasattended him while representative of the Rambler here. There are anumber ofthese cars in the country. The electric industry appealing to him asone withunlimited possibilities he seized the opportunity to take on thewell-knownelectric line.”

Within the month, Fageol folded his DetroitElectric agencyinto a new firm, the Electric Vehicle Co., the October 8, 1910 issue ofthe OaklandTribune reporting:

“ABSORBS BAY CITIES CO.

“During the past few weeks final articles ofincorporationwere filed by the Electric Vehicle Co. which has just absorbed theDetroitElectric agency and the Bay Cities Electric Co.

“Prominent in the newly organized companywill be R.H.Morris, F.R. Fageol and W.D. Vance, the first two being interestedpreviouslyin the Detroit agency and the latter, Mr. Vance, in the Bay Cities Co.

“Detroit and Columbus Electrics will behandled and a highclass electric garage maintained. The new concern as it now stands isone ofthe strongest companies on the Pacific coast.”

Fageol’s success in the automobile businesswas celebratedwith the construction of a new garage and salesroom located threeblocks south ofhis previous location at the corner of Thirty-fourth St. and TelegraphAve. Thegrand opening was announced in the October 15, 1911 issue of theOaklandTribune:

“Rambler Agent In New Home; F.R. Fageol NowHoused inMagnificent and Spacious Quarters.

“The latent of the local dealers to seek newand better quartersis F.R. Fageol. On Monday night he held an informal opening, to whichwereinvited many motor car owners of this city. Present was nearly everyowner of aRambler car in the county.

“His new garage and salesroom atThirty-fourth and Telegraphavenue, is without doubt one of the most magnificent in this vicinity.Both arespacious and provide ample room—the one to show the new Rambler modelsand theother to house the numerous owners of these cars.

“In point of service and representing onecar Fageol now isabout the oldest dealer in the State of California, the Rambler havingbeendistributed by him for the last six years.

“Frank has made a success of the motor caragency businessby his method of treating with owners, any one of whim will vouch, forhisliberality in taking care of his cars. Evidence of this is the numberof owners,from year to year, seek him out when buying a new model.”

Fageol added Thomas B. Jeffrey Co.’s line of4 and6-cylinder passenger cars in 1911, and Willys-Overland in early 1912,the January7, 1912 issue of the Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Fageol Is Made Overland Agent; Well KnownLocal-Dealer WillRepresent Popular Make of Motor Car.

“Through a deal of no small import,consummated during thepast week, Frank R. Fageol becomes the distributor in Alameda countyfor thecomplete line of Overland motor cars.

“Fageol, at the present time is the oldestdealer, in pointof active participation, in the automobile business in this county.Since hisadvent into the motor car agency line he has handled Rambler cars andat thistime Is about the largest Individual dealer in the state.

“The Overland, which is one of the bestknown of the popularpriced cars on the market today, could not have fallen in better hands.Presentowners and prospective purchasers can feel sure of the treatment fromFageolwhich adds to the pleasure of motoring.

“A service department for the care of ownersand a liberalguarantee with every car sold is part of the policy which has beenoutlined bythe new representative.”

In early 1913 Louis H. Bill, Frank andWilliam Fageol’sformer employer, good friend and longtime Thomas B. Jeffrey Co.(Ramblerautomobile)distributor, was promoted to assistant general manager oftheJeffrey organization, in charge of both the factory and sales. Frank R.Fageolpenned the following announcement which appeared in the January 19,1913 issueof the Oakland Tribune:

“JEFFERY FACTORY INCREASES STAFF: Promotionof Coast ManagerIs Source of Much Gratification

“One of the most important moves in thestrengthening of theeastern motor factory organizations of the year was the announcementmaderecently by the president of the Thomas B. Jeffery company, maker oftheCross-Country cars at Kenosha, Wisconsin. The announcement caused muchcommenthere on the coast through the promotion of L. H. Bill who has for yearsbeenwestern representative for the Jeffery factory In the San Franciscobranchhouse and through Bill's close friendship with Frank R. Fageol whorepresentsthe car in Alameda county. Fageol says:

“‘With the beginning of the new year theboard of directorsincludes Charles T. Jeffrey, Harold W. Jeffrey and George M. Berry,while theofficers of the company are president, Charles T. Jeffery, who is alsogeneralmanager; vice-president, Harold W. Jeffery; second vice-president andTreasurer, George M. Berry; secretary, Edward S. Jordan; assistantsecretary,Edward S. Maddock.’

“‘The first addition to the executive staffis that of LouisH. Bill. He is appointed assistant general manager, in charge of bothfactoryand sales. Mr. Bill has for many years been in charge of the PacificCoastbusiness. He was with the H. A. Lozier company in the bicycle daysfirst as ageneral salesman and subsequently as New York branch manager. Followingthisexperience he entered business for himself in San Francisco, andalthoughactively engaged in the management of the branch of The Thomas B.Jefferycompany since 1904 he continued his interest in his own business untila fewmonths ago.’

“‘Mr. Bill is to be assisted in themanagement of thefactory by J. W. DeCou, and in sales by H. E. Field. Mr. DeCou, whowill befactory manager, has been factory superintendent for the past twoyears. Inpoint of service with the Jeffery interests Mr. De Cou surpasses all oftheothers, having started as an employee of the Rambler bicycle factory in1897.He served with that company until the business was sold and againbecameidentified with Rambler business in 1903, when he was made purchasingagent forthe motor car factory.’

"The business of the Jeffery company for thesix monthsending December 31, shows the greatest growth for any correspondingperiod inits history. Its business has always grown steadily and consistently,but morerapid growth for the past eighteen months makes necessary the new menand a newdistribution of responsibilities."

Success in the automotive field did notescape Rollie, theeldest Fageol brother. While working for his brother’s Rambler agencyas amechanic he had developed and patented a line of aftermarket automobilebumperswhose manufacture was subsequently licensed to the Hartford SuspensionCo.

In the early days of the automobile, manylow andmedium-priced vehicles were not equipped with bumpers from the factory,leavingthe aftermarket field wide open for third party manufacturers, who soldtheirwares through car dealers and auto parts stores. Two of the majorplayers inthe field at that time were the American Chain Co. of Bridgeport,Connecticutand the Hartford Suspension Co., of Jersey City, New Jersey.

Rollie's next project was the design of peoplemovers for theplanned Panama-Pacific International Exposition which was to be held inSanFrancisco during 1915. The Fair celebrated the completion of the PanamaCanaland helped showcase the city’s amazing recovery from the devastating1906Earthquake. The exposition grounds encompassed 635 acres located alongSanFrancisco Bay between Fort Mason and the Presidio extending to ChestnutSt., inwhat is today’s Marina District.

J.H. Fort writesinThe Fageol Success:

"When the Panama-Pacific Exposition was beingplanned,the problem of transportation within the grounds confronted thedirectors. Manyproposals were submitted and considered, but none seemed as practicalas thatof R. B. Fageol and F. R. Fageol. The latter, over a period of fifteenyears,had been automotive inventor, mechanic, and salesman.

"The Fageols proposed to solve the problemby buildinga small tractor, using the motor of a popular automobile, to draw thepassengertrailers. The idea amused and appealed to the directors; the Fageolswereawarded their transportation concessions"

Edward P. Brinegar, president of the PioneerAutomobile Co.,one of the most influential early automobile dealers on the coast(Chalmers, Oldsmobile,Thomas, and Winton, etc.), provided Rollie with the working capital toget theproject rolling, his brother Frank R. Fageol provided the workshops fortheirconstruction, and Brinegar provided an office for the firm adjacent tothePioneer showrooms at 702 Market St., San Francisco.

The ‘Recent Incorporations’ column of theHorseless Ageannounced the formation of the firm in its November 11, 1914 issue:

“Fageol Auto Train Inc., San Francisco,Cal.; Capital stock$100,000; Incorporators: F.R. Fageol, R.B. Fageol, E.P. Brinegar, A.T.O’Connell.”

In a bizarre move, Brinegar, Fageol AutoTrain’s president,insisted that the firm’s products be marketed as the ‘Fadgl’ AutoTrain, fearingthat prospective customers would have great difficulty pronouncing theactual surnameof its inventor. As he was providing the cash, the Fageol brothersceded to hisrequest and the name stuck.

The Ford Model T was selected as the motivepower unit forthe auto train. The frame of the Ford tractors were modified with abeefed-up frameand a Rollie B. Fageol-designed reduction gear-set that limit its speedwhileproviding the greatest amount of torque from the seemingly overtaxed4-cylinderFord engine. A clever inter-steering device made up of diagonalsteering armscontrolled the trailer’s steering and an automatic brake was installedthebrought the vehicle to a controlled stop whenever the accelerator waslifted.

The four wheels of the double-axled trailercoaches wereshrouded to protect the clothes and feet of its passengers. Both unitsof thetractor-trailers were constructed in a facility leased by Frank R.Fageol andlocated at Thirty-eighth St. and San Pablo Ave. (38th St. isnowknown as W. MacArthur Blvd.) during the winter and early spring of 1915.

The May 10, 1915 issue of the AutomobileJournal provided adetailed description of the Fadgl ‘motor train’:

“MOTOR TRAINS AT EXPOSITION.

“Seventeen Ford motor engines are used inthe transportationsystem established to haul visitors about the exposition grounds in SanFrancisco. They pull 17 small motor trains which run from Machineryhall to theMassachusetts building and back, a distance of three miles.

“These trains were designed and builtby R. B.Fageol of Oakland. Power is supplied by small tractors, which have36-inchtread and a wheelbase in proportion. Each one carries a Ford motor. Thesteering wheel is set like the usual automobile steering post, and asingleseat for the driver is provided on the tractor. An inter-steeringarrangementhas been perfected so that by the use of a ball and socket draw bareach carsteers the one that immediately follows. Brake shoes work against thesurfaceof the pavement instead of against a drum on the cars themselves. Thetrainsare operated with perfect safety among the largest crowds that visittheexposition.

“Around the grounds the trains run at anaverage speed of 10miles per hour, although the tractors running empty are said to be ableto make20 miles an hour. The cars, two of which make a train, are like longsetteesplaced back to back with a passage way between in which the conductoroperates.The wheels have five by 25 solid tires and are completely hidden.

“The cars are very low, so that it is only ashort step offthe ground to a seat. This feature does much to make the conveyancepopular.

“Each of the trains is travelling about 100miles per day,at a cost of five cents for fuel, wages for the crew, and mechanicalupkeep anddepreciation. The fare charged is 10 cents. Twenty passengers per trainis agood load, but on some days, when the crowds have been especiallylarge, asmany as 50 have been carried. Sixty-five men are employed in operatingthesystem.”

The most detailed account of the train’sengineeringappeared in the October 21, 1915 issue of Engineering News:

“A more novel means of transportation isthat afforded bytrackless trains operated on the driveways, each consisting of anautomobileand trail cars. This system was invented by R. B. Fageol, of Oakland,Calif.,and is operated by the Fadgl Auto Train Co., of San Francisco.

“The automobile, or tractor, is of specialdesign, weighing 6,000lb. and having 20-in. wheels with solid rubber tires. It carries fourpassengers. The tractor hauls three trailers, each weighing 1,500 lb.andcarrying 20 passengers. These cars have 24-in. wheels and 12-ft.wheelbase.They have side seats back to back, with a passage between for the useof theconductor. At the ends the seats are raised to clear the wheels. Thecouplingsare of special design, causing the trailers to track with theautomobile. Ashoe brake is operated in connection with the couplings, being loweredtocontact with the ground when the couplings are slackened by reductionof speed.The speed limit is 12 mi. per hr.”

The June 1915 issue of The AmericanChauffeur contained amore detailed account that was originally published in the CommercialCarJournal:

“Automobile Trains At Exposition

“Viewed from outside the entrance gates apopular vote wouldundoubtedly select the Tower of Jewels as the chief attraction of thePanama-PacificInternational Exposition. Inside the accurately clicking turnstilesthere isnothing which so quickly catches and holds the eye as the spic and spanwhiteauto trains that are quickly skimming about the beautiful jewel City,conveyingthousands of visitors over the extensive grounds, affording the formeracomplete and comprehensive view of the great fair in its exterioraspect whichthey could not otherwise obtain.

“The Fadgl Auto Train is the nameunder which this wheeled fleet operates. Its popularity cannot bequestioned, for everytrain is loaded to capacity. It is a midget train by comparison, but abig thingfrom the standpoint of its commercial success.

“A Californian, R.B. Fadgl, invented it. He is awell-known Oakland automobile dealer. It was while in Philadelphia on abusiness trip three years ago that the idea had its birth.

“Being of an inventive and practical turnof mind, Fadgl setabout putting into concrete form something to meet this need. Themotive powerwas simple enough, but a passenger coach combining comfort andpracticability,a mechanical complement to the engine, gave Fadgl a pretty problem.

“Followed a few weeks of the transformationof theories toblueprints and blueprints to models, until at last Fadgl producedafour-wheeled trailer, incorporated in which was a clever inter-steeringdevicemade up of diagonal steering arms.

“In detail each train consists of a specialminiature AutoTractor of 36-inch tread, with 25x5inch solid tires, and two speciallydesignedtrailers or cars resembling a double settee, with the conductor’s aislein thecenter.

“The braking system consists of a shoeconnected midway inthe draw-bar, which is forced downward when the motion of the train isslackened. the action being automatic and in unison with the tractor,making itabsolutely safe in crowds. The system is an entirely new invention,whichsuccessfully solves a hitherto perplexing problem.

“The whole car is but one step off theground, running onfour invisible wheels, all controlled by a draw—bar connection to thetractorin such a way that the two cars follow in exactly the same tracks asthetractor when rounding a turn in the road. This feature eliminates anycuttingoff on turns or crowding of people off the road. Each train seats fortypeoplecomfortably, and the cars are most convenient in getting onor off.

“The twenty Fadgl auto trains areoperated in amanner which is similar to that of a street car system. A similar chartis usedand similar schedule system. This similarity of operation is carriedout in allits details.”

Specifics of the auto train’s route,capacity and incomewere detailed in the July 10, 1915 issue of the Electric RailwayJournal:

“Transportation by Fadgl Auto Train at SanFrancisco Exposition

“The Fadgl Auto Train Inc., has beencarrying approximatelyone fourth of all Panama-Pacific Exposition visitors in eighteen, threecartrains of sixty-six seating capacity, or 105 total capacity per train.Thelongest run one way is 1 1/2 miles and the shortest is 3/8 mile. Theinitialfare is either 5 or 10 cents, according to the character of the run.Zone fareadditions of 5 cents each are charged when passengers make partial orcompletecircuits. On Feb. 20, the opening day, fifteen two-car trains and oneone-cartrain carried $3,246.95 of business. Up to June 1, about 1,250,000passengerswere carried, but it is expected that heavy summer business will bringthetotal for the year in excess of 4,000,000. The number of fares duringfour daysof June averaged 15,150 a day. All fare collections during this periodwerehandled with Rooke registers.”

Between February 20, 1915, when the gatesopened andDecember 4, when the Exposition closed, a fair number of the fair’s 18million visitorsrode on the popular Fadgl Auto trains, which took in a reported$307,000 innickels and dimes. When the Exposition ended a number of the trainswere soldto a Chicago-based firm that operated the concessions at that City’sLincoln Park.

The total number of trains constructed isbelieved to havebeen 18 although contemporary reports list a total of 16, 17 and 20,one sourcementioned a total of 30. Further exploitation of the trains wasenvisioned andon February 21, 1916 Brinegar and Rollie B. Fageol organized a secondfirm,FadglFlexible Systems Inc., in Carson City, Nevada. The firm was capitalizedat$100,000 and an office established in San Francisco’s Hobart Buildingat 582Market St. As Frank and William were not directly involved with thefirm, its history is continued on the FadglFlexible/Eight-Wheeled Motor Co. page.

Frank R. Fageol continued to operatehis verysuccessful Oakland automobile distributorship which now encompassedGarfordtrucks and the entire Jeffrey line, which now included the JeffreyQuad, aheavy-duty all-wheel drive workhorse that had become popular withCaliforniaminers.

In 1916 Frank made a calculatedmove to get intothe lucrative heavy truck manufacturing business, which up until thattime hadbeen dominated by firms located in East. His success with thedistribution ofGarford and Jeffrey trucks convinced him there was an increasing demandfor thevehicles in the Pacific Northwest. His only competition would be fromMoreland,which was located in Los Angeles, a two day’s journey from his homebase ofAlameda County, and almost a week from Seattle, Washington (SanFrancisco’s Kleiber Motor Truck Co.didn’t start manufacturing trucks until after the end of the FirstWorld War).

The first sign that he was up to somethingcame via theannouncement that he was getting out of the retail automobile business,whichwas included in the April 2, 1916 issue of The Oakland Tribune:

“Fageol Sells Automobile Business; PioneerDealer Retires;New Company Takes Possession

“Without doubt one of the most interestingtopics ofconversation along auto row yesterday was the announcement of thepurchase bythe newly formed Fageol Motor Sales Company of the automobile interestsofFrank R. Fageol, Jeffery car dealers and one of the best knownautomobileretail dealers in the west.

“This move marks the retirement of FrankFageol from theretail automobile business. Fageol is to devote all of his timehereafter tohis other interests, chief, of which is the Fageol trains. The newcompany,which has been incorporated by W.C. Morse and C.R. Tate for the purposeofcarrying on the business as usual took possession yesterday. No changesarecontemplated by the new owners, both of whom have been with FrankFageol in thehandling of the business for years. Morse has had charge of the truckdepartment of the business and Tate has for years had control of theaccessoryand supply department for Fageol. Both men thoroughly understand thebusiness.The same lines will be handled by the Fageol Motor Sales Company aswererepresented by Fageol personally. The Jeffery cars and trucks and theGarfordtrucks constitute the motor car agency line. The new big six Jefferycars areexpected to arrive In Oakland within a few weeks’ time.”

Within the year C.R. Tate had reorganizedthe Fageol MotorSales Co. as the Western Motor Sales Co., a firm which regularlyadvertised inthe Oakland Tribune, their earliest advertisements stating:

“Western Motor Sales Co. -formerlythe Fageol MotorSales Co., 3420 Telegraph Avenue.”

Frank’s olderbrotherWilliam joined him in making plans for the proposed auto truck whichwould beoffered in sizes ranging from 2 ½ to 6 tons capacity. John J. Fageol,thefamily patriarch, retired and his youngest son, Claud H. Fageol, foundemployment with another Oakland dealer, George Peacock - the April 16,1916issue of the Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Dailey and Fageol Join Chandler Staff

“Two of the most important of recent changesin thepersonnel of auto row was announced this week by George Peacock of thePeacockAuto Company of this city, who announces the acquisition to hisChandler carstaff of experts C. H. Fageol and Frank H. Dailey.

“Both Fageol and Dailey are well known herein motoringcircles, Fageol, who is to devote all of his time to the selling ofChandlerSix cars here was for years identified with his brother, Frank R.Fageol, inthe Jeffery car business.

“Dailey was formerly the Reo car agent inOakland and laterthe Pacific Coast distributor for the Premier line of the motor carswithheadquarters In Oakland. He also handled the Oakland car line here foraseason. Dailey is to handle Chandler cars in the outside territory forthe PeacockAuto Company.

“Both men are experienced in the automobilebusiness andtheir choice of the Chandler car in carrying out their work is a matterof muchgratification to the local Chandler people.”

Of greater significance to the truckmanufacturing projectwere events taking place in Kenosha., Wisconsin, the July 23, 1916issue of theOakland Tribune announcing:

“Nash Takes Control of the Jeffery Factory

“A bigger, greater Jeffrey organization isseen by automobileworld prophets as a result of yesterday's sale of the mammoth Kenoshamanufacturing plant.

“Foremost among the purchasers of the ThomasB. JeffreyCompany is Charles W. Nash, of Flint, Mich., a man with a nation-widereputation for his constructive conservatism in the motor car Industry.Nashtakes active charge of the management of the big plant on August 1, atwhichtime his connection with the General Motors Company will be completelysevered.

“Announcement of the sale of the companywhich is capitalizedat $13,000,000, came as a surprise to the automobile world. Exactfigures givingthe price for the entire stock were not made public.”

Nash’s takeover of Jeffery was significantas Frank R.Fageol’s longtime friend and former employer Louis H. Bill was now outof a jobas Charles W. Nash wished to install his own men at the Jeffrey Works.

During the summer Bill and Fageol puttogether a businessplan which included the construction of a showpiece that would bringattentionto the firm and by association its line of heavy-duty trucks, both ofwhichwere totally unknown outside of metropolitan San Francisco. The bait,as itwere, would be ‘the World’s Most Expensive Car’ which could only bepowered by‘the World’s Largest Engine’, the very same 6-cylinder Hall-Scott aeroengine thatwould power the firm’s trucks. The 824.67-cu. in. overhead-valvestraight-sixHall-Scott was guaranteed to produce 125+hp at 1,300 r.p.m.

The car and the truck, whose conventionalchassis weredesigned by Detroit-based powertrain engineer Cornelius T. Meyers,would be marketedas the Fageol. Both would feature a distinctive row of top-mountedjaggedventilators that ran from the back of the radiator to the cowl –makingit easyto identify any Fageol product from a distance. Frank R. Fageolpatented thedesign and they remained a distinctive and endearing feature of thefirm’s vehiclesinto the mid-1930s.

The Fageol 100 automobiles featured adistinctive slopingnickel-plated radiator while the firm’s trucks and buses used a moretraditional body-colored cast radiator shell with the firm’s nameembossed atthe top, although nickel plating was an option.

The car was constructed in a leased factorylocated atThirty-eighth St. and San Pablo Ave. (38th St. is now knownas W.MacArthur Blvd.) and was first mentioned in the Oakland Tribune via anannouncement that a catalog featuring the Fageol car was forthcoming:

The ‘Manufacturing and Industrial News’column of the November11, 1916 issue of the Oakland Tribune reported:

“The FageolMotorsCompany have in preparation a catalog descriptive of the Fageol carwhich willbe one of the finest pieces of automobile literature ever published intheUnited States. This catalog is to be ready for distribution at the NewYorkAutomobile Show in February, and its preparation is in the hands of K.L. Hamman.”

The ‘Manufacturing and Industrial News’column of the November18, 1916 issue of the Oakland Tribune announced that Fageol was goingto use alocally sourced aircraft engine built by Berkeley, California’sHall-ScottMotor Car Company:

“The first order of Hall-Scott motors to beused in the newFageol automobile manufactured by the Fageol Motors Company will bedeliveredshortly. By the use of the Hall-Scott aeroplane motor it will bepossible toattain a speed from 100 to 110 miles per hour with the car fullyequipped.

“The Hall-Scott Motor Company made ashipment of twentyaeroplane motors to the Russian government during the week.”

The ‘Manufacturing and Industrial News’column of the November 25, 1916 issue of the Oakland Tribune:

“The designs for the bodies of the newFageol car – anautomobile made in Oakland in which a $4,200 Hall-Scott aviation motoris to beused – have been completed. These new body designs are a step forwardin thebody construction, and it is expected they will attract immediateattentionamong automobile connoisseurs.”

The ‘Manufacturing and Industrial News’column of the December2, 1916 issue of the Oakland Tribune:

“The Fageol Motors Company is placing in itsnew factory atThirty-eighth and San Pablo avenue the machinery to be used Inmanufacturingand assembling the various parts of the new Fageol car.”

The December 31, 1916 issue of the OaklandTribune announcedthat the first Fageol automobile would be ready in time for a debut attheChicago Auto Show:

“$12,000 Autos Are Oakland Product

“Frank Fageol Makes Highest Priced Cars inthe World.

“150-Horsepower Motor Will Deliver 100 MilesPer Hour Speed.

“With an Oakland made six-cylinder motorthat will develop135-horsepower at a speed of 1350 r.p.m. and has horsepower range up to150 athigher speeds, the first of the new Fageol cars is nearing completionin theOakland shops of the Fageol Motors Company and will be ready forshipment byexpress in a few days for the East where it will be exhibited in theChicagoAuto Show.

“The new Fageol car is something entirelydifferent from anymotor car ever built before, either in America or abroad. It will beguaranteedto deliver a road speed of 100 miles per hour carrying four passengersand fullequipment. The chassis alone will cost in the neighborhood of $8,500 inOakland.

“Each body will be custom built and the costof bodies forthe car will range in prices from two to three thousand dollarsadditional. Thelowest price Fageol car will exceed a cost of $10,000 to the buyer. Itwill bethe highest priced car in the world.

“Two sample bodies are now being built forthe Fageol cars,one by C. P. Kimball of Chicago, and the other by Larkin of SanFrancisco.These two bodies are to be used to complete the two chassis now beingbuilt forthe big eastern shows. The Fageol cars will feature the famousHall-Scottmotors which are also built here in Oakland. The cost of each motor atthe localplant is $4,200. They are the same identical motor that the governmenthas specifiedfor use in 95 per cent of the new aeroplanes. It has a 5 in. bore by 7in. stroke.The Fageol car with its powerful 125 h.p. motor will be geared 1 1/4 onhigh.

“The car is the product of the Fageol MotorsCompany ofwhich L. H. Bill is president; Frank Fageol secretary, treasurer andgeneralmanager and Webb Jay of Chicago, vice-president. All three men areexceptionally well and favorably known in the automobile tradethroughout theUnited States. It is the intention of the company to market 200 ofthese high pricedcars during the first season's production.

“Every one of these cars will be the verylast word in motorcar construction, every detail in the finishing of the cars shows anextravaganceof attention that brings the cost of construction to a figure that theownership of one of the new Fageol cars will be the equivalent todouble ‘A’rating in the financial world.”

The Fageol 100, as it became known, wasso-named as it wasguaranteed to hit 100 m.p.h., and one period road test claimed to havehit 116m.p.h. The car shared the distinction with the Pierce-Arrow 66 (whichhadexactly the same dimensions, in terms of cubic displacement—over 13 1/2liters)as being the largest displacement engines to have appeared in anAmerican‘production’ automotive – evenlarger thanthe significantly more famous 12 ½ liter Type 41 Bugatti Royale.

The January 13, 1917 issue of the OaklandTribune announcedthat the first car had been shipped to Chicago:

“The Fageol Motors Co. have completed thefirst two Fageolcars to be used for demonstration purposes. One of these $11,000 carshas beenshipped to Chicago by Wells Fargo Express and will be exhibited at theChicagoMotor Show while the other will be exhibited in San Francisco. TheHall-Scottaviation motor is used, making possible a speed of 100 miles per hourwith thecar fully equipped.”

Although the Fageol automobile was thesubject of muchdiscussion in and around San Francisco and Oakland, it wasn’t until thefollowing item appeared in the January 18, 1917 issue of The Automobilethatthe national automotive trade became aware of the car:

“Fageol Has 125 Hp. Motor and Sells for$9,500

“Chicago, Jan. 15 - One of the mostinteresting cars at theChicago show will be the Fageol, which has one of the highest pricedchassis inthe world, if not the very highest.

“The chassis sells for $9,500. The will beexhibited as a four-passengertouring speedster and is equipped with Hall-Scott six-cylinder aviationmotorrated 125-150 hp. A special custom is now being fitted to the chassisat the shopsof the C.P. Kimball Co. The motor is equipped with Bosch electriclighting,starting and ignition apparatus and with the gearset takes up aboutthree-fourthsof the length of the chassis. Connection between the gearset and theKardo axleis by a short shaft and universal. Light weight is a distinctivefeature of thecar which is different in appearance from any other on the market andischaracterized by a wedge shaped radiator and an unusually low body.”

The February 1917 issue of the Hub includeda description ofthe Kimball-built Fageol exhibited at the Salon Exhibit of the ChicagoAutoShow:

“At the Salon held in the Elizabethan roomof Congress Hotelthere were 20 cars and one chassis. Two new cars not exhibited in NewYork werethe Fageol and Disbrow.

“The Fageol is the product of the FageolMotors Co., ofOakland, Cal, and sells for $9,500 for chassis alone. Body work inconnectionwith chassis is additional, and optional with the purchaser.

“The body work of the car on exhibition isthe product ofKimball, of Chicago, and is a sumptuous affair. A green-gray touringbody, witheider down cushions, plush lined top and body, polished mahoganyflooring,glass panel instrument board, and ivory-mounted handles on doors,contributedto an atmosphere of regal splendor. The car has adjustable front seatswhichslide back and forth to suit the occupants. It is fitted with aVictoria toplined with silk plush. The outside of the top is mohair. The floorcoveringsare also of silk plush over the mahogany floorboards. The ventilatorsin thetop of the hood are striking and tend to relieve the long line of thehoodcovering the Hall-Scott aviation motor housed within. The sale price oftheengine alone is $5,400. It develops 150 horsepower.

“One of the most distinctive features of thecar is thesloping radiator, which overhangs the front axle, completely maskingit, andpresenting a most formidable appearance. It also contributes to coolingefficiency owing to the downward pitch of the air passages. Theradiator shellslants backward and upward at practically the same angle as thewindshield; thecore is likewise slanted. In consequence, the air passages through itslantdownward toward the engine, so that incoming air currents impingedirectlyagainst the walls of the passages, instead of rushing through them withonlysurface streamline contact.”

The February 1, 1917 issue of the Automobiledescribed it asfollows:

“Fageol Priced at $12,000

“Probably the most expensive car on thefloor is the Fageolwith the Kimball gray green touring body. As it stands it is listed at$12,000.It has adjustable front seats which slide back and forth to suit theoccupants.It is fitted with a Victoria top lined with silk plush. The outside ofthe topis mohair. The floor coverings are also of silk plush over the mahoganyfloorboards. The ventilators in the top of the hood are striking andalso tendto relieve the long line of the hood covering the Hall Scott aviationenginehoused within. The sale price of the engine alone is $5,400.”

The brochure distributed at the Chicago showoffered eightexclusive designs ‘suggested by America's foremost body builders.’ Twowheelbases, 135” and 145” were offered as was the choice of a four- orsix-cylinder Hall-Scott, the resulting drivetrain fully occupying over75% ofthe car’s wheelbase. The two prototypes known to have been constructedwerefitted with the Four-Passenger Victoria coachwork depicted in thebrochure. Thebodies were fitted with ivory adorned hood latches, door handles andcontrolknobs – even the ivory badge on the radiator was backlit when thelights wereturned on.

Text from the brochure follows:

“The Fageol Car was conceived and created toincrease theluxury of living and to satisfy the demand of the connoisseur for a carofAmerican make that would meet idealized requirements.

“In every age and every clime man hasexpressed his love ofluxury in his mode of travel. He has striven for perfection that hemight enjoyto the full the pleasure and happiness denied to his less fortunateneighbor.

“Real luxury of motion has only come withthe refinement of themotor car of quality. The queen in her open landau of gold, the princewith hisgorgeously bedecked elephants, milady with her coach and four—all werestylishand splendid—yet all lacked the qualities now so necessary to realluxury oftraveling.

“For luxury today is something more thanstyle, somethingmore than comfort, something more than speed. It is more than acombination ofthese three. Luxury not only Consists of the many little refinedappointments,but in beauty of design—in the smart appearance of the car. Luxurymeans notonly a motor that will propel the car, but a power plant that willinstantlyrespond to the driver's slightest wish, be it the pace of a snailthrough thecrowded traffic center or the onrushing speed of an aeroplane over anunobstructed highway.

“The driving of a Fageol car satisfies everysense ofphysical comfort, of mental ease and of love of speed, and brings tothefortunate owner the vivid realization of the luxury of motion.

“In the Fageol, you will find the excellenceof constructionand the close attention to details that has only characterized theproductionof European cars now practically impossible to obtain on account of thewar.

“The use of the Hall-Scott AviationPowerplant is a new butsound departure from the usual practice. This engine —excelling inevery knowntest for speed and endurance—today ranks at the very pinnacle ofAeroplanemotors, and its use places the Fageol Car above imitation.

“The custom made bodies are smart, originalanddistinctive—beautiful to look upon. There is every opportunity for theexpression of the individual taste—that the car might truly express thepersonality of the owner.

“It is not too much trouble to buildprecisely what thebuyer wants, and therefore the production of these luxurious Fageolcars islimited in order that much time may be devoted to each individual car.”

The ‘Progress Of Motor Car Industry’ columnin the February10, 1917 issue of Michigan Manufacturer and Financial Record includedthefollowing:

“Fageol, A Car For The Ultra Wealthy.

“Cornelius T. Meyers, of Detroit, isconsulting engineer forthe Fageol $12,500 car which is to be made in San Francisco.The Fageol is the last word in motor construction. Mr. Myersis atpresent at work on the motor trucks which the company will put out.These willbe "laid down" in Detroit and will utilize Detroit made parts, butwill be assembled in California finally. Fageol, Webb Jay andLouisBill formed the company and put up $25,000 each at the start, but theorganization is now a big business body with large capital tomanufacture forthe most exclusive trade. Even at $12,500 or $11,000, or whatever theprice maybe in that neighborhood, there will be sale for a limited number of thecars tothe wealthy people who want the best.”

The February 3, 1917 issue of the OaklandTribune reportedthat the car was being well-received in Chicago:

“The Fageol Motors Co. report the receipt ofa telegram fromFrank Fageol in Chicago to the effect that Fageol car now on display attheChicago Motor Show is attracting the attention of motor carconnoisseurs anddealers from all over the country and that there is no questionregarding thesale of the first year's output. The Fageol car is manufactured inOakland andis the highest priced motor car made in America.

“Hall-Scott Motor Company continues theerection ofadditional factory buildings, some five being- constructed during 1916at theirworks. Fifth and Snyder, Berkeley. The latest construction consists oftwo newbuildings to house department work, foundation being laid this week.Contractsare in hand to justify continuous night and day operation for aconsiderableperiod. The principal buyers are Army and Navy Departments atWashington andforeign powers—principally Russia.”

The next day’s issue (Oakland TribuneFebruary 4, 1917)proclaimed it ‘the Hit of the Show’:

“Fageol Makes Hit Of Auto Show

“Oakland Built Car Gets Great Attention ofChicago Affair.

“Oakland was given another very substantialboost fordistinction in the automobile world during the past week at the ChicagoAutomobile Show through the medium of the new Fageol car which wasbuilt inOakland and exhibited in the big Chicago auto event. The Fageol carwhich is theworld's highest priced, fastest and biggest horse-powered automobile,was thetalk of the show according to Louie Bill of the Fageol Company who sentthefollowing wire to the Automobile Editor of the TRIBUNE:

“‘Hoorah for California. We are again to thefront in theautomobile Industry. Fageol car most talked of machine at the Chicagoshow. Ourcar has created more interest and discussion among motorists andautomobileengineers than any car ever shown in this country. ManufacturerscongratulateCalifornians for applying famous Hall-Scott aeroplane motor to theircar. WeAmericans now have finer product than any foreign manufacturer. We willexhibitat San Francisco show. You can use this now.’

“’Best wishes. Will see you in few days, -LOU H. BILL.’”

By the end of the week the February 5, 1917issue of theHorseless Age was on the newsstands, who proclaimed it ‘A Car of ManyRefinements’:

February 5, 1917 Horseless Age:

“What the Dealer Should Know About: TheFageol – A Car ofMany Refinements

“With Six Cylinder Hall Scott AviationEngine Cylinders CastSingly and Machined to Form a Solid Block. A Gearcase of Bronze andAluminum aSlanting Radiator and a Special Sub Frame

Evidently recognizing the truth thestatement that ‘there isalways room at the top’ the new chassis announced by the Fageol MotorsCompany,Oakland, Cal., is listed at $9,500: a figure which is however notexcessivewhen the unusual specifications of the product are taken intoconsideration. Inthe first place the Hall-Scott engine of aviation type used in theFageol isessentially similar to the regular airplane engine listed by theHall-ScottCompany at over $4,000 and throughout the entire construction of thechassisthere is ample evidence of the full realization of a desire to providethebest, and the best only, in both major and minor details.

“Although the cylinders present theappearance of being ablock casting they are in reality cast singly from a special mixture ofgrayand Swedish iron and are so machined on the sides that they form ablock whenassembled. Bore and stroke are 5x7 inches and it is stated that one oftheseengines has developed 130 horsepower at 1300 revolutions per minuteduring acontinuous sixty-four hour factory test, at the conclusion of whichevery partwas found to be in perfect condition. The crankshaft is of sevenbearing type,with oversized bearing surfaces and steel oil scuppers and theone-piececamshaft is carried in an aluminum housing. The crankcase is ofaluminum alloyand the lower oil case can be removed without breaking any oil lineconnection.

“Lubrication is of high pressure type and isoperated by alarge gear pump. Oil is first drawn from a strainer in the sump to alongjacket around the intake manifold and is then forced under a pressureof fromfive to thirty pounds to the main distributor pipe in the crankcase.The oil inthe manifold jacket assists in the cooling of the engine and a uniformcylindertemperature is maintained by the use of internal outlet pipes runningthroughthe head of each cylinder. Slots cut in these pipes permit of coldwater beingdrawn directly around the exhaust valves.

“Ignition is furnished by two high tensionmagnetos, bothinterrupters being connected to a rock shaft integral with the engine,anarrangement which makes outside connections unnecessary. The ignitionsystem isso installed that should one magneto become inoperative, the other willcontinue to give efficient service. A twelve volt system of electricstartingand lighting has been developed especially to suit Fageol requirementsand afeature of interest in connection with the double Zenith carburetor isanarrangement which permits of oil being taken from the crankcase and runaround themanifold to assist perfect carburation.

“A Hele- Shaw clutch in which V- groovedtwin plates ofphosphor bronze against steel revolve in an oil bath, is fitted and theespecially designed transmission is mounted in an aluminum and bronzecase. Themain case and supporting arms are of manganese bronze, the former beingsodesigned that the main and counter shafts, mounted one above the other,are inreality just half in the case and manganese bearing caps, when inposition,completely encircle the bearings. Twisting and torque strains are takenup bychrome nickel studs which extend vertically through the aluminum case.Theseand the general layout of the transmission are shown in one of ourillustrations.

“A sub frame which carries the rear enginearm and thetransmission is designed to allow great flexibility for rough roadtravelingand the main chassis frame is of alloy pressed steel with main sillsdirectlyunder those of the body to insure rigidity.

“SPECIFICATIONS:
Chassis price $9,500
Cylinder number Six
Bore and stroke 5x7 inches
Carburetor Zenith
Ignition Two magnetos
Starting and lighting 12 volt system
Clutch type Hele-Shaw
Number of speeds Three
Rear axle Semi floating
Wheelbase 135 to 145 inches
Tires 34 x 4 inches

“Manufactured by the Fageol Motors Company,Oakland, Cal.”

Although he is not recorded as beinginvolved in the FageolMotors Co., Rollie B. Fageol’s bumper business must have been doingwell asMarch 11, 1917 issue of the Oakland Tribune announced that he wasconstructinga new $15,000 home:

“New Home In Rockridge.

“R.B. Fageol, one of the Fageol brothers ofautomobile famewho made both name and fortune in operating the little automobiletrains at theSan Francisco Exposition, has had plans completed for a $15,000residence on Alpineterrace in Rockridge Park. The new home will be of old English type,withtwelve, rooms and a ball room in the attic. It will be one of thefinestresidences in this exclusive residence district, and work will becommenced atonce. The plans were prepared by J. Hudson Thomas of Berkeley.”

The Fageol 100 was shown at a lavishpresentation in theballroom of the Oakland Hotel where, on a specially constructed 75 footlongplatform, the Fageol was accelerated from 0 to 25 mph to a full stop in40 feetwith six persons aboard, the April 5, 1917 issue of the Oakland Tribunereporting:

“Claims New Record

“One of the most unique records in theannuls of theautomobile industry was made Friday night in the Hotel Oakland ballroombeforethe members of the Manufacturers’ committee of the Chamber of Commercewhen aFageol car attained a speed of twenty-five miles an hour from astanding startand came to a full stop again all within the confines of a sixty-fivefoot room- taking the length of the car itself out of the sixty-five footdistance itreally means that the car attained this twenty-five mile an hourspeedand came to a stop again in a space ofless than fifty feet.

“Loose planking was spread across the roomto protect thehardwood floors of the ballrooms. It is stated that the Silverton cordtires ofthe car fairly burned their way into the planking with the terrificfrictionengendered in stopping and starting the car on the test.”

During the next few years, Claud H. Fageol,the familydaredevil, conducted most of the road-tests conducted by Fageol Motors,theApril 15, 1917 issue describing his timed climb of Mt. Daiblo, a localpeakthat had a notoriously steep grade:

“Climbs Mt. Diablo in High Gear

“Fageol car at the end of its remarkablehigh gear test runup Mt. Diablo. Photo, with fir tree in background, shows the pointreached bythe car on the last steep pitch of the Diablo grade. This powerfulmotor car,carrying four passengers weighing in an aggregate of 763 pounds, andwith twospare wheels with tires mounted, achieved a point on the Mt. Diablo runon agear rations of 2 ½ to 1 high.

“CLAUDE FAGEOL pointing to the stake markingthe pointreached by the Fageol car on the Mt. Diablo grade in its wonderful highgeardemonstration conducted under the official observance of the AutomobileEditorof The TRIBUNE.”

“Reaching a point fully fifty yards furtherup the laststeep pitch on Mt. Diablo than the record set by the present holder oftheTribune Mt. Diablo high-gear trophy a Fageol car driven by ClaudeFageol, gavea wonderful demonstration of its hill-climbing abilities during thepast weekwhen it climbed practically to the Fir Tree on high gear under therules of TheTribune and with the Automobile editor of The Tribune as an officialcarrying atotal passenger weight of driver, official and observers of 763 poundsinaddition to two spare Silverton cord tires mounted on spare wheels andall ofthe regular equipment.

“The car made the run via the Danville tollgate and madeevery inch of the way as far as the Fir Tree on the last steep pitchwithoutonce removing the high gear from mesh. After having raised The TribuneMt.Diablo high gear cup record by about fifty yards and complying with allof theother rules and regulations governing the coveted Tribune trophy, therecognized symbol of Mt. Diablo high gear attainments, the car wasexamined forgear ratio upon its return and the committee appointed certified thatthe car wasgeared 2 1/2 to 1 on high gear. The committee appointed comprised thefollowing: Charles B. Jones of the P.B. Anspacher agency; Harrison B.Wood ofthe Oldsmobile agency and A.G. Sommerville, automobile dealer.

“The Fageol car's claim to The Tribune cupwas challenged byP. B. Anspacher, the Stearns-Knight car dealer, who is the presentholder ofthe cup and the committee appointed to decide the points at issuesustained thechallenge of Anspacher. It was held that although the Fageol car was astockcar to all intents and purposes yet it could not qualify as such underthe ThreeA rules governing stock cars and while The Tribune contest is not underThree Asanction, yet the rules made by that governing body are to be followedon The TribuneMt. Diablo high gear contest.

“Therefore The Tribune trophy is still inthe possession of theStearns-Knight eight-cylinder car, which will remain until the mark setby theStearns-Knight car is passed by a car able to qualify as a strictlystock carunder the Three A rulings. The committee deciding the cup challengecomprisedthe following automobile men: Manager C. A. Penfield of the John F.McLainCompany; Manager Harold D. Knudson of the Willys-Overland ofCalifornia; Homer LeBallister of the McDondal Green Motor Company; R.G. Bartlett of theMercerJordan Company; M. Hessel of the H.O. Harrison Company and A.G.Sommerville.

“The Fageol is, according to Frank R. Fageolthe builder anddesigner, to be delivered to buyers with gear ratios from 2 ½ to 1, 2to 1, 1 ½to 1, and 1 ¼ to 1. Yes the gear ratio given out by the company at thefirst,mentioned only the 1 ½ to 1 gear for high. Also the company having juststartedis unable, until a certain quantity production has been reached toqualify as astock car, for under the Three A interpretation, a certain number ofcars ofthe type in question must be built, sold and delivered to buyers beforeclaimscan be made as to its being a stock automobile.”

Claud’s run was mentioned in the May 1, 1917issue of Motor West:

“Fageol Performs Acceleration Feat

“From Standing Start Attains Speed of 40Miles Per Hour andStops Within 40 Feet.

“A speed of 25 miles an hour from a standingstart to a fullstop in 40 feet was the remarkable record of the Fageol car in Oakland,Cal.the other night. This feat was accomplished at the Hotel Oakland at theannualbanquet of the Alameda County Manufacturers before some 300 guests.Immediatelyfollowing the speech of A.L. Garford, president of the Garford TruckCo., this$12,000 automobile was run into the ball room on its own power to apositionnear the performer’s stage. Frank Fageol, secretary of the FageolMotors Co.,announced that they would try for a world's record.

“‘We will attempt to establish what webelieve will be aworld's acceleration record,’ he said. ‘The runway which we have laidfor thepurpose is just 75 feet long. Subtracting twice the length of the caror 36feet we have just 40 feet in which to gain the speed. It is ourintention toget under way to 25 miles per hour from a standing start and bring thecar to astop before the length of the ball room is reached.’

“With Claude Fageol at the wheel and fiveguests aspassengers the demonstration was made. The speedometer indicatorreached the 25mile point and the timers announced that just four seconds had elapsedfrom thetime the start was made until the car came to a stop. This unique testdemonstrated the quick get-away of the Fageol car made possible by theuse ofthe Hall-Scott aviation motor.”

The publicity attached to the automobile putthe focus onthe upstart California firm and plans for the Fageol truck proceeded,the May6, 1917 issue of the Oakland Tribune announcing the firm had purchasedfouracres for construction of a factory:

“Fageol Signs Up For New Factory

“Four acres of ground have been bought bythe Fageol MotorsCompany of Oakland between Foothill and Hollywood boulevards and OneHundredand Seventh avenue, just north of Elmhurst for a $1,000,000 auto andtruckplant. The deal was closed yesterday and the city council of Oaklandhas beenasked to close several streets there for the improvement.

“The first unit of the plant will be builtimmediately atHollywood boulevard and One Hundred and Seventh avenue at a cost of$100,000,with a floor space of more than 15,000 square feet. Thestructure willbe of steel and brick andcement.

“Plans have been drawn for the entire plant,but the unitswill be put up as the business expands. The company will go in for themanufacture of motor trucks as well as pleasure cars, according toPresidentL.H. Bill.

“The company will announce formally itsplans within theweek with reference to its expansion, according to Secretary Frank R.Fageol.”

The purchase coincided with the announcementof the FageolTruck, which appeared in the May 15, 1917 edition of Motor West:

“Fageol to Build Trucks in Oakland

“The opening of a motor truck plant inOakland, Cal., isplanned by the Fageol Motors Co. of that city, builders of theextremely high-pricedFageol car. The first allotment will call for 150 trucks ranging from 2ton to5 ton in size and deliveries are scheduled to begin July 1. The firstunit ofthe factory will be of concrete and steel construction and will havedimensionsof 50x250 feet. A four acre site at Foothill Blvd. and One HundredSeventh Ave.,has been purchased. It was announced some time ago that no more Fageolpassenger cars would be produced for a while since the Government hascontracted for the entire output of Hall-Scott airplane engines whichwere usedin the Fageol passenger cars.”

The May 20th, 1917 OaklandTribune stated the:

“Fageol Plant Will Be Rushed To Completion

“The announcement recently made by theofficials of theFageol Motors Company to the effect that they will break ground fortheir newmotor truck, tractor and automobile factory as soon as preliminary workon theplans of the plant are completed, has made a deep impression on thecommercialinterests of Oakland and Alameda county. Working in conjunction withtheChamber of Commerce, the company proposes to make the ground breakingdate agala event and one to be long remembered in this city.

“From present indications the groundbreaking will takeplace somewhere about the 6th of June, the exact date to be announcedlater.The Fageol factory will be located on 107th Ave., near the FoothillBoulevard,in the same locality as the Chevrolet plant, giving an air of motor carindustrialism to this district which is apt to draw other automobilefactoriesin the future.

“The company has ten acres of choice land onwhich to erecttheir various buildings and plans to build the succeeding units of theplant asrapidly as the need for them arises. As soon as the first unit of thenew plantis completed machinery for building Fageol motor trucks, tractors andautomobileswill be installed so that Oakland will be able to boast of one of themostcomplete factories of this type in the country.

“At a meeting held last Monday, thefollowing committee wasappointed to co-operate with the Fageol officials and see that theforthcomingground-breaking ceremonies will be a huge success. The committeeconsists ofTheo. Schluter, F. Williamson, Grant D. Miller, Robert Martland, Jos.Chrysostone, and Geo. W. Flick.”

The June 1, 1917 issue of Motor Westreported on theground-breaking ceremony:

“GROUND BROKEN FOR FAGEOL PLANT

“Oakland City Officials Join Company Headsin CelebratingEvent - Trucks and Tractors to Be Built

“Ground breaking ceremonies for the erectionof the newFageol Motor Co. motor car truck and tractor factory in Oakland, Cal.,wereheld recently. The event called for a large celebration in whichOakland cityofficials and citizens and Fageol company officials joined. The newfactoryheads were feted at a down town hotel followed by an automobile paradeout tothe factory site at One Hundred and Seventh Ave. and Hollywood Blvd.Speecheswere made by John L. Davie, mayor of Oakland, Frank R. Fageol,secretary andmanager of the Fageol Motors Co., and Joseph H. King, president of thelocalChamber of Commerce. After the ground breaking the large gathering ofspectators were entertained by three short racing events, one of themfor carsfifteen years old or older. The celebration closed with a demonstrationof thenew Fageol tractor. L.H. Bill is president of the Fageol company andFrank R.Fageol, secretary and manager. W.B. Fageol will be associated with hisbrotherin the company. The tractor to be manufactured by the company is theinventionof Rush Hamilton who will probably direct this phase of the Fageolcompany'sactivities.”

The same periodical announced in the verysame issue thatthe firm was ‘nearly ready’ to ship, surprising since the plant hadn’tevenbeen constructed:

“Nearly Ready to Ship Fageol Trucks

“Cornelius T. Myers, consulting engineer ofDetroit hascompleted the designs for the 3 1/2 ton and 5 ton motor trucks for theFageolMotors Co. of Oakland, Cal. and quantity orders for materials have beenplaced.The company is pushing its truck production forward and expects to beshipping2 ton trucks shortly.”

During the spring of 1917 Fageol Motors Co.acquired therights to manufacture an unusual ‘Walking Tractor’ designed by Rush E.Hamiltonof Geyserville, Sonoma County, California. The unusual tractor featuredafront mounted power unitequipped with self-cleaning front wheels (akagrousers) behind which rode the operator and whatever implement wasbeing usedat the time albeit a plow or trailer.Thegrousers broke up the soil, making it significantly easier for theattachedplow to turn the soil over.

The power unit was connected to the trailingimplement unitvia an articulated union which also served to steer the tractor, anditsawkward movement gave it the appearance as if it was walking over theground.

Hamilton was awarded three patents relatedto the device allof which were assigned to the Hamilton Tractor Co. of San Francisco,Calif.; PowerInterrupting Device For Tractors - US Pat. No. 1220982 - Grant - FiledNov 26,1915 – Issued Mar 27, 1917; Wheeled Farming Implement - US Pat. No.1235891 - Grant- Filed Nov 26, 1915 - Issued Aug 7, 1917; and Self-Cleaning TractorWheel - USPat. No. 1274710 - Grant - Filed Apr 27, 1916 - Issued Aug 6, 1918.

Hamilton was provided with stock in theFageol Motor Co. in returnfor the use of his patents, and was given as seat on the firm’s boardofdirectors, who in 1917 included: F.R. Fageol, L.H. Bill, W.B. Fageol,Dr.Arthur E. Hackett, Horatio W. Smith and R.E. Hamilton.

The June 3, 1917 issue of the OaklandTribune announced thenew product to the community:

“Fageol Motors Company To Build Farm Tractor

“As soon as the Fageol Motors Company's newmotor truckautomobile and tractor factory is built and making of the variousFageolproducts under way, one of the first of these mechanical products to beturnedout and placed within the reach of the farmers of the West will be thenewtractor—the invention of Rush Hamilton - a farmer and mechanic of yearsofexperience.

“Hamilton, whose experimentation withtractors and whoselabors along these lines were called forth in his efforts to meet hisown wantsand a desire to get a tractor that would do the things he knew a farmtractorshould do, after working on his Ideas for several years, invented andevolvedan entire new type of farm and general tractor which, working en newprinciples, proved perfectly satisfactory.

“The Fageol factory officials who had beenlooking for atractor which would stand up under the various and trying conditionswhichbeset the path of farm work, upon investigating and thoroughly tryingout theHamilton found that it passed every quality claimed for it by itsinventor withthe result that they acquired all the rights to build and market thesame.

“Built upon an entirely new principle, thenew tractor doesnot depend upon the …..

“Big band wheel for its traction. Realizingthat while thesetypes of tractors pulled the plows or other farm machinery along thatat thesame time they packed the ground in front of the plow, thereby makingfor agreater expenditure of power.

“Hamilton provided his machine with twofront wheels whichhave a series of steel projections about a foot long which, as thetractoradvances, dig their way into the soil, thereby getting traction for thepullingof plows or whatever other machinery being used and by agitating theground asit moves along loosens up the soil for the plow.

“Another feature of the new Fageol tractoras itsadaptability to do all kinds of farm traction work. It is built so asto run innear to the ground, enabling the farmer or orchardist to plow orcultivate nearand beneath his trees and bushes without harming them at all.

“‘The beauty of these new tractors,’remarked F. R. Fageol,‘is that they are adapted to so many farming needs, that they areeconomical inrunning expense, they use either kerosene or distillate or gasoline forfuel,and that they provide a world of power where the farmer needs it.'

“The new tractor will be demonstrated at theground-breakingceremonies at the Fageol new factory site on Saturday, June 9 so thatall whoare interest in this new machine and have a chance to see it in action.”

The September 1, 1917 issue of Motor Westincluded adetailed article describing the new Fageol tractor to the trade:

“Fageol ‘Walking Tractor’

“Small, Light and Powerful, It is WellAdapted to PacificCoast Soil Conditions— Listed at $ 1,085

“The Fageol Tractor, just placedon the market, isthe latest product of the Fageol Motors Co. of Oakland. Cal.Thiscompany is the builder of the Fageol car —the $12,000 automobilethat tookthe East by storm during the national show in Chicago last Winter. Thiscompanyis also the builder of the Fageol truck in a number ofdifferentcapacities.

“The Fageol ‘walking tractor’embodies manydistinctive and remarkable features. It is small, light and powerful—making itespecially adaptable for the orchardist and small farmer.

“Perhaps the most distinctive feature is thenovel butpractical method of traction employed. The traction wheels—two innumber—are soconstructed as to ‘walkin and out of the ground.’ The long U-shapedprongs orgrousers simply penetrate the ground's harder sub-soil, and in comingout breakup the ground instead of packing it.

“The wheels willnegotiate any kind of soil—either wet or dry. It is impossible for thewheelsto stick with mud. Weighting but 1750 pounds, or slightly more than asinglehorse, and having the pulling power of four horses at the draw-bar,thistractor is able to accomplish results not found possible by heaviertractors ofother types.

“The Fageol tractor ‘literallygrew’ on aCalifornia farm. The inventor, Rush Hamilton, is a practical orchardistandfarmer of ten years' successful experience, and withal a mechanicalgenius.

“He realized that the tractor would somedayreplace thehorse, lie looked about for a tractor that would fill his needs. Unableto findone, he started to build a tractor on the 'walking principle' of thehorse, and today the Fageol ‘walking tractor’ is the result.Duringhis three years of experimentation on the farm, he put his tractor toeverypossible test. He used it for plowing, disking, hauling, etc.—in fact,he usedit successfully for all work formerly done by horses.

“The Fageol tractor can be usedprofitably bypractically every orchardist and small farmer in the country. Thenarrow widthpermits a center hitch for the plow, enabling it regardless ofdirection ofplowing to get right up to the trunk of the tree without any side draftat all.In manipulation about the tree base, this tractor is as flexible as asinglehorse. In fact, the tractor and plow will turn in a 6 1/4-foot radius.

“Interesting features of construction ofthis machine arethe enclosed bearings, dust-proof and running in oil or grease. Freedomfromgrease cups and from wear and tear of the excessive dust of orchardwork uponexposed bearings, effect a rare combination of advantages. An ingeniousband isfurnished to go over the lug on the driving wheel so that the tractorcan beput in shape for road driving within a few minutes.

“Transmission gears run in oil and areenclosed. The finaldrive is by internal gear. The pinions and the removable gears areaccuratelycentered in the drive wheel to prevent any side strain on the axle. Thegearreduction of 65 to 1 gives the tractor a speed of about 21/2 milesper hour, which makes possible the plowing of about four acres per daywith afuel consumption of 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 gallons per acre,depending onsoil and depth of plowing

“The four-cylinder motor, with 3 1/8-inchbore and 5-inchstroke, develops 18.23 horsepower. Lubrication is by splash and pump.Thecellular type radiator has an exceptionally large cooling surface, thewaterbeing circulated by the thermo-syphon system. The float-feed carburetorisprovided with a patent dust arrester. Ignition is by high-tensionmagneto.There are two speeds—one forward and one reverse. The drive wheels are46inches in diameter, being about 38 inches out of the ground when inoperation.There are sixteen 10-inch U-shaped grousers on each drive wheel. Theover-alllength of the tractor is 100 inches, and the tread 41 inches. Gasoline,distillate or kerosene may be used for fuel. The tractor is listed at$1,085f.o.b. Oakland.”

The new Fageol automobile was put to gooduse during thesummer of 1917 by the firm’s new sales manager, J.L. Olsen, the July22, 1917Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Sales Manager For Fageol Firm

“J.L. Olsen, well known in coast automobilecircles, hasbeen appointed sales manager of the Fageol Motors Company, and tookover hisduties in his new position last week.

“Olsen left a few days ago on a tour ofCalifornia in theFageol pleasure car, the highest priced car in America, for the purposeofgetting in touch with country dealers and closing up agencies for theFageol motortruck.

“Needless to say that wherever Olsen stopsthe beautiful carwhich he is driving will be the big object of interest in thecommunity, but itis on the other Fageol products, the truck and the tractor, that heexpects tointerest automobile men from the financial standpoint.

“He will close with dealers through Centraland SouthernCalifornia and Arizona on this trip and return to San Francisco andfrom heremake another trip this time to the Northwest. Olsen has a wideexperience inthe automobile business, having been engaged in the selling of motortrucks andcars on the coast for the last ten years.

“According to a statement made by Olsenbefore he left, theFageol Company is able to make deliveries on the two ton trucks now andwill beable to make deliveries on the tractor by September 1. The FageolCompanyexpects to be in first unit of the new Oakland factory in within thirtydays.”

The August 1, 1917 issue of Motor Westannounced that aportion of Fageol’s new factory complex was completed:

“Build First Unit Of Fageol Plant

“Another Unit to Be Started Immediately andSix Buildings toBe Completed by End of Year.

“The Fageol Motors Co., Oakland, Cal., hascompleted andoccupied the first unit of its new plant. The building is surrounded byaconcrete roadway 20 feet wide used for loading space for incomingmaterials. Inthe factory the process of assembly is so arranged that frames willcome first,axles next, then springs and so on, keeping the assembling operationmoving inone direction toward a completed machine. Pneumatic tools handle allmaterials.To simplify the handling of smaller parts, rolling assembly tables areused,each containing a blue print number. This enables the mechanics to havesufficient material always on hand. Another unit of the plant will bestartedimmediately and it is expected that by the end of the year there willbe agroup of six buildings involving an investment of approximately$500,000.”

The August 19, 1917 Oakland Tribuneannounced the firm’s newfactory would be using cranes androlling assembly jigs and tables, which were standard practice beforethe daysof the assembly line, which was still in its infancy in the daysleading up tothe First World War:

“First Fageol Unit Is Ready

“Company to Move Into New Quarters BeforeEnd of Week

“The first unit of the great Fageol MotorsCompany is nowcomplete and before the end of the week the firm will be established inits newquarters.

“With the first building completed and themachineryinstalled a real start has been made by the Fageol Motors Company intheproduction of the various Fageol products, the passenger car, the truckand thetractor.

“The plant when completed will be one of themost modern andefficiently organized factories in America.

“Every device is included to make forcontinual, thoroughand modern handling of truck and tractor parts, moving always towards acomplete machine that will give the Fageol service under all conditions.

“The first unit is surrounded by a concreteroadway 20 feetin width which is used for loading space for incoming materials. Insidethefactory the assembly leg is so arranged that assemblage will becompleted inits regular order, that is, frames first, axles next, then springs, andso on,thus keeping assemblage moving in one direction toward a completedmachine.

“Pneumatic tools handle all materials fromthe time they arehoisted into the building by pneumatic cranes, drills, wrenches, etc.,formingpart of the equipment of each assembly leg. This tends greatly toreduce laborand operating costs in the factory.

“To facilitate the handling of smallerparts, roilingassembly tables are used, each containing a blue-print number. Thisenables themechanics to keep sufficient material on hand always. Upon completing aunitthe mechanic signs an assembly card in order that the checking up maybesimplified. The chief inspector carefully checks up all work and givesathorough inspection of all parts before permitting any single piece ofwork to gooutside the factory. This affords a double check on error orcarelessness.

“A feature of interest to the general publicin connectionwith the completion of the first unit of the Fageol Motors Companyfactory inOakland last week is the special care which is taken by officials ofthecompany for the comfort and welfare of their employees.

“Numerous recreation centers have beenconstructed in thefirst building where much healthful sports as baseball, handball,tennis andtrack, can be enjoyed. Locker rooms and special wash rooms and showerbaths completethe gymnasium equipment.

“In the office the employees’ interests arealso lookedafter. There is a large safe deposit vault, a part of which is devotedto thecare of valuable papers, Liberty bonds or cherished valuables of theemployees.”

The September 15, 1917 issue of Motor Westannounced the somewhat surprising news that Fageol had actuallydelivered one of itscars to the Hester Motors Co of New York:

“Fageol Shipping Cars To the East

“Demand From That Section Due to DisplayMade at theNational Shows in New York and Chicago. The first Fageol motor car of aconsignment of the twenty-five costly models ordered by the HesterMotors Inc.,New York City, will be shipped east this week. The placing of the orderis theresult of the distinctive display of the Fageol Motors Co., Oakland,Cal., atthe 1917 automobile shows at New York and Chicago. Twenty fiveHall-Scottengines have been secured by special arrangement the Hall-Scott MotorCar Co.,Oakland, being at present engaged in government work.”

Alas, the twenty-five Hall-Scott enginesmentioned above,never made it to the Fageol plant, and the preceding announcement isthe onlyevidence I could find that a ‘production’ Fageol automobile wasdelivered. Thecar in question was delivered to Dr. Antonio S. de Bustamante, Jr. ofHavana,Cuba, and the remaining car, the prototype originally displayed at theChicagoSalon, was eventually sold to William Andrews Clark, Jr. ,the wealthyLosAngeles-based son of Montana ‘Copper King’ (and two-time US Senator)WilliamAndrews Clark, Sr.

Historians familiar with the firm believeonly two cars werecompleted – the prototype seen in Chicago, and the ‘production‘ Fageolmentioned above. A Fageol was also reported to have been displayed atthe 1917San Francisco Auto Salon which was held Dec 18-20, 1916 at the PalaceHotel,but I could locate no further information on exactly which car, if anywasdisplayed. It’s possible the car was displayed at the 1917 PacificAutomobileShow which was held from February 10-17 at San Francisco’s ExpositionAuditorium.

However, Beverly Rae Kimes & Henry AustinClark claimthere was a third car stating:

“A third, and no doubt final, Fageol wasbuiltin 1921 for company president Louis H. Bill. A custom four-passengerspeedster,it was fitted with an eight-cylinder Rutenber engine and Fageol's ownseven-speed compound transmission.”

Agrainy picture (seen to the right) labeled '1921 Fageol Touring',is likley the car mentioned by Kimes & Clark. The main differencebetween it and the earlier Fageol automobiles can be seen in the hoodventilators - the six jagged units seen on the 1917 Fageol have beendiscarded in favor of a more streamlined 2-ventilator setup.

Although Rollie B. Fageol was no longerinvolved in hisbrother’s business activities he remained hard at work developingheavy-dutysuspensions and drivetrains for Fadgl Flexible Systems and variousthirdparties, one of which was the Pacific Electric Railway, the September29, 1917 issueof the Electric Railway Journal reporting:

“Flexible Buses in Larger Sizes

“The Pacific Electric Railway has underconstructionadditional buses of the Fadgl flexible type which will be put intoauxiliaryservice at an early date. The first of these cars to be put in serviceby thecompany is still in use at Fresno, Cal. They were described on page 314of theElectric Railway Journal for Aug. 10, 1916.

“The new buses will have a seating capacityof thirtypassengers and there are also improvements in the design of the busbody. Amore powerful motor has been used in the larger cars and by employingheavierconstruction throughout it is expected that the life of the bus will bematerially increased. The new type is shown in the accompanyingillustration.”

Fadgl Flexible Systems also developed an oretrain thatbased upon the auto trains Fageol had developed for use at thePanama-PacificInternational Exposition. The August 26, 1917 issue of the OaklandTribuneannounced the formation of a new firm that hoped to exploit the new oretrains toregional mining operators:

“Fadgl Ore Cars

“San Francisco, Aug. 20 – The MinesTransportation Companyis the name of a new $200,000 concern, fathered by Rollie Fageol andHarry F.Davis of Oakland, and George W. Murphy of San Francisco, which filedarticlesof incorporation here today. The concern proposes to use the Fadgl carwhichwas operated for passenger transportation at the Panama-PacificExposition to carryore from mines to railroads doing away with the necessity of layingtracks. Itis claimed that the Fageol machine is particularly adapted to thispurpose.”

There were a number of firms named ‘MinesTransportationCo.’ active in the west, and the San Francisco firm appeared just asthe MinesTransportation Co. of Murray, Utah, failed. The latter firm was a knownuser ofFadgl Flexible Systems ore trains and their pending bankruptcy wascovered inthe August 30, 1916 issue of the Deseret News:

“The Mines Transportation Company wasmanaged by itspresident, James Austin, and its vice-president, Abe Mecking, bothactivespirits in the concern and both signing its checks. It purchasedtractorengines and cars for hauling of the ores of the Cardiff Mining Companydown BigCottonwood canyon, but after a short trial found that the grades weretoosteep, and that the brakes were not powerful enough to hold the carsback. Thecontract was therefore thrown up and the California company which hadsuppliedthe engines and cars took them back and re-shipped them to Californiaas theyhad only been partly paid for.”

Cardiff Mining Company’s spokesman, EzraThompson, had thefollowing to say in regards to the tractor trains:

“‘The tractor trains were a failure’, Mr.Thompson said.‘The grade proved too great for them, and they could not be operatedsuccessfully despite guarantees which were made to the contrary.’”

Although the ore train concept was sound,the product neededimprovement and Rollie B. Fageol commenced to beef up the drivetrainand soonhad a redesigned vehicle that found favor with a San Franciscomillionaire namedCommander Emory Winship.

In 1918 Winship, who owned severalMagnesite mines inand around Livermore, California, hired Rollie B. Fageol to head a teamofengineers to design trucks to replace the mule trains that werecurrently haulingore out of his mines. Well acquainted with the problems associated withsuch anoperation, Fageol created a number of vehicles for Winship between1918-1920that experimented with various combinations of axles and drivetrains.

Back in Oakland sales of the Fageol-Hamilton‘walkingtractor’ were few and far between and in 1918 Fageol brought out atotally newconventional 4-wheeled unit equipped with a unusual ‘spudded’ drivewheels thatwere clearly influenced by the Hamilton’s. It also included Fageol’sdistinctivehood ventilators, making it easily identifiable as a Fageol.

The tractor included a Lycomingfour-cylinder 3 1/2 x 5-inchbore and stroke engine and a single speed transmission - 1 forward gearand 1reverse - that was engaged without the use of a clutch. Also includedwas aTillotson carburetor, Dixie magneto and ball and roller bearingsthroughout.Total weight was 3,600 lbs. and the price; $1,525, rather highconsidering itfeatured only a single forward gear.

Regardless sales increased dramatically andthe April 28,1918 issue of the Oakland Tribune announced the firm was constructing anewbuilding:

“Add Fourth Unit to Fageol Plant

“Increasing demand for Fageol products, bothtruck andtractor, throughout the west have made necessary a further enlargementof thebig Oakland manufacturing plant. To the three units already constructedafourth is now being built at a cost of approximately $12,000 This is inlinewith the original building plans of the company and the fourth unit isbeingconstructed in the rear of the other three. It will be used as a partsandstock department, and when all of the buildings of the plant arefinishedaccording to the original plan, this unit will be in the center of thebigmanufacturing plant."

Frank R. Fageol suffered an acute attack ofappendicitis inthe fall, the September 14, 1918 Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Frank Fageol to Recover, Say Doctors

“Frank R. Fageol of the Fageol MotorsCompany is reported asconvalescent at Merritt Hospital, where he was operated on lastWednesday byDr. M. L. Emerson for an acute attack of appendicitis and indicationspoint tohis early recovery.”

The January 15, 1920 issue of Motor Westreveals that theFageol distribution network, which was handled by Berkeley, Calif.’sButler-Veitch Co. in northern California, included as many as 60individual dealers:

“Fageol Dealers Meet

“The Fageol Motors Co. recently held itssecond annualdealers convention at its Oakland, Cal., plant. More than sixtydistributorsand dealers of the Fageol truck from all parts of the Coast werepresent, a 100per cent attendance.

“The company has lately announced the Fageolseven-speedcompound transmission installed in its trucks, adding 36 per cent moretruckspeed and 91 per cent more pulling power, without added engine power.”

Details of the new transmission werepublished in the March15, 1920 issue of Motor West:

“Seven-Speed Truck is Fast

“Double Round Trip from San Francisco to LosAngeles andReturn, by Fageol, at 25 Miles Per Hour.

“As a forerunner of fast inter-city expressfreight serviceby motor trucks the double round trip test run of a Fageol 3½ - 4ton model, between San Francisco and Los Angeles, is pointed to asindicativeof what may be the performance with trucks equipped with the newseven-speedcompound transmission. An average speed of approximately 25 miles perhour onthe double round trip run between the two principal cities ofCalifornia—adistance of 1,765 miles—was maintained with capacity loads of freightconsignedto business concerns in San Francisco and Los Angeles.

“Following the California state highwayalong the Coast onthe southward trip, the first test started from Third and Marketstreets, SanFrancisco, at 9:15 p. m., January 5, and ended 19 hours 53 minuteslater atFirst and Broadway, Los Angeles, after 460 miles of strenuous driving.Theactual running time, with stops for gasoline and meals deducted, was 17hours 5minutes, an average of 26.5 miles per hour. This may be compared withtheschedule of the crack passenger trains on the Southern PacificRailroad, theLark via the coast line taking 14 hours 50 minutes, and the Owl,through thevalley, doing the trip in 15 hours 30 minutes.

“The return trip was made via the RidgeRoute, over theTehachapi mountains, and through the San Joaquin Valley on the statehighway.The distance was 427 miles and was covered in an elapsed time of 16hours 39 ½ minutes.The actual running time was at 27.3 miles per hour.

“In the first round trip test run of 887miles more than 30towns and cities, two mountain ranges of considerable importance, andnumerousranges of hills, with varying steep grades and slow going, presentedtrafficand pulling tests that proved the value of the new equipment. With suchhindrances to speed, even though the roads were practically all good,itnecessitated making a speed of from 30 to 40 miles per hour on the openstretchesof level highway.

“That such a speed is attainable with amotor truck carryinga capacity load, and can be maintained over long reaches of roadwaywithoutseriously affecting the motor or truck mechanism through excessivevibration isregarded as little short of marvelous. With the ordinary three orfour-speedgearset it is a practical impossibility, as the truck and motor wouldbe shakento pieces. It is accomplished through the fifth forward speed—an overgearwhich, while not increasing the engine revolutions per minute orconsuming morefuel, still gives the truck 36 per cent more speed than a truck fittedwith astandard transmission.

“The steep pitches on the grades throughGaviota Pass, thelong steady pull up Cuesta grade between Atascadero and San LuisObispo, andthe no less severe trip up San Juan grade, with more than four tons ofpayload, showed the great advantages of the new seven-speed compoundtransmissionwhen in extreme low gear. The additional low increases the pullingpower of the Fageol, itis claimed, 91 per cent above the best obtainable pulling power with anordinary three-speed transmission.

“A second round-trip test run was made,beginning in OaklandJanuary 8, and ending with the return of the heavilyladen Fageol toSan Francisco, January 12, in which the actual mileage traveled was 878miles,at an average speed of 26.8 miles per hour for actual running time.

“On the first run south, Goodyear pneumaticcord tires onsteel wheels were used, coming through the hard trip without a scar. Onthesecond run Goodrich DeLuxe solid tires on Sewell patented woodencushion wheelswere used, and one of the surprises of the two trips was the bettertime on thesolid tires. On the pneumatics an average of 25.1 miles per hour wasmaintained, while on the solids 26.8 miles was the average speed. Onthe rearwheels, on the solid-tire trip, the tires were dual. Although on thesolid-tiretrip, especially on the return trip from Los Angeles to Oakland, theelapsedtime was shorter than with pneumatics, this was perhaps due to severaldelaysto the latter on the way down, including an arrest for driving throughSantaBarbara at almost 40 miles an hour. The solid tires showed wear ontheir returntrip and General Sales Manager Fort, of Fageol, believes theywould notstand up under the terrific strain of the speed possible with theseven-speedtransmission.

“For the speed of the two round trips andthe heavy loadscarried the gasoline consumption was low. On the first trip an averageof 8miles per gallon was proof of the Fageol Motor Co.'s claimthateconomy of operation is possible on motor trucks traveling at highspeed withthe help of the new seven-speed compound transmission.

“On the first round-trip test, the weight oftruck and load,southward, was 17,400 pounds; on the return, 14,800 pounds. On thesecond roundtrip the total weight on the southward run was 15,500 pounds; on thereturn,15,000 pounds.

“On each return trip, after arrival atOakland, the truckwas taken to San Francisco and driven over the famous Fillmore Streethill, a25 per cent grade as shown on the official map of the city engineer.”

In order to increase their share of thenational truckmarket, the firm needed to expand into the eastern markets, a movewhich wasspearheaded by Frank R. Fageol – the April 25, 1920 Oakland Tribunereporting:

“Frank Fageol Goes East To Close Contract

“Frank Fageol, manager of the Fageol Motorscompany of thiscity, left for Cleveland and other Eastern points last Monday.

“As this trip is a most important one, inthat it is madeparticularly for the closing of pending contracts which will insure theearlydelivery of materials required for the contemplated greatly increasedproduction of Fageol products, and as Fageol expects to be away forseveralweeks, the event was made the occasion Sunday evening of a surpriseparty tohim at his residence in Claremont, at which some hundred or more of hisemployees gathered and presented him with a token of their regard andesteem.Monday morning there was a large gathering at the station of his headsofdepartments and of the officials of Butler-Veitch, the distributors ofFageolproducts, to wish him God speed.”

The trip East brought about a number ofchanges inoperations, the most important being the formation of the Fageol MotorsCompanyof Ohio which was floated through a $200,000 stock offering that firstappearedin the September 2, 1920 Oakland Tribune. The new corporation’sofficersincluded Frank R. Fageol, president; Webb Jay, vice-president; CalvinEib,vice-president of sales; Maj. S.E. Hutton, secretary-treasurer; A.E.Jurs,general manager and I.H. Crow, supt. of the machine shop. Its formationof thefirm was announced in the August 28, 1920 issue of Automobile Topics:

“Fageol Trucks Are To Be Made in Ohio

“Fageol Motors Company of Ohio Formed inCleveland - ASeparate Company from California Plant -Oakland Men Included inPersonnel.

“Fageol trucks, which for the past threeyears have beenmanufactured in Oakland, Cal., are now to be built in Cleveland. Forthispurpose a new organization has been formed to take over the Ohiomanufacturingproject. The Fageol Motors Company (of Ohio) is the nameof thenew enterprise and its executive personnel is made up of men who wereformerlyidentified with the California company. A plant in the Ohio city,formerlyoccupied by a motorcycle manufacturer, has just been secured, andadditionalfactory units will be added, according to present plans. Limitedproduction isto start in September, gradually increasing the output until theproposedschedule of 60 trucks a month by January is attained.

“F.R. Fageol, founder of the Oakland companyand largelyresponsible for the truck’s design and its development, is president ofthenewly formed company, having resigned as president of, althoughretaining aninterest in the California plant. Fageol, for a number of years a carand truckdistributor himself, has learned by such experience just what thedemands ofthe truck user are, and also the value of factory cooperation with thedealer.This plus his truck and tractor building experience fits him for hisnew post.

“Calvin C. Eib, who, as told in thesecolumns last May, leftthe management of the Denver branch of the Willys-Overland Company todirectthe sales of the Ohio plant, although it was not known at that timethat aseparate company would be formed, assumes the post of vice-president inchargeof sales. The other executives Fageol brings with him from California,theybeing I.H. Crow, who was superintendent of machine shop production fortheOakland Fageol plant.; Major S.E. Hutton, secretary and treasurer ofthe Ohiocompany, and A.E. Jurs, general superintendent of production. Webb Jay,whosename is well-known in connection with the vacuum tank, is a directorandvice-president.

“The Ohio company, while entirely friendlyto the Oaklandorganization, is to be conducted as an independent enterprise.Under thearrangement consummated, theCleveland plant will turn out exactly the same truck as made on theCoast, andhas at its disposal the engineering department of the Oakland outfit,which,incidentally, will carry on all the development work for the twocompanies. TheOhio company has exclusive rights to all territory east of the Rockiesand suchexport sales as are ordinarily handled from the Atlantic seaboard. Theeasternorganization will concentrate on but two of the Fageol truck modes, amediumduty, 2 ½ - 3 tons capacity, and a heavy duty, for loads from 3 ½ tonsupward.Both of these feature the Fageol seven-speed compound transmission,which hasbeen described previously in Automobile Topics.”

The September 25, 1920 edition of MichiganManufacturer andFinancial Record announced the new firm had leased the former plant ofthe NationalBronze & Aluminum Foundry Co.:

“Fageol Locates In Cleveland

“It is announced in Cleveland that theFageol MotorsCompany, of Oakland, Cal., maker of trucks, has taken a short timelease on theplant formerly occupied by the National Bronze & Aluminum Foundry,and willuse the 35,000 square feet of floor space as a branch plant pending theerection of a factory. The Cleveland business will be entirelyindependent ofthat in California, and for this reason the Fageol Motors Company ofOhio has been organized, in which men well known in the automobileindustry of Cleveland and elsewhere are financially interested, amongthembeing F. C. Chandler, founder and president of the Chandler Motor CarCompany.At the Cleveland plant only two Fageol models will be made—a 2 ½ to3-ton modeland a heavy duty model for loads of from 3 ½ tons up. The vehicles willbeduplicates to those made on the coast.”

September 15, 1920 issue of the CommercialCar Journalincluded further details of the new firm as well information about thefirm’snew 7-speed transmission:

“Fageol Trucks Now Also Being Built inCleveland

“The Fageol Compound Truck which for thepast three yearshas been built in Oakland, Calif., is now being manufactured also inCleveland,Ohio, in order to meet the demand that has been coming to theCalifornia plantfrom truck buyers of the east and middle west. Fageol trucks are builtin foursizes 1 ½, 2 ½, 3 ½ - 4, and 5-6 tons capacity. Detailed specificationswillfound in the specification table in this issue. The Fageol organizationhas forseveral years been convinced that the truck of the future must becapable of awider range of operation. The following description tells theirsolution of theproblem:

“The 7-speed compound transmission which islargelyresponsible for Fageol success on the Pacific coast, givesthe trucka range of power declared by its makers to be 91 per cent greater thanispossible with the conventional 4-speed type of transmission, as well as36 percent more road speed, without in the least increasing the speed of theengine.The Fageol transmission, used exclusively in this truck, is inappearancequite the same as the 4-speed type, having exactly the same number ofgears,shafts, etc. Yet the Fageol transmission provides five speedsforwardand two reverse.

“The extra speeds or gear ratios ofthe Fageol areobtained through a very simple device developed and perfected by F.R.Fageol, andthe engineering department of the Fageol Company. Thisdevice, uponwhich patents are pending, makes it possible to run the countershaft oftheordinary transmission at two speeds instead of one. The fifth forward,or high,is an over-gear which, while not increasing the number of enginerevolutionsper minute, gives the truck 36 per cent more road speed, thus reducingthe gasconsumption per mile. The first speed forward inthe Fageol is anextra low gear which gives the truck 91 per cent more pulling power.

“The range of power and speed made possibleby thistransmission has been found especially desirable by truck owners of thePacificcoast where are found the most exacting traffic conditions in America.There, asuccessful motor truck must be able to haul a full load up 25 per centto 30per cent grades over all kinds of mountain road. It must be capable ofwithstanding the rapid transition from summer heat to freezingtemperature tocompensate for lowered efficiency clue to high altitude—25 per cent at7000ft.—it must have a reserve of power far beyond sea level requirements.

“In addition to its compound transmission,the Fageol embodies also ease of control and comfort for thedriver.The truck is said to steer with unusual ease. All operating levers suchasthrottle, brake and gear-shaft, are most conveniently located and soconstructed as to insure comfort when being maneuvered.

“The driver is relieved of the necessity ofcontinuouslyoiling springs, etc., by the oil reservoir spring hangers which keepall of thesprings on the truck lubricated. A very complete set of tools isconvenientlylocated in a substantially built tool box. To provide for the driver'scomforta well upholstered form-fitting seat is furnished.

“The Fageol Motors Company (ofOhio) as the newCleveland company is known, is headed by F.R. Fageol, founderof theCalifornia company, who is largely responsible for the development ofthe truckas well as its success west of the Rockies, where it is one of thethree or fourbig leaders in the trucking field. Mr. Fageol attributes muchof hissuccess as a truck manufacturer to the fact that for a number of yearshe was adistributor of cars and trucks. This experience, he declares, has beenofinestimable help in enabling him to build a truck which meets thedemand of thetruck user and consequently is easily handled by the dealer. This sameexperience has taught him the value of factory co-operation with thedealer.Associated with Mr. Fageol is Calvin Eib, who will assume the positionof vicepresident in charge of sales for the Fageol Company (of Ohio). MrFageol hasbrought with him from California, I.H. Crow, who has been thesuperintendent ofmachine shop production for the Oakland plant, Major S.E. Hutton,secretary andtreasurer of the new company, and A.E. Jurs, general superintendent ofproduction. Webb Jay, of Vacuum Tank fame, is a director and vicepresident ofthe company.”

In partnership with a San Francisco-basedfather & sonteam - Samuel A. & Horace W. Moss - Rollie B. Fageol formed theFageol-MossShock Absorber Co. late in the year.Organized with a capital stock of$150,000 in order tomanufacture shockabsorbers, Fageol-Moss’ factory was located at 3512 Piedmont Ave.,Oakland,Calif. Samuel A. Moss is better knowntodayas the developer of the Moss Supercharger, a Rateau-type of turbocompressordeveloped for the Liberty aero engine during his tenure as chief ofturbineresearch at the General Electric Co. Exactly what products weredeveloped byFageol-Moss is unknown and the firm disappeared by the time the 1923Oaklanddirectory was published.

Rollie’s younger brother Claud continued towork inOakland’s retail automobile business as manager of the OaklandScripps-Boothand HCS distributor and at the end of 1921 as manager of the PacificNashMotors Co., the August 24, 1921 issue of Motor World reporting:

“Claude Fageol, Oakland, Cal., one of bestknown men in themotor car industry of northern California, whose connection with theautomobilebusiness dates back to the days when the old Rambler was the car of theday,has been appointed sales manager of the Pacific Nash Motors Co. withheadquarters in Oakland.”

The November 20, 1921 issue of the OaklandTribune markedthe official unveiling of Rollie B. Fageol’s most famous creation, theeight-wheeled motor bus:

“Car Builder Is Pioneer In Bus Designs

“Rollie Fageol, builder of the Fadgl trainswhich served asthe transportation system within the exposition grounds during 1915,hasdesigned and completed for the American Highway Transportation Companyof SanFrancisco an eight-wheeled, twenty-passenger motor bus which givesexcellentpromise of revolutionizing the present type of motor buses.

“Twenty-five hundred miles of service hasthus far broughtto light only a few minor changes in construction and the Fadgl buswill stillwork its way through the experimental stage by being subjected to27,500additional more miles in order to reveal any hidden bugs.

“Increased riding safety and greater ridingcomfort are thetwo main points advanced by Fageol as the basic reasons for futuresuccess hiseight-wheeled motor bus will experience. Increased safety is possiblebecauseskidding has been eliminated and little danger of accident is likelyfrom tiretrouble even when the bus is traveling at a high rate of speed.

“Greater riding comfort comes from the useof the four extrawheels and because of the smaller tires used.

“Fageol declares that the eight-wheeled ideais an evolutionof the six-wheel type, which, in turn, he says, was an evolution of thesuccessful Fadgl motor train.

“On the first experimental run, from Oaklandto Los Angeles,via the coast route, the Fadgl bus made the run of 455 miles in fifteenhourson a gasoline performance which showed ten miles to gallon as anaverage.

“The four front wheels steer in tandem andFageol statesthat this system provides a safer and easier control of the car.

“In the present job a Continental motor isused, but on thenext and subsequent buses a special Hall-Scott motor will constitutethe powerplant. The wheel base is sixteen feet in length and the length over allistwenty-six feet. The bus turns on a twenty-six foot radius. The presentexperimental bus weighs 8,000 pounds and this weight will beconsiderablyreduced on the next job that is turned out.

“From the 32 x 4 1/2 tires Fageol uses heexpects from25,000 to 30,000 miles of service and if this record is obtainedpassenger busoperators will get a somewhat rude shock, inasmuch as 10,000 miles isconsidered a fine showing on the existing large sized tires equipped onpresentday four-wheeled types.

“Fageol is trying the eight-wheeler outtoday on the experimentaltrack at Pittsburg in order to find out just what road shocks itproduces andto what extent, if any, it affects the longevity of concrete roads.Because theroad impact is lighter than four-wheel type produces, Fageol believeshis newpassenger-carrying vehicle will show up favorably on the accuraterecordinginstruments that are in use on the Pittsburg course.

“An equalized load, almost perfectlybalanced, is obtainedunder any driving conditions.”

The eight-wheeled truck/bus chassis was nota new design,the July 1917 issue of Popular Science Monthly included pictures andschematicsof a ‘Ten-Ton Motor-Truck on Eight Wheels’.

The January 1922 issue of The Timbermanincluded an articleon another new Rollie B. Fageol design, a six-wheel-drive road trainconstructedfor Col. Emory Winship,a SanFrancisco-based mine owner:

“Six-Wheel Drive Road Train

“System of Transportation Said To RivalThree Separate Trucksand Drivers

“By distributing the load over a number oftrailers, and bydeveloping a power unit with traction on all six of its wheels,Emery Winship of San Francisco, has evolved a system of motorhaulagecalculated to give greater efficiency than three separate trucks andthreeindividual drivers.

“Train With Six-Wheel Drive Unit

“This road train consists of a 10-ton truckwith 6-wheeldrive and two 5-ton trailers of special design. There are four wheelsand twoaxles in the rear of the power unit over which the load is carried. Byputtingthe 10-ton load over the four wheels in the rear instead of over two asin the4-wheel trucks it doubles the bearing surface of the train and onlybrings halfthe pressure on any one point of pavement. This practice will greatlyincreasethe life of roads and pavements. The 6-wheel drive eliminates theslippage andgives a traction of 100 per cent.

“The fact that one man can drive the trainwithoutassistance and more economically than three drivers for three trucksreducesthe gas consumption and overhead.

“The power unit steers on the two front andtwo rear wheels.All steering wheels intersteer so that when the front wheels are turnedtherear wheels automatically turn in the opposite direction so that thetrain ispractically on a pivot, giving a very short turning radius. All fourwheels ofthe two trailers intersteer, and follow in the exact path of the wheelsof thepower unit, consequently one driver can drive the train around asharpcorner without looking around to see if the trailers are strikinganything.

“The power unit is equipped with a hydraulicsteering gearwhich automatically throws into hand gear should anything happen to thehydraulic steering device. This enables the train to be steered with aminimumof effort on the part of the driver.

“Each wheel of the motor truck and trailershave their ownbrake which is a combination of pneumatic and hydraulic device, and issoarranged that should one or more of the trailers get loose the brakesareautomatically applied. There is also a device that automatically putstheproper amount of brake on the trailers when they are crowding the powerunit ingoing down grade.

“Various devices are installed on thetrailers whichabsolutely eliminate any wobble in the trailers, thereby eliminatingthe menaceto other traffic. The road train is 62 feet in length and can be turnedin acircle 60 feet in diameter.

“For a better understanding of some of thefeatures of theroad train, a series of photographs is reproduced.

“No. 1 shows the method of connecting thefront trailer tothe power unit. It also shows the hose for controlling the brakes onthetrailers. No. 2 shows how the power unit can run over obstructions.This blockis 12 inches high, and the truck run up onto the top and back againwithout anytrouble whatever. The front wheels were held in this position forseveralminutes, while the photo was being taken. This photo also shows thecylinderand mechanism of the hydraulic steering device.

“Four-Ball Universal Joints.

“No. 3 at the arrow at A. shows one of thefour-balluniversal joints on the drive shaft. These universal joints are coveredtoretain grease. The universal joint consists of a driving fork, doubleslottedball and driven fork. Two forks are arranged to accommodate the gear inonecase and the driving member of the wheel in the other. The slotted ballacts astransmitter of power between the two fork members. This is so arrangedas topermit the front wheels to turn at an angle of 30 degrees.

“The arrow at B, in photo No. 3, shows theshaft forsteering the two rear wheels. The arrow shows two universal joints inthe shaftwhich permits the two rear wheels to turn to an angle of 14 degrees. intheopposite direction from the front wheels, when turning corners. Tiresused onthe equipment are 36 x 7 inches.

“The Rogers-Unit Drive Corporation,Sunnyvale, Cal., is thebuilder of the 6-wheel type of truck and trailer attachment.”

The eight-wheeled bus pictured and describedin the November20, 1921 issue of the Oakland Tribune was featured in the February 1922issueof Bus Transportation:

“Eight Wheels Improve Riding Qualities

“An eight-wheel bus, which is a radicaldeparture inboth design and construction has just made its appearance inCalifornia.Instead of a single axle at both front and rear, the vehicle has doubleaxleconstruction so that virtually it has two trucks. The front four wheelssteerin unison, while the drive to the four rear wheels is through two setsof wormand gear axles. The rear worm is driven from the front through a shaftwithuniversals at both ends. The two axles making one unit are placed atcenters ofabout 3 ft.

“Double semi elliptic springs on each sidebetween each pairof axles support the chassis frame. This suspension allows theascension ordepression of any one or any combination of wheels, because each set ofwheelsbehaves somewhat similarly to a single car of short wheelbase and anydistortion or rocking motion of that unit is not imparted to thechassis frame.It is claimed that this sort of design which is made possible by theuse ofeight wheels, has produced a machine with riding qualities whichsurpass thoseof any four-wheel vehicle. The car is driven by a special 60 hp.four-cylindermotor designed by Mr. Hall, the designer of the Hall-Scott airplaneengine. Thebore and stroke of the cylinders are 4 1/2 x 5 1/2 in. With this poweramaximum speed of 50 m.p.h. is possible. An economy of 10 miles pergallon ofgasoline was obtained on a fifteen hour trip made between San Franciscoand LosAngeles. The car, which weighs 8,000 lb., is fitted all around with 32x 44-in.tires which need be inflated but to the customary pressure of 70 lb.

“The length over all is 26 ft. and theseating capacity istwenty, with the six seats extending entirely across the body with anindividual door for each on the right-hand side. The small size of thewheelscombined with the off-set chassis frame construction over the two rearaxleshas prevented this novel construction from increasing the body heightover theusual height. Because of the cross-seat construction it has beenpossible toprovide a large space in the rear for baggage. Both front and rear ofthe carare protected by heavy steel bumpers.

“The machine was designed and constructedby R. B.Fageol of the American Highway Transportation Company, SanFrancisco, Cal.

“No. 1—The high-speed eightwheeltwenty-passengerinterurban bus.

No. 2—Each axle conforms independently toinequality in road surface.

No. 3—The bus is steered with all four frontwheels.

No. 4 — Chassis showing the raised frame overtherear axles.”

An illustration of Rollie’s eight-wheeledbus appeared onthe cover of the February 1922 issue of Popular Mechanics which alsocontainedan article by H.A. Lane that referenced the vehicle inside:

“Motor Bus Travel Attains World Scope

“Astonishing Developments in This ModeTransportation –Tourists of the Future may Prefer Busses To Railroads – Motor-CarTouring willbe Brought Within the Reach of All.

“by H.A. Lane

“Noteworthy departures from the usual mannerof travel bytourists, have been evidenced by the constantly increasing demand forreservations on motor busses operating in various parts of the world.Andequally remarkable have been the developments in the construction ofthesebusses, until at the present time there have been incorporated intothem sumptuousappointments which rival the best accommodations available on railroadtrainsor steamship lines. If present indications may be taken as a prophecy,the bulkof tourist migration in the future will be handled by this method oftransportation.

“Ancient and medieval ruins, together withhistoric andromantic localities, will always be the Mecca of tourists, andpilgrimages tothese placed are being made more pleasurable each year by thefacilitiesoffered by the motor bus. While pleasure seekers annually migrate toallsections of the country, in advance of inclement weather, California isundoubtedly the greatest magnet for this class of people, and it isfittingthat the latest development of the motor bus should emanate from there.Theinnovation consists of an eight-wheeled car, with a seating capacity of20persons, and a spacious compartment for the luggage of the passengers.Forsafeguarding the traveling public, the eight-wheel bus possesses manyadvantages over the four-wheel type. The new machine steers on allfrontwheels, which are fastened together by a special spring suspension, andconstitute a truck, as likewise do the rear wheels. The car is drivenby, andthe brakes applied to, the four rear wheels, so that it superiority isobvious.If when running at top speed, one front or rear axle should break, theotheraxle would maintain the weight of the car.Likewise if under the sameconditions a front tire blowsout, themachine can be steered on the three remaining tires, thus avoiding anaccident.Although the bus weighs 8,000 lb., the pavement strain is considerablylessthan would be the case of a four-wheel car of the same weight, becauseof theeight bearing points, and because an air pressure of only 70 lb. isused in thetires, in comparison with the 90 lb. of the four-wheel type. Extensivetestmade with this machine have satisfactorily proved that it will notskid, thatit ride more comfortably than any four-wheel motor car, than an averageof 10miles can be made on one gallon of gasoline. The eight-wheel bus hasfive crossseats for passengers, with a door for each seat, while the driver’sseat has adoor on each side. Although the interior of this new departure inmotor-busbuilding is comfortably upholstered, there can be no comparison betweenit andsome of the luxuriously arranged busses in Europe.”

Coincidentally, Rollie’s brother Frank hadjust constructeda bus of his own that would become far better known than his olderbrother’seight-wheel creation, the January 6, 1922 Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Fageol Truck Distributors in various partsof Californiaare in Oakland today and tomorrow attending a convention of FageolDealerswhich is being held at the local truck factory on the Foothillboulevard. Abanquet will be held tonight at the Hotel Oakland.

“Plans for the coming year were discussed attoday's meetingand tomorrow the Fageol Dealers will be conveyed to Pittsburg in the‘High-wayCruiser,’ a new motor passenger vehicle designed by the Fageol factory.

“The Fageol Maintenance Truck which is alsoanother Fageolproduct will be demonstrated to these dealers on the experimental trackatPittsburg.”

The rechristened High-Way Cruiser, now knownas the ‘SilverFox’ made a promotional trip to Los Angeles, the January 31, 1922BakersfieldMorning Echo reporting:

“New Motor Bus Is Out On Test Jaunt

“‘The Silver Fox’, first of a new fleet ofspeciallydesigned passenger buses, built by the Fageol Motor Co. of Oakland, hittheconcrete trail for Los Angeles yesterday, bearing greetings from themayor ofOakland to the mayor of Los Angeles.

“A film actress christened the new car as itrolled away.The car will make a stop in Bakersfield. Frank Fageol is in charge ofthe testtrip. The bus is due to arrive in Los Angeles tonight or Wednesdaymorning.”

Frank R. Fageol submitted the followingmotor coach salespitch to the people of Oakland via the February 19, 1922 issue of theOaklandTribune:

“Convenience Not Cost is Vital Issue

“By F. R. Fageol, Fageol Motors Company.

“Much has been said and written about therelative costs oftransportation - either passenger or freight - over railroads asagainstautomobiles or motor trucks. As automobile and motor truckmanufacturers, wewish to admit that we do not consider automobiles or motor trucks willevertransport either passengers or freight as cheaply as do the streetrailwaycompanies and the railroads. But we do not believe the question of costreallyenters into or is a part of the consideration.

“The great consideration is convenience.

“The progress of the world, to date, hasbeen marked notnecessarily or primarily by reduction in first, costs, but rather byways andmeans that create greater convenience – greater convenience, on thewhole,tending toward higher standards of living, more industry and moreprosperityfor everyone concerned.

“By way of a few simple illustrations: Noman ever rode fromhis home to his office in his automobile cheaper than he could haveridden on astreet car. But the cost was not a consideration; it was convenience.It wouldbe cheaper to heat your water in a teakettle, pour it in the washtuband take abath in that manner (as they did in the olden days) than it is to spenda lotof money equipping a house with plumbing, bathtubs, etc. But no oneseriouslyconsiders doing this, because the bathtub is more convenient. And soon, onecould so with examples, indefinitely.

“Index Of Cheapness.

'Show me a land inhabited by a people who donot know or donot care about convenience and where everything is extremely cheap, andI willshow you a non-progressive, backward people.

“I herewith quote the results of some veryinterestingfigures (compiled recently by Mr. B. V. Buckwalter) covering trafficconditionson highways versus railroads between Pittsburgh and Bedford, Pa.Condensed,these figures show that there were 6,000 people per hour beingtransported bymotor transportation over the highway as against 4,400 people pertwenty-fourhours via railroad. Considering the railroads were only operatingtwelve hours,which time covers the dense travel on the highway - they would betransportingapproximately 360 people per hour. In other words, on account ofconveniencewherein cost is of no consideration, there are as many people beingtransportedby motor-driven equipment over our highways every three and a halfminutes asthere are over the railroads every hour! And it is our opinion that thegreattonnage of freight will in time be transported in about the sameproportion.

“The railroad companies have during recentyears indulged ina great deal of talk that they were being discriminated against bymotor truckoperators and treated very badly in several, on the following grounds:

“The railroad companies maintained that theykeep up theirown railroad tracks and rights of way and that the general public keepsup thehighways over which motor truck and motor bus transportation travel. Itis thewriter's contention that these claims are based largely on falsereasoning, inthat the general public - the consuming public, you, I and everyoneelse –maintain .and keep up all railroads and all highways, and all ofeverythingcommercial that exists, and if the railroads do not derive theirrevenue forkeeping up their rights of way, etc., from the general public—justwhere dothey get it? They must have found an ever-flowing fountain of gold andhaveguarded their secret well.

“The public really maintains the railroadrights-of-way andall of their equipment by a direct tax in the form of freight on everyarticlethey purchase. Whereas, they partially maintain our great highwaysystem by adirect tax on all articles transported over them and through theindirect taxwhich they pay on property, motor licenses and otherwise.

“The great point is that the consumingpublic must pay foreverything—it can come from no other source, and should come from noothersource. As to just how or through what manner they pay, it matterslittle.However, if we are going to work on the theory of letting the man whocanafford it pay most, then, they certainly come nearer doing it in themaintenance of the highways than they do when paying for themaintenance of therailroads—as the highways, at least, are largely kept up by the tax onpropertyowners and those who use them most, whereas railroads are kept up bydirect taxin the form of freight on everything you consume, handle or wear thathas everbeen transported over a railroad.

“Please do not assume from the above remarksthat we haveany quarrel with the railroads—far from it. We greatly admire them,feel thatthey have in the past and always will fill a great need.”

The March 1922 issue of Bus Transportationincluded picturesof the new Fageol intercity limousine-style coach:

“California Maker Produces Limousine Design

“The Fageol Motors Company, Oakland, Cal.,has brought out abus designed specially for long distance service. The Fageol intercitybusseats twenty although it can be furnished in twelve or sixteenpassengercapacity. The two rear seats are arranged back to back and carry threepassengers each, the next three seats four passengers each, while twopassengers can be carried at the side of the driver. Each seat has anindividual side entrance.

“Features of this new bus are the inclosedrunning board,individual entrances for each seat, and the engine designed by Col.A.E. Hallof aircraft fame. A luggage space is provided at the rear, inside thebody. Thecondensed specifications of the Fageol bus are:

“Body: Aluminum with limousine type doorsand drop windows. Seatsof Marshall double-deck springs covered with leather.
“Engine: Hall-Scott four-cylinder. Bore 41/2 in. Stroke 51/2 in. Overhead cam and valve. Delivers 62 hp. at 1,800 rpm., thegovernedspeed.
“Ignition, Starting, Lighting: Delco, withoversize generator and battery.
“Fuel Supply: 30 gal.
“Chassis Lubrication: Automatic.
“Transmission: Brown-Lipe four-speed. Directon third. Geared up 25 per cent on fourth. Thermoid and Spaceruniversal joints.
“Rear Axle: Timken-Fageol under-slung wormand gear. Reduction 5 2/5 to 1.
“Brakes: Duplex internal on two rear wheels.Diameter 21 in.; face 4 in.
“Wheels: Disk type. Tires 36 x 6 in. cordall around.
"Gage: Special 68 in.
“Wheelbase: 188 in.
“Overall Dimensions: Width, 81 in.; length,260 in.; height, 75 5/16 in.”

Although he remained a car salesman, ClaudFageol occasionallyserved as a test driver/chauffeur for Frank & William’s businessoperations, the March 5, 1922 Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Elks Travel In New Safety Bus

“One of the new Fageol safety buses conveyedtwenty-twoOakland Elks to Palo Alto Base Hospital last week to entertain, thesoldierboys there. This was the first trip that the bus has made with acapacity loadof passengers. Though the roads were slippery and wet, it was notnecessary touse chains.

“The frame of the Fageol is but 13 inchesfrom the ground,which factor gives a very low center of gravity. Two mid-ship bearingsare usedin order that the sections of the drive shaft may be short to preventwhipping.

“Solid comfort for the traveler was themain, thought by thedesigner, also ‘Safety’ upon which the future popularity of stage linesdepends.

“The ventilation was not overlooked. Twoadjustableventilators have been provided on the floor on each side of the body,and threeadjustable ceiling ventilators are used, also a special windshieldventilatingdevice.

“This new stage is unique in many respectsand, according toClaude Fageol, who drove the party of Elks to the college city, someorders arenow being taken in the southern part of the state. ‘Every stage companyofficial who has seen the bus hopes to be in position-to equip withthem in thenear future," he says.’”

An article in the March 1922 issue ofPacific ServiceMagazine puts the number of employees of the Fageol Motors Co. at 105:

“At present the Fageol Company is puttingout a new type ofhighway maintenance trucks, passenger busses and stages. The Fageolinter-citystage was recently introduced. During the present year and next yearthecompany will continue with its truck and tractor development and willbring outa full line of highway stages, gas street cars and deluxe cars forestates andultrafine service. Approximately 105 employees are now employed at theFoothillBoulevard plant.”

Pictures and a description of theaforementioned highway maintenancetruck appeared in the March 1, 1922 issue of the Commercial Vehicle:

“The Complete Road-Mender Truck: Motor TruckTried Out inCalifornia Equipped with All Types of Machinery Used in Road Work

“The adaptation of the motor truck tospecial uses hasreached a high point in the vehicle shown below. The truck was designedandbuilt by the Fageol Motors Co. and is now in operation on road districtNo. 4,Kern County, California.

“The truck carries a twin cylinder aircompressor, operatedby a belt from the forward drive shaft; a rotary concrete mixer, drivenby anauxiliary shaft from the transmission; a 150 gal. steel water tank,locatedjust back of the material bins; a tar or road oil heating tank with acapacityof 50 gallons and heated by a gasoline or fuel oil burner arrangedunder thetank; a large pneumatic jack hammer, with assorted chisels, tampers,etc.; apneumatic post hole digger, for use in erecting fences along thehighway; and alarge grading plow, drag and an extension side arm or boom from thefront ofthe truck for grading.

“The water tank can be filled by means of acentrifugal pumpprovided with a self-priming device and a suction hose.

“In addition to the above equipment, thetruck hascombination material bins, with capacities of 1000 lbs. of cement, 1cubic yardof sand and 2 cubic yards of gravel or rock. Gravity feed from all thebins iscontrolled by hand operated gates to the mixing apron. There is also adraw barattachment on the rear of the truck for hauling trailers or foroperating thegrading plow, and a syphon nozzle for spraying hot tar or oil.

“The above equipment is designed to fulfillfunctions inroad construction and repair work too numerous to enumerate here. Butwith itsequipment, the truck is possibly the most complete vehicle for anyclass ofdetailed work yet designed. It is expected that within a short timesomeinteresting data will be available regarding the saving, with thistruck, overthe old method of road maintenance.”

The May 1922 issue of the American City alsoincluded afeature on the Fageol Highway Maintenance Truck:

“A New Highway Maintenance Truck

“The Board of Supervisors of Kern County,Calif., has beenusing for some time a Fageol highway maintenance truck made by theFageolMotors Company, Oakland, Calif. This truck was purchased immediatelyafter thedemonstration test given at the concrete highway test track, Pittsburg,Calif.Stanley Abel, chairman of the Kern County Supervisors, stated that inone day'soperation of this truck 27 patches were made on the highway, and afterchargingoff the very liberal depreciation with full operating expenses, thecost ofdoing this with the maintenance truck showed a saying of $67 ascompared with thecost of the same amount of work done by the usual method. It isexpected thatthis truck will pay for itself within the first year's operation.

“The Fageol highway maintenance truckconsists of aheavy-duty motor truck equipped with an air compressor with a capacityof 80cubic feet per minute with air receiver and 200 feet of I-inch air hoseandconnections. There are combination material bins having a capacity of1,000pounds of cement, I cubic yard of sand, 2 cubic yards of gravel orrock, allgravity operated and controlled by hand-operated gates to the mixingapron. Thewater-tank has a capacity of 150 gallons, and discharge is effected bygravityor pressure. The rotary concrete mixer is driven by an auxiliary shaftfrom thetransmission. The centrifugal pump has a self-priming device andsuction hosefor filling the watertank from wells, rivers, and other sources. It hasadraw-bar attachment for hauling trailers, and a power-driven niggerheadwinchfor service when needed. A tar or road oil heating tank with gasburners isincluded, having a capacity of 50 gallons and equipped with a siphonnozzle forspraying bituminous material under pressure with hose. A largepneumaticjack-hammer with assorted chisels, tampers, etc., a pneumatic post-holediggerand hose, are also provided.

“There is an extension side-arm or boomplaced at the sideof the truck, which is used in hauling a large grading plow with dragor graderwhen necessary. Additional equipment includes a steel wheelbarrow, onelo-tonjack and bracket, 200 feet of i-inch manila rope, 25 feet of tow chain,steelstencils for lettering highways, three shovels, two picks, one largesledge,two crowbars, ten red lanterns, ten 'At Work' signs and ten redflags.

“The truck is thus fully equipped forrepairing ruptures orbreaks in reinforced or plain concrete, macadam or various bituminoustypes ofstreets, as well as erecting fences, assisting in the construction orrepair ofsteel, wooden or concrete bridges and culverts, beveling, grading, andothermaintenance jobs on highways, stenciling traffic or ordinance signs,chippingout cracks on concrete highways and sealing with hot bituminousmaterial underpressure, cutting asphalt paving with the pneumatic chisel orjack-hammer,spraying trees and shrubbery in parks with fungicide, and putting outfiresalong highways. With suction hose and centrifugal pump it can be usedto goodadvantage in pumping out caissons, etc.”

A detailed article in the March 15, 1922issue of the CommercialVehicle introduced Frank R. Fageol’s Safety Coach to the trade:

“Fageol Designs New Stage; Low Hung FrameGives aRunningboard height of But 16 in.

“A new motor stage has been developed by theFageol MotorsCo., Oakland, Cal., to take care of suburban service and passengertrafficbetween cities out on the Pacific Coast. There has been a largedevelopment inthe use of motor stages in California, and many of the westernrailroads areusing them as feeders to and from their divisional points.

“Development in the motor bus and stagefield has beentoward the use of specialized equipment. It is now recognized that theconverted motor truck chassis cannot be made to do double duty in thespecialized field of commercial passenger transportation. Motor busoperationin many cities has shown that standard truck chassis are not suitablefor motorbus construction and service for the following reasons: Excessiveweight; toomuch unsprung weight; high center of gravity; rigidity of suspension;unsuitable gear ratios; narrow treads; large turning radius; stiffsteeringgear; high top clearance; high passenger floor; too short wheelbase,causingdangerous overhang.

“The designers of the new Fageol stage hadin mind a vehiclethat would not only be safe but one that would combine comfort andconvenience.

“Comparing the newest with the averagestage, a number ofdetails combine to make it safe and attractive. The runningboard is but16 in.from the ground, because of the unusual low center of gravity whichprevails inthe design throughout. It is claimed as a result that it is difficulttooverturn this vehicle. The weight of the stage is 6800 lbs.

“The big feature in the design of this newvehicle is theframe construction. The designers have brought about the desiredreduction inthe ground clearance of the body by making the frame underslung betweentherear axle and the power-plant. This has been made possible by cuttingthe frameat the rear end and then connecting the two sections by a bridgestructure overthe rear axle. This bridge structure is shown in the accompanyingillustration.It will be noted that the front frame cross member serves also as abumper orguard.

“In order to gain the desired lowering inthe center ofgravity, the designers have used an under-worm type of axle, details ofwhichmay be had from the accompanying illustration. The rear axle ratio is5.2 to 1.

“The wheel tread, instead of being 56 in.,the usual width,is 68 in. This is another factor in insuring greater safety inoperation.Inter-city work usually calls for speedier running than in the city andas aresult all due precaution must be taken against overturning, etc.

“The equal distribution of weight broughtabout in thedesign of this motor stage has enabled the designers to use 36 x 6 in.tiresall around. The wheelbase is 218 in.

“The body, with a carrying capacity oftwenty, is aluxurious creation, built of aluminum. All seats have individual backsand theupholstery is of high grade leather over curled hair. The ceiling islined withsilver cloth, with lights in the sides reflecting an indirect lightfrom thetop.

“Low Appearance

“Aluminum construction of the bodythroughout gives extremelightness in comparison to the capacity. Big economy in operation andlong lifeare claimed by the manufacturer as important points brought about bylightnessin weight.

“The unusual low appearance of the vehiclemakes it lookradically different from the average stage type of motor vehicle. Thedoors areof full width and are as deep as the body. Disappearing adjustablewindows areprovided. Particular attention has been paid to ventilation and as aresult,the body has been provided with six ventilators in the ceiling and inthe floorline of the doors. These ventilators are hand controlled.

“In long distance operation in passengertransportation itis particularly important that the passengers be made as comfortable aspossible. Engine and other vibrations should be cut to the minimum. Theengineand driveshaft in this new motor stage have been supported on fabricand rubberpads, thus forming, it is claimed, an insulation against vibration.There is nometallic contact between the propelling mechanism and the body. Thus,thehumming sound of the engine is not heard by passengers as is the casein theaverage bus.

“The engine is a specially constructedHall-Scott. It has abore of 4 1/4 in. and a stroke of 5 1/2 in. The S.A.E. horsepower is28.9.There are but five parts or sub-assemblies in this engine. Theseassemblies areas follows: (1) lower crankcase; (2) upper crankcase; (3) cylinderblock; (4)cylinder head with rocker shaft and arms, cam shaft and valves, timinggearwith governor; and (5) rocker arm shaft and valve mechanism cover.”

The May 1, 1922 issue of the CommercialVehicle announcedthat construction of Rollie B. Fageol’s eight-wheel bus that wasintroduced inFebruary was also progressing:

“To Produce Fageol 8-Wheel Bus

“San Jose, Cal., April 17 - A 3-acre tractat Long Beach hasbeen purchased by the National Axle Corp., this city, upon which afactory willbe built to assemble the eight wheel motor buses made by the Nationalcompanyunder the Fageol patents. The axle plant will remain at San Jose.”

Curiously the name of the manufacturer ofthe Fageol bus hadchanged from the American Highway Transportation Co. to the NationalAxle Corp.Further details of the latter vehicle were published in the September,1922issue of Power Wagon:

“Eight-Wheeled Truck and ’Bus Chassis inProduction:Considerable Fuel Savings Claimed

“The National Axle Corporation of San Jose,California, isbeginning the manufacture of the 8-wheeled motor ‘bus, street-car andtruck forCalifornia, Oregon and Washington, under contract with the Eight WheelMotorVehicle Company, of 350 Post Street, San Francisco. The ‘bus isdesigned tocarry 24 passengers in interurban stage service. The street-car for 31passengers has full headroom, cross-seats on each side of a centeraisle,arranged for ‘pay-as-you-enter,’ and one man control. The truck is of a4-ton capacityfor fast transportation.

“The advantages of the 8-wheel principlehave been proven byactual operation of a full-sized ‘bus which was built a year ago andhas beendriven over California highways and mountain roads for over 13,000miles. Thefirst 2,500 miles of road-testing developed what few minor changes wereneededin the design and construction. The completed stage was operated underregularworking conditions in all kinds of weather in full satisfaction.

“The chassis are built with four frontsteering wheels andfour rear driving wheels, designed so as to give extreme flexibility inboththe front and rear sets of wheels. The load is thus distributed overeightwheels, each wheel carrying half as much load as would be the case iftherewere only the usual four. Indeed this difference is even greater, fromthe factthat special attention was given to designing the eight-wheel trucks sothatthe center of gravity of the load is much farther forward than on theordinaryfour-wheeler. In the latter the two rear wheels usually carry about 85per centof the total load, while in the 8-wheel truck the four rear wheelscarry onlyabout 55 per cent., and the four front wheels about 45 per cent of theload.Therefore, wheels and tires may be comparatively small, effectingeconomy andsafety of operation. The center of gravity of the car beingcorrespondinglylow, these vehicles are not likely to slide off the road, or overturnon sharpcurves taken at continuous speed.

“The two front axles are connected bysprings on eitherside, so arranged that the axles oscillate about a central trunnionbar. If onetire blows out—indeed if a whole wheel comes off—the loss is so takenup by theinterrelation of the four wheels of the front set, that the steeringability isnot materially affected. Since the load is so distributed, normal tirepressures are sufficient for the 8-wheel vehicle, giving greatresilience, aswell as security against skidding and blowing out.

“The flexibility of the 8-wheel constructionis such thatwhen the wheels on one axle roll over a bump, the body israised onlyhalf as high as would be the case with the ordinary 4-wheel chassis.Considering the 8-wheel vehicle, suppose the leading wheel of the frontsetgoes into a. hole in the road four inches deep.Its axle drops fourinches. The following wheel of the front set still remains on thelevel, soits axle does not drop at all. Therefore, the trunnion,midwaybetween the two axles, drops but two inches. Yet the time it takes theleading axle to drop four inches is the same as that taken bythetrunnion in dropping two inches. Therefore, the velocity of drop of theaxle ofthe leading wheel is twice as great as the velocity of drop of thetrunnion.Now, the force of impact is directly proportional to the energy ofmotion,which in tum is directly proportional to the square of the velocity,accordingto the formula E=% m vs. Therefore, since the velocity of drop ofthe axle is twice as great as that of the trunnion, theenergy of itsmotion would be as the square of 4 is to the square of 2, or as 16 isto 4. Inother words, the bump or jolt upon the body of the 8-wheel car is onlyone-quarter as great as is the case with a 4-wheeler, or the 8-wheelprinciplemakes for four times as great riding ease than is possible with the4-wheelprinciple, say the makers. The collective supporting effect of alleight wheelsis on the centerline of the chassis, instead of at the corners of theframe.

“Since there are four rear driving wheels onthe ground, thetractive effort is double that of the usual two—wheel drive. Also, bythe inter-constructionof the driving axles, each wheel holds the road well. This eliminatesskiddingand slippage. When an ordinary chassis runs over a bump, or jumps arut, one orboth rear wheels will be slightly off the road, and tend to run aheador behindthe rest of the car, according to whether the motor is pulling, or thebrakesholding back. Upon return to the road a slight skidding or slippingoccurs,which not only jars the passengers uncomfortably, but causes extra wearon thetires. Through the prevention of this slippage and other economies asaving of15 to 25 per cent in gasolene consumption is said to be made possible.

“Heretofore it has been the practice to havethe two frontwheels of all automobiles ‘toe in,’ in order to offset the drag due totheplane of revolution of the wheel being outside the pivotal point of thesteeringknuckle. Neither of the front wheels runs parallel to the direction ofmotionof the car, so there is a sliding effect on the tires, causing wear.Thisfeature has been eliminated in the 8-wheel construction, by making thetiresrevolve about a point directly under the steering pivot. Therefore, thewheelsrun straight, and the wear on the front tires is avoided, according tothemakers.

“There is a separate brake upon each of theeight wheels.Furthermore, the brakes are operated by compressed air, in the samemanner asthose on a. railroad train. Thus, the driver is enabled to stop a fullloaded'bus quickly, and without physical exertion, no matter what thecondition ofthe road. Also, since the brake area is so great, the effect requiredof eachbrake lining is correspondingly less.

“Another innovation in the 8-wheel vehicleis a transmissionproviding 8 speeds forward and 2 reverse. In every speed thetransmission ispractically noiseless and free from vibration. Passenger-carryingservicerequires frequent stops, so that the only way to maintain a fastschedule,without traveling at too high a speed, is by quick acceleration instarting.Also, it is desirable to operate the engine at its most economicalspeed.

“Safety for passengers is accomplished bythe low center ofgravity, and constant traction, which insure against skidding andoverturning;by the eight small tires and wheels, enabling sure control of the carin spiteof blow-outs or loss of wheel; by the eight air-brakes, for quickstopping inemergency; and by the provisions for comfortable and easy operation,leavingthe driver untroubled to watch the road with the vigilance essential tosafety.

“Comfortable riding is provided by thereduction of bumpsand shocks; by the elimination of transmission noise and vibration,whetherrunning in low or high gears; by the resilience from moderate tirepressures;and by the cushioning of all working parts.

“Economy of operation is attained by use ofsmall wheels,and stock car tires; by enlarging the brake area, with consequentsaving ofbrake -linings; by prevention of excessive wear of tires, withelimination ofslippage and skidding-particularly of rear wheels—and by makingunnecessary the‘toeing-in’ of front wheels; by 15 to 20 per cent saving of gasolene,due topositive traction, and to prevention of slippage, and racing of enginebyelimination of torsion stresses, and consequent long life of frame andbody;and by the eight ratio transmission, enabling maintenance of properenginespeed in all gears.”

The September 16, 1922 issue of AutomobileTopics announcedthat Col. Winship had organized a firm to exploit his eight-wheeledmotor coachwhose name was more descriptive than the American HighwayTransportation Co.:

“Eight Wheel Motor Vehicle Co., SanFrancisco, Cal. Tomanufacture eight wheel motor vehicles. Capital $200,000.Incorporators: EmeryWinship, R. B. Bonn, B. H. Beecher, and others.”

The National Axle Corp. inserted a displayad picturing the‘Pacific 8-Wheeler’ in the December 1922 issue of Bus Transportation:

“Pacific ‘8 Wheeler’

“Built for carrying passengers

“The Pacific ‘8 Wheeler’ is not a‘made-over’ machine in anysense of the word. Form the very beginning of the work which resultedin thedevelopment of this superior vehicle, safety, comfort and economy incarryingpassengers has been given prime consideration. Write for full detailsonPacific ‘8 Wheelers’ and tell us about the conditions under which youmustoperate.”

The April 1923 issue of Popular Mechanicsincluded a pictureof a Rollie B. Fageol-designed eight-wheel motor truck accompanied bythe followingarticle:

“San Diego Motor Truck Runs on Eight Wheels

“An eight-wheel motor truck in use in SanDiego, Calif.,with a speed of 35 miles an hour, is designed for fast freight service.Thechassis is built with four rear driving wheels and four front steeringwheels.The two front axles are connected by springs on either side, soarranged thatthe axles oscillate about a central trunnion bar. Better distributionof weightand greater stability are claimed for the construction, which throwsonly 55per cent of weight on the rear wheels, instead of the usual 85 percent. Owingto the arrangement of the front wheels, steering is not greatlyaffected if atire blows out or a wheel comes off. Also much less pressure in thepneumatictires is required. This is an application to a freight truck of theprincipleembodied in the eight-wheeled California motor bus described in theFebruary,1922, issue of Popular Mechanics magazine.”

Caption states the vehicle is a product ofthe Eight-WheelMotor Car Co. 350 Post St., San Francisco, and also mentioned theNational AxleCorporation, San Jose, Calif.

April 15, 1923 issue of Motor West:

“A picture in the March 1 issue, of twoeight-wheelers,was described incorrectly. One, a truck, was not a Morelandbut, likethe other, a passenger bus, was built by National Axle Corp., San Jose,Cal.,for Eight Wheel Motor Vehicle Co., 350 Post St., SanFrancisco. EmoryWinship, of the company, says the San Jose concern ‘has not now anyeight-wheelwork in its shops, nor has it any manufacturing rights or licenses fromus.These cars, and all patents and designs pertaining to the eight-wheelart, areowned by our company. The models now are undergoing exhaustive andseveretests, to discover any points of weakness before production on acommercialbasis is begun.’”

In fact, Winships’ ‘Eight-wheel Coach’shared the samedrivetrain as the ‘Pacific 8-wheeler’ being offered by the NationalAxle Corp.,and he was also the man behind the American Highway Transportation Co.which introduceda nearly identical vehicle in November of 1921 using Rollie B. Fageol’spatents.The Colonel tried to clear upthe confusion via the following article that was published in the June15, 1923issue of the Commercial Car Journal:

“Winship Clears Up Confusion on 8-WheelVehicles

“Owing to some confusion as to themanufacturer of thePacific Eight-Wheel Coach, Emory Winship of San Francisco has beenasked toclear up this matter. Mr. Winship has replied through Ray J. Barber asfollows:

“Mr. Winship is the sole owner of theEight-Wheel MotorVehicle Company. Last year he made a tentative arrangement withthe National Axle Corporation of San Jose, California, underwhichthey built one 10-ton 8-wheel truck and one 31 passenger 8-wheel motorstreetcar. These vehicles were made to Mr. Win-ship’s order, the NationalAxleCorporation simply acting as a contract shop for him. * * * Now theNationalAxle Corporation had no 8-wheel work in their shops, nor any connectionwiththe 8- wheel program.

“The Eight-Wheel Motor Vehicle Company,which, as abovestated, is owned by Mr. Emory Winship, controls all of the fundamental8-wheelpatents that have been issued, as well as many applications for patentsthatare still pending. Negotiations are now nearing completion for thecommercialproduction of 8-wheel buses, street cars and trucks in the immediatefuture, sothat they bid fair soon to become an important factor in highwaytransportation.”

Although production of the Fageol-Winshipeight wheeltrucks didn’t get beyond the prototype stage, Col. Winship remainedinterest inthe technology and purchased Rollie Fageol’s patents relating to thevehicles. The‘Pacific 8-wheeler’ pictured in the National Axle Corp.’s advertisementwasactually the coach that the firm had been constructed for Winship’sAmericanHighway Transportation Co. in 1921. The second eight-wheel motor coachandmatching eight-wheel stake-bed truck constructed by National Axle werebuiltfor Winship’s second firm, the Eight-Wheel Motor Vehicle Company.

Frank R. Fageol’s far more successful busbuildingactivities were totally unrelated to his brother Rollie’s and duringthe summerof 1922 his firm was busy readying an exhibit for the annual A.E.R.A.Convention (American Electric Railway Association), which was beingheld in Chicago,Illinois from September 2 to 5, 1922. The October 1922 issue of BusTransportation reported on the firm’s exhibit as follows:

“Buses Prominent at the Electric RailwayConvention

“The parlor coach of the Fageol Companyattracted muchattention because of comfortable chairs which can be moved as desiredby thepassenger. These chairs are kept from sliding by rubber suction cups oneach leg.”

“Fageol Motors Company, Oakland, Cal., whichexhibited fourcomplete models and motor at the convention of the American ElectricRailwayAssociation at Chicago, September 2 to 5, has just issued an eight-pagepamphlet describing its Intercity Model Safety Coach; its Street CarModel, andits Parlor Car.

“The Intercity Model is made for twenty ortwenty-threepassengers and has been developed with safety and comfort thepredominant note.When loaded the body has a height over all of 6 ft. 3 ½ in. The StreetCarModel seats twenty-seven or twenty-nine passengers and driver and is apay-entertype. The Parlor Car is designed for extra fare service. Eightindividualupholstered wicker chairs with adjustable backs, interior wall finishof silkmohair plush, extra-wide limousine doors and plate glass windows aretheattractions offered by the company in this model. The running board inallmodels is 16 in. from the ground. The Fageol motor was designed andbuilt byCol. E.J. Hall, co-designer of the Liberty aeroplane engine. Thepamphlet saysthat the engine can drive the safety coach fully loaded at 50 m.p.h.,andwithstand this according to specifications, for 300,000 miles.”

Deliveries of Fageol Motors buses were notedin variouspublications during the fall of 1922.

September 1922 issue of Bus Transportation:

“Puget Sound Purchases Eight Buses

“The Puget Sound International Railway &Power Company,operating the street railway system in Everett, Wash., has purchasedeightmotor buses to be used by the company in carrying into effect its planstomotorize the transportation system in Everett, according to ManagerGeorgeNewell who recently returned from California.

“The buses have been purchased from theFageol Company,Oakland, Cal., and their purchase is the culmination of extensiveinvestigationby company officials of bus types for railways throughout the UnitedStates.

“The order provides for shipment of carsevery fifteen days,the first to arrive on Oct. 14, and the last on Dec. 1. The cars willbe twenty-ninepassenger capacity of the pay-as-you-enter type with cross-wiseupholsteredseats of standard make. The machine possesses a low hung body lowcenter ofgravity and a wheel base fourteen inches wider than the standard. TheFageolCompany modified its original body design upon the advice of C.O.Birney, Stone& Webster, car designer.

“The Puget Sound International Railway &Power Companyhas started work on the construction of a large garage and car shed tohousethe new motor buses and is building a machine shop to repair the cars.Thesheds and garage to be built will also house the auto stages nowemployed bythe company in its co-ordinated stage and electric interurban servicefromEverett to Mount Vernon. The garage will be 132x60 ft. in size withcapacity oftwenty four cars.”

The sale was noted in the September 24, 1922issue of the OaklandTribune:

“New Fageol Cars Shipped

“The Fageol Motor Car company is commencingdelivery ofeight ‘pay as you enter coaches’ for the P. S. T. T. Railroad and Powercompanyof Washington on the 15th of the coming month. This northwesttransportationcompany plans to replace its present traction equipment with gasolinebuses.

“The total sale to this company amounts to$75,000 anddeliveries are promised as follows: two cars on October 15th, twoNovember 1st,two November 15th and two December 1st.

“Sample Fageol Inter-City buses, which aregaining favorvery rapidly throughout the west, have been purchased quite recently bythePacific Electric company of Los Angeles, the city of San Diego and thecity ofHighwood, Illinois.

“These buses are equipped with Fageolchassis, Hall-Scottmotors and Westinghouse electric air-brakes.

“The body design has been OK'd and approvedby Birney.”

The November 1922 issue of BusTransportation provided adetail description of the bus the firm had on display at the A.E.R.A.Convention:

“Wicker Chairs in This De Luxe Bus

“What is said to be the most luxuriouspublic vehicle everconstructed is announced by the Fageol Motors Company, Oakland, Cal.The ‘ParlorCar’ has recently been finished for use between suburban hotels andresorts insouthern California.

“The body is completely inclosed with plateglass and thewindows lower completely into the doors or side walls as in the bestlimousines.Owing to the unusual height of the glass, the passengers enjoy agreater rangeof vision and even tall men do not have to stoop to see out theopposite sideof the vehicle. It is cooler in summer than the ordinary automobile,because ofthe great extent to which the sides may be opened to the breezes and onaccountof the insulating effect of the thickly padded roof.

“In the color effect of the Fageol ParlorCar an effort hasbeen made to achieve distinction also. The soft pleasing Mojave brownof thebody is beautifully contrasted and set off by the black trim on the topfenders,hub caps and wheel rims. The use of the velvet finish liquid pyroxylinenamel carriesout the same idea of harmony and refinement that is now the vogue inthe betterclass of custom built automobiles. This enamel creates an egg-shellfinish thatdoes away with the glare of varnish and can be cleaned with eitherwater orgasoline.

“The driver's compartment is separated fromthe rest of thebody by a two-section sliding, plate-glass partition. It has acontinuous cross-seataccommodating butler and maid when used in private service, or handbaggagewhen used as a public vehicle. There is a door on either side of thissection,and the body proper is entered through a limousine door on theright-hand sidejust back of the door to the driver's compartment. These doors extendto therunning board which is only 16 in. from the ground, and afford easyentranceand exit.

“The rear seat is an overstuffed Turkishlounge, and seatsfor the rest of the passengers consist of eight flat reed wicker chairswithadjustable backs. The upholstery of the lounge and the chairs is sealgrainbrown Madagascar calf. Each of the chairs is held securely in place onthe Magnesitefloor by rubber vacuum cups attached to each leg. By pulling a silkentassel thepassenger may break the vacuum and move the chair about to anyposition.

“In the interior three cut-glass domelights, with specialhangings to prevent side glare, provide ample light for night riding,and theinterior is well ventilated by adjustable ceiling ventilators.Cut-glass flowercornucopias are attached to the corner posts by silver brackets and athermosdrinking water carafe makes it possible for the passengers to have coolrefreshing drinks.

“One of these parlor car models wasexhibited at theElectric Railway Association convention in Chicago early in October andwasafterward taken on a 5,000-mile trip through the Central and EasternStates.The chassis design was similar to that described on page 190, Marchissue ofBus Transportation, with the addition of Westinghouse air brakes.

“This type of vehicle will be welcomed it isbelieved bycountry and golf clubs, private country estates, resorts and hotels,sightseeing tours deluxe, and for many other uses.”

The November 5, 1922 Oakland Tribune notedthat future U.S.President, Herbert C. Hoover, had taken a ride in a Fageol coach whileservingas Secretary of Commerce under President Warren G. Harding:

“Hoover Rides In New Fageol Bus

“Secretary of Commerce Herbert Hoover, themembers of theInterstate Commerce Commission, Gordon Lee, chief of the automotivedivision ofthe Department of Commerce, and several Eastern railroad presidentswere theguests of Frank R. Fageol, general manager of the Fageol MotorsCompany, for anafternoon's ride around Washington in a Fageol parlor car.

“Fageol has been touring the East in theparlor car for thepast three weeks, and reports that the machine is making a big hitwherever itis shown. In many parts of the East the inhabitants have never seen thetype ofhigh speed intercity stage that is so common on our highways.”

‘The Knave’ a ghost-written column thatregularly appearedin the Oakland Tribune did his best to publicize local firms whenevertheopportunity presented itself. His November 12, 1922 column follows:

“Fageol Motors Company, Hollywood Boulevard,Oakland, Nov.1, 1922.

“To ‘The Knave’

“The enclosed copy of a letter from aprominent SanFrancisco business man, written from New York a few days ago, isself-explanatory.

“We are naturally gratified that he was soimpressed that he-wrote the letter to us.

"We pass it on to you because we think thatthis isevidence of a growing spirit of pride in our state which seems to betakinghold or the people of Northern California in the past few months. It isthespirit that has put Southern California and Los Angeles in the mouth ofeveryman east of the Rocky Mountains.

“While we like to claim the credit for thedevelopment ofthe ‘Parlor Car California,’ in a broader sense the vehicle is anaturalevolution of the automobile, and was brought into being by the splendidsystemof improved highways in this state. It is a long, low, powerful highwayPullman, built on a Fageol Safety Coach, chassis, and provides a largelimousine body with separate, moveable, adjustable chairs for a dozenpassengers. I tell you this merely as a prelude to what follows.

“Mr. Fageol took a trip through the East,driving the parlorcar, visiting most of the important centers of population in thenorthern andeastern states. On part of the trip, he had as his guests, ClausSpreckels,Jr., of San Diego, and Webb Jay, millionaire inventor of theStewart-Warnervacuum system used on about 90% of the automobiles in America. Mr. Jayisprobably better known to the older generation of motorists as thedriver of thefamous White steam racing car, ‘Whistling Billy,’ in which he twiceraced anddefeated Barney Oldfield.

“The party rolled into Detroit oneafternoon, and proceededto disembark. As usual, the crowd of curious spectators began toassemble.Spreckels, a large imposing young man on whom the cares of directingthe SanDiego street car system have left the indelible mark of authority, wasthefirst to step out of the car. Straight to him came a dapper youngtravelingsalesman, and without any formalities started in, ‘How long does ittake yourbus to make the trip to California? What is the fare? When do we leave?’

“And when Mr. Spreckels explained that itwas a privateparty, traveling in a private car, the young man roundly abused him formisleading the public — for was it not painted right on the front door,‘ParlorCar California?’

“Mr. Spreckels took it as courteously as theconductors onhis street railway are instructed to receive the complaints of thetravelingpublic.

“Trusting that the incidents related abovemay serve as thebasis for one or two of the interesting sketches that make your pageone of thehigh lights of the week for so many of us, we are.

“Respectfully, Carl Abell, Manager,Promotion Department.”

“The inclosure mentioned in the foregoing isa copy of aletter written by Tallant Tubbs, member of a very well -knownCalifornia familylong prominent in the life and affairs of Oakland. It is as follows:

“Hotel Belmont, New York, Oct. 22, 1922.

“The Fageol Motors Co, Oakland, Cal:

“As a Californian, I thought you might be asinterested inlearning, as I was m seeing, the excitement caused by ourFageol-Hall-Scottequipped ‘Parlor Car California,’ as the car was named. It was parkedat thecorner of Vanderbilt avenue and Forty-third street this morning.Trafficregulations were temporarily demoralized," and I noticed that severalpolicemen themselves took a few minutes off to inspect the motor andfurnishings of the car. Crowds lined up on the sidewalk outside theGrandCentral Terminal and waited their turn to see this product.

“To me the best part of it was that the carcarried aCalifornia dealer's license. Yours truly, (Signed) Tallant Tubbs,MemberPacific Union Club, San Francisco.”

A typical Fageol display advertisement fromDecember 1922issue of Bus Transportation is transcribed below:

“Replacing A Street Car System

“The Puget Sound International Railway andPower Company hasannounced that it will transform its street car system in Everett,Washington,to a motor bus system, tearing up the car tracks and disposing of thestreetcars now in operation.

“For this replacement, the Fageol SafetyCoach was chosen.Here is what Manager George Newell says about it:

“‘After careful study an initial order foreight city typecars was placed with the Fageol Motors Company of Oakland, California.Thisdecision was based particularly on the low type of construction ofthese cars,and their inherent safety features. The body design was the product ofcooperation between the officials of the operating company and themanufacturer,and the present type of car is an adaptation of many features of theBirneySafety Car construction to a properly designed bus chassis.’

“We value this recognition by a membercompany of the greatStone & Webster organization. Their judgment of the Fageol SafetyCoach isbacked up by that of several other street railway companies who havesaid itwith orders.

“Mr. Newell's analysis of the conditionswhich made thechange from street cars to motor busses necessary will be of interestto everystreet railway operator in America, because the same problems face alltractioncompanies to a greater or less degree. Ask for a copy.

“Fageol Motors Company, Oakland, California.”

The December 17, 1922 edition of the OaklandTribuneextolled the virtues of the Fageol City Service Safety Coach over atypicalstreet car of the day:

“The Fageol ‘P.A. Y.E.’ Bus Supplanting theStreet Car.

“To offer a feasible solution of the trafficandtransportation problems that vex every growing city, the Fageol MotorsCo. ofOakland has developed a new type of its famous safety coach, designedespecially for city street motor bus service. The new vehicle is aone-manpay-as-you-enter type, with regular street car seats, standing room,advertisingcard rack, safety gate, and all the features of comfort and sanitationsuch asare found in the very best one man trolley cars.

“The first shipment of the new safety coachstreet cars hasalready been sent to Everett, Wash., where they will take the place ofthetrolley system now being operated by the Puget Sound InternationalRailway andPower Co., in the town district of that city.

“The conditions which prompted the tractioncompany to makethe change from the trolley system to the trackless variety are thesame asexist to a greater or less extent in every growing city - a trafficcongestionthat is not only making travel through the main streets slow, butadding dangerfor every person and vehicle on the streets. Accidents in traffic werebecomingtoo frequent, and the liability claims which were being collected fromthestreet railway company were coming to be very burdensome.

“The installation of a bus system isexpected to relieve thetraffic congestion because the buses pull to the curb when stopping,leavingthe street open for vehicular traffic, instead of holding up a wholeline ofautomobiles as does a stopped street car.

“It is claimed that motor busses have ahigher average rateof speed through congested districts, as they can weave in and outthroughtraffic; they get under way faster, and stop more quickly on account oftheirlight weight; while express service can be run without affecting normaltraffic.

“Motor busses load and unload at the curb -statistics showthat most of the accidents occurring to street car passengers happen astheresult of the passenger being thrown to the street in boarding oralighting,due to the height of the street car steps, or else the person is rundown by anautomobile in going between the curb and the street car in the middleof thestreet. Accidents from both these causes will be practically eliminatedby theuse of the safety coach street car.

“In 1910, the number of passengers carriedby the FifthAvenue Coach Company in New York City was 6,503,175. In 1920 the numberincreased to 42,552,709, a gain of 710 per cent. During these same 11years thepassengers carried on the surface street cars increased only 20 percent. Thetremendous gain of the busses was achieved in spite of the fact thatthe fare wasnearly double that on the street cars.

“Large fleets of motor busses are alsooperating in Chicago,St. Louis, Toronto, Cleveland, Detroit, Tulsa, Baltimore, Pittsburg,and ascore of other cities. Most of them have transfer privileges, and inmanycities the bus systems are operated by the traction companies inconnectionwith their street railway systems.

“The Fageol plant is gathering orders frommany cities wherethe street car systems are in difficulties and extensions cannot bemade. Thesecars are in operation between Oakland and San Jose.”

In 1923 Fageol Motor Co.’s tractormanufacturing assets wereacquired by Horatio W. Smith, a former Fageol production engineer whoresignedfrom the firm in 1920 to take a position as vice-president with H.Clyde Kyle’sNational Axle Co. in San Jose, Calif. Smith subsequently formed GreatWesternMotors, Inc., and from 1923-1925 manufactured small numbers of theFageol 10-15tractor which was rebadged as the Great Western 10-15.

Fageol Motors start the year with a sale toWisconsin’s GrayMotor Stage Line, the January 6, 1923 Janesville Daily Gazettereporting:

“Gray Stage Line Adds $9,000 Bus

“Attractive Car, Well-Equipped, Makes FirstRun to Watertown.

“Because of constantly increasing business,the Gray Motor StageLines have added a new bus, which arrived from Oakland, Cal., Wednesdayand hasbeen put into operation, on the motor route between Janesville andWatertown,making three trips a day.

“The bus is designed for comfort, safety,and is attractivein appearance.

“Costing $8,000 at the Oakland factory ofFageol-Scott-Motors Company, and $9.000 by the time it reached here,the bus isan immense und beautiful car with a wheel-base of 218 inches and a70-inch axlelength. It has capacity for 23 people and is outfitted with leatherseats, eachholding four people. The interior is upholstered in brown leather, haselectriclights and a heater, which, with the heavy springs, give the comfort ofarailroad car. It is equipped with plate glass windows. The outside isdone inlight blue, with a streak of white about the body. The center ofgravity is solow that it is said the bus can make a right angle corner, loaded, at45 milesper hour, with safety.

“The new bus has been christened the ‘BlueGoose’. It madeits first run Thursday night. Others similar will be added to the linelater,Swan Sundstrom, one of the partners says.”

According to the September 2, 1923 SanAntonio Express FourSafety Coaches were sold to a San Antonio operator:

“Fageol Safety Coach Attracting MuchAttention in SanAntonio

“The first Fageol Safety Coach to be seen inSan Antonio,has attracted a great deal of attention here for the past week or 10days.

“W.W. Hicks of Dallas, State distributor,has been givingdemonstrations with this new departure in the way of these new safetycoacheshere.

“The outstanding feature of the Fageolcoach, which ismanufactured in California, is its long, low body, low center ofgravity, speedand wonderful riding ease.

“The coach being shown here, known as ‘MissTexas,’ is 24feet overall, has a 218-inch wheel base and a 70-foot tread. The coachweighs7,000 pounds and the one here has a speed governor attached whichplaces a45-mile an hour limit speed capacity.

“The coach will seat 28 people in additionto the driver andwhen loaded the floor hoards are only 19 inches from the ground. Thecoach ispowered with a four-cylinder Hall-Scott motor, also a Californiaproduct.

“Four of these Fageol coaches are in use onthe run betweenHouston and Galveston, and according to Mr. Hicks, an order hasrecently beenplaced for three mere for the same run. The running cost of thesecoaches issaid to be so low that they can easily compete with cars running onrails.

“The Fageol coach, of which a large numberare already in satisfactoryuse in California, is designed especially for bus work, and is built onspecifications that will enable it to run for 300,000 miles and stillbe ingood shape, provided ordinary care is taken in its operation. The motorwillaverage 12 to 14 miles to the gallon of gasoline.

“The low hung body gives a comfortableswing, quite distinctfrom the pitching and tossing that is characteristic of high-bodiedvehicles.The long wheel base, with the rear axle under the back seat, eliminatesthecustomary overhang, with its attendant ‘whipping.’ To this is addedluxury ofextra deep upholstery.”

The Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio was formedjust as the truckmarket collapsed due to the postwar recession of 1920-21. Howeverthingsimproved during 1922 and in 1923, Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio leased theformerThomart Motor Co. factory in Kent, Ohio for use as their Easternassemblyplant. The West Main St. plant began assembling the firm’s popularSafetyCoach, using locally-built coachwork and chassis shipped from the WestCoast tothe tune of 30-40 vehicles per month at its peak. The September 2, 1923OaklandTribune reporting:

“Units Of Autos Made Here Finished In East

“Truck and Bus Frames Constructed inCalifornia And BodiesAdded.

“California is now building transportationunits for Easterncities, building the chassis and motors here, sending them East, andthe bodiesare there placed on the machines.

“This is the word received from the FageolMotor Companyhere.

“The Fageol Motor Company of Ohio wasorganized in 1920, butlittle was done with it until this year, when it again became active.GordonLee, formerly chief of the automotive division of the United StatesDepartmentof Commerce, has been appointed general manager. Frank Fageol of thiscity isnow in Cleveland arranging details of the deal and preparing to startproduction.

“The company will have a plant somewhere inthe East,possibly in Cleveland, where bus bodies will be built. The chassis willbebuilt in the Fageol plant here and shipped East.

“Many completed buses, of the safety coachtype have beenshipped East so far, and the factory officials found it advisable toassemble the chassis here and ship them to the body-building plant andthereplace the bodies on.”

Fageol Motors Co. placed the followingdisplay advertisementin the November 11, 1923 issue of the Oakland Tribune:

"May we also call your attention to thepublicity thatthis one product is securing for Oakland? Among: the national and trademagazines which have carried our publicity are the following (22):LiteraryDigest, Scientific American, Popular Mechanics, Forbes, BusTransportation,Electric Railway Journal, Electric Traction, Auto-Body, Motor World,MotorRecord, Motor Life, Motor Transport, Automotive Industries. NationalTaxicaband Motor Bus Journal, Commercial Vehicle, The lumberman, World'sCarriers (England),El Automovile Americano (Latin America), La Hacienda (Latin America),MotorLand, The Radiator, Motor West. This circulation runs into millions.

“And here are facts of this great Oaklandconcern'sproduction, operation and distribution: Present monthly volume ofsales,$250,000; present volume of sales per year, $3,000,000; number ofstates inwhich coaches now operate, 27; per cent of production to date sold eastofMississippi river, 60; per cent of customers during first eighteenmonths whohad ordered additional coaches in that time, 71; number of companies inCalifornia operating Fageol safety coaches, 21; number of companiesoperatingFageol safety conches in the United States, 78; largest number owned byoneoperating company, 21; number of electric railways using Fageol safetycoachfleets, 5; municipal bus lines using Fageol safety coach fleets, 2.”

Fageol’s Southern California distributordisplayed their new‘Observation Coach’ at the 1924 Los Angeles Auto Show, the November 30,1923 WinslowMail reporting:

“Observation Parlor Car Attracts Notice atShow

“An exhibit that attracted more than passinginterest at theEleventh Annual Los Angeles Motor Show was the big Observation ParlorCar modelof the Fageol Safety Coach exhibited by H. J. Ruddle, SouthernCaliforniaFageol Distributor.

“This particular model represents what isprobably thelatest and most advanced type of motorbus construction, and althoughbut arecent development of the Fageol Motors Company, it is already beingused by alarge number of fleet operators throughout the country. Delivery hasjust beenmade of six of these busses to the Chicago, Milwaukee and North ShoreRailroadfor use on their feeder lines.

“‘The Observation Parlor Car model’, saysMr. Ruddle, ‘hasbeen developed to meet two definite needs - first, for a large capacitycoachthat will enable the operator to offer a service of extreme luxury andcater toa high class patronage, and, second, to provide a type of Motor vehiclewithwhich it is possible, to develop the field of long distance tourswithoutfatigue to the passenger, a factor which has, up to this time, been astumblingblock in furthering motorbus development.’

“The model exhibited is a 6-cylinder model -mounted on astandard Fageol Safety Coach chassis, providing every fundamental forcomfortand safety. The motor is a Fageol-Hall-Scott motor, capable ofdeveloping amplepower and is an adaptation of the principles of the famous LibertyMotors usedin airplanes.

“In addition to every possible refinement inbodyconstruction and finish, including heavy plate glass observationwindows, thereare individual wicker chairs with double spring deck upholstery andadjustablebacks which provide accommodation for twenty four passengers.

“The bus is equipped with GoodyearAll-Weather Tread Cordtires with duals on the rear. In this connection it is interesting tonote thatGoodyear tires are equipment on a large number of the motorbusesoperatingthroughout the country and are used in such large fleets as the FifthAvenueCoach Company, Motor Transit Company, Detroit Motorbus Company, ChicagoMotorbus Company, as well as the huge fleets of the sightseeing carsand bussesoperating in the Yosemite, Grand Canyon, and Yellowstone NationalParks.

“Another point of interest is the fact thatboth the FageolObservation Parlor Car bus and the Goodyear tires with which it isequipped areCalifornia products, the bus having been manufactured in the Fageolfactoriesat Oakland and the tires in the big factories of Goodyear at LosAngeles.”

Little news was forthcoming from eitherFageol organizationduring 1924 save for a notice that a California banking syndicate hadacquiredan option to purchase the firm and their engine supplier, Hall-ScottMotor CarCo.

The 1925 edition of Walker's manual of FarWesterncorporations & securities lists the corporate makeup of the firmcirca1924:

“Fageol Motors Company - Authorized $500,000

“Organized under the laws of Cal., Nov. 20,1916.Manufacturersautomobile trucks andcoaches at Oakland, Cal. Owns* Fageol Motors Company of Californialocated inKent, Ohio, which company acts as distributor for Fageol Motors Companyin allterritory east of the Rock Mountains, and the Fageol Motor SalesCompany, aCalifornia corporation organized as a selling company located atSeattle.,Wash.Officers— L. H. Bill, Pres.; &Treas.; F. R. Fageol, 1st Vice-Pres.; W. B. Fageol, 2nd Vice-Pres.;Webb Jay,3rd Vice-Pres.; J. H. Fort, Sec; F. J. Wuepper, Asst. Sec. Directors—L. H.Bill, Robt. Dalziel, Jr., F.R. Fageol, W.B. Fageol, J.H. Fort, ArnoldHaase,Stuart S. Hawley, Webb Jay, Charles H. Wood. Head Office – 107thAve& Hollywood Blvd., Oakland, Cal.”

(* an error, the Ohio firm was corporatelyunrelated to theCalifornia firm although the two firms shared some officers anddirectors.)

As the sales of interurbans and streetcarsstarted todecline in the early 1920s two major Eastern rail- and street-carmanufacturersbecame interested in acquiring stock in the motor coach manufacturingindustry. Officers of the American Car andFoundryCo. of St. Louis, Missouri, and the J.G. Brill Company of Philadelphia,Pennsylvania, hoped to acquire control of the Hall-Scott Motor Car Co.and theFageol companies of California and Ohio in order to obtain anintegrated busmanufacturing business.

On May 5, 1924 Samuel M. Curwen, presidentof the J.G. BrillCompany, convinced its board of directors to commit to a $100,000investment inFageol, purchasing 1,000 shares of Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio common and1,400shares of Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio preferred. The purchase wassuggested byDay & Zimmermann, a Philadelphia-based engineering consultancy thathadalso made an investment in the firm - believing their designs superiortocompeting firms. Brill also purchased a significantly smaller amount ofWhiteMotor Co. stock at about the same time as their Kulhman subsidiaryalreadysupplied the firm with motor-bus coachwork.

The investment was not Brill’s firstinvolvement with theautomobile industry. In 1904 they constructed 10 furniture lorries fora NewYork customer and since that time Brill and its subsidiaries (inparticularKulhman) had constructed small numbers of van and bus bodies for theirnumerousrail transportation customers.

Curwen stated that he 'had been in touchwith what Mr.Fageol had been doing for over two years and … felt that the Fageol buswasattracting more favorable comment...than any other at thistime.'

In August of 1924 Hall-Scott and Fageol ofCalifornia hadgiven a bankers' syndicate a one-year option to purchase their assetsor acontrolling interest in their stock. No action was taken and on August8, 1925the option expired.

William H. Woodin, the president of AmericanCar & FoundryCompany, had been thinking along the same lines as Curwen and when helearnedthat Fageol and Hall-Scott’s shares were about to be available, hedeveloped acomplicated scheme to acquire a controlling interest in the two firms.

On May 5, 1925 J.G. Brill Co. acquired acontrollinginterest in the Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio which put it in asignificantlybetter bargaining position with ACF’s Woodin, who wanted to buy all ofFageol’soperations.

Woodin and Curwen discussed the matterduring June of 1925 anda plan was consummated whereby American Car & Foundry and Brillwouldcombine their assets and put a deal together where they would controlbothHall-Scott and the California and Ohio branches of Fageol. The complextransaction would result in the end of Brill’s autonomy but Curwenbelieved theresulting scheme was not only in the Brill Company’s best interest, butwas inthe best interests of its stockholders as well.

A surprising number of Fageol buses and buschassis weredelivered to Australian rail and surface transport operators due to theeffortsof Fageol’s sales manager J.H. Fort. The arrival of the first SafetyBus to thecontinent was announced in the December 3, 1924 issue of the AdelaideRegister:

“Luxurious Fageol Bus To Be Landed on Friday.

“The attention of the public is being forcedmore and moreon to the question of motor transport, and as the private motor car hasbeengreatly improved and developed during the past few years, so is thepublicmotor bus being developed. On Tuesday the writer was informed by theSouthAustralian agent for Republic and Fageol trucks, (Mr. F. B. Frinsdorf)that therewould arrive in Adelaide by the Melbourne express on Thursday morning,theAmerican representative of the Fageol truck (Mr. J. H. Fort) whosemission was toplace that vehicle on the South Australian market. The first Fageolproductionto arrive in this State would be landed at Port Adelaide by the steamerEchuca onFriday morning, after which it would be assembled in readiness for arun to VictorHarbour. The heads of various public utilities and others would beinvited tomake the trip. This vehicle is described as being most luxurious in itsappointments, with seating accommodation for 32 passengers, a speed of60 milesan hour, Westinghouse brakes, Hall-Scott motor, and double springing,so thatthe bus rides equally comfortably with three as with 30 passengers. Thebus isa single-decker, and it is stated that the manufacturers offer a rewardof10,000 dollars to anyone who can capsize it! Mr. Frinsdorf states thatshipments of Republic trucks are due to reach Port Adelaide, inJanuary."

An article in the August 23, 1925 OaklandTribune providing additionaldetails of his lengthy sales trip:

“FAGEOL CO.BIDDINGFOR WORLD TRADE:

“Large Oakland Company Reports Sale toAustralian Railwaysof Fleets of Busses, Parlor Cars, Chassis

“The Oakland, California, plant of theFageol Motors Companyis completing several additions and improvements to its alreadyextensiveplant. A two-story handsome brick administration building is beingcompletedthis week, which will give the executives, office force and engineeringdepartment much larger and commodious quarters. The presentadministration wingof the main building will be changed over into a production department,withoffices for the factory superintendent. A recent survey shows that:

“The production of the Fageol SafetyCoaches, both four andsix cylinders, and also Fageol compound motor trucks in five capacitiesisincreased practically every month, and as compared to last year, is anincreaseof over 100 per cent.

“The greatly increased production makes itnecessary toemploy a large crew of men and Fageol is recognized as being one ofOakland'sforemost home industries.

“The California plant has produced andshipped over 150complete coaches to the Kent, Ohio, plant to far this year to help outthedemands made on the eastern factory, notwithstanding that theproduction atboth the Kent, Ohio, chassis and body plants is being steadilyincreased.

“AUSTRALIAN DEMAND.

“J.H. Fort, secretary and sales manager ofthe Californiacompany, has just returned from an eight months trip to Australia. Fortreportswonderful possibilities in that commonwealth for modern motor busses,especially Fageol safety coaches and he succeeded in selling the firstall-American modern motor coach complete with body, ever seen in thecommonwealth, a fleet of six-cylinder parlor cars to the SouthAustralianRailways, a fleet of street car chassis to the Brisbane Tramway Trust,Queensland a number of chassis to independent operators in Sydney andotherparts of New South Wales and also a fleet of Frisco double-deck bussesto alarge independent operator of Sydney. The first long distance bus runwithmodern equipment, has gone into service between Sydney and the newfederalcapital, 150 miles distant, with Fageol six-cylinder parlor cars,equipped withWestinghouse airbrakes. This equipment is attracting a great deal ofattentionthroughout the commonwealth and is the beginning of an evolution inmotor busequipment there.

“They have consistently turned out a machineof suchefficiency and durability that the last four years has witnessed asteadyincrease in press business from $1,200,000 to approximately $5,000,000.Withthe company firmly established in the field and with an increasingdemand formotor busses, the continued growth of the Fageol company seems assured.

“The prosperous financial condition of theFageol company isreflected in its securities listed on the San Francisco Stock Exchange,leadingthe field of industrial stock for the past several weeks.

“It is interesting to note that thiscompany, whichoriginated on the Pacific coast, has now assumed Internationalproportion inthat its products have been shipped to a number of foreign countriesandrecently created quite a sensation in London. An English motor Journalofrecent issue devoted several pages to a full description of the Fageoldebut InLondon, and it claims it as the acme of the luxurious highwaytransport.”

As the ink was drying on the aforementionednewspaperarticle a simple stock transaction resulted in the purchase of aconsiderableportion of Hall-Scott Motor Car Company stock by Brill and A.C.F.,which wasthe first step in Curwen and Woodin’s four step plan.

On August 29, 1925 the directors of theAmerican Car andFoundry Co. and J.G. Brill Co. agreed to purchase with their own cashreserves 667shares of stock of Hall-Scott Motor Car Co. Out of a total of 1,000shares outstanding(worth approximately $4 million), American Car and Foundry purchase 556sharesand J.G. Brill, 111 shares – the remaining 333 shares remained in thehand ofthird parties which included Hall-Scott’s directors and executives, ofwhich ahandful were directly connected with the Fageol Motors Co.

The remaining stock was held by variousthird parties, whowere offered a substantial amount of money (or stock in ACF) for theirsharesearlier in the month. As the deadline approached an overwhelmingmajority ofthe shareholders approved of the swap and on August 29, 1925 A.C.F. andBrillwere able to acquire approximately 66% of Hall-Scott’s shares. AmericanCar& Foundry spent approximately $2.5 million J.G. Brill contributedabout ahalf million ($500,000).

Step twooccurred onAug. 31, 1925 when the Fageol Motors Company of Ohio purchased theplant andinventories of the Fageol Motors Company of Cal. located at Kent, Ohio.TheFageol Motors Company of Ohio agreed to pay a minimum royalty of$75,000 peryear and a maximum of $300,000 per year for 10 years or until a totalof$3,000,000 has been paid to the Fageol Motors Co. of Cal. The FageolMotors Co.of Ohio also obtained the exclusive rights to the distribution ofFageolproducts east of the Rocky Mountains.

The September 1, 1925 issue of the OaklandTribune reportedon the transaction as follows:

“Giant Motor Merger To Form Here

“Battle for Control of Fageol Company inOakland Has CausedJump of $15 Per Share on Wall Street

“Buying of Stock Seen As Move In Formationof Great Industryin Eastbay and Expansions on Large Scale

“A merger of giant industries, affectingmillions of dollarsinvested in Oakland and foreshadowing future expansions was forecasttoday inthe New York stock market which turned its eyes upon Oakland as thefocal pointfor a battle for control of the Fageol Motor Company of Oakland.

“Fageol common stock jumped to $15 per sharetoday.

“The battle for Fageol, following close uponthe heels ofthe purchase of the Hall-Scott Motor Company of Oakland by the AmericanCar& Foundry Company, is asserted to be another move in the formationof agigantic industry centered in Oakland with millions invested and withfutureexpansion on a large scale.

“HALL-SCOTT DEAL HELD BUT PRELUDE

“The price of the Hall-Scott company at itsrecent purchasewas between $4,000,000 and $5,000,000, half in cash and the other halfin stockof the American Car & Foundry company. As the Fageol company usedmanyHall-Scott motors and had close business connections with that concernand werepractically inter-dependent, it is asserted that the control of theHall-Scottwas but a prelude to the control of the other, making one great concern.

“That there is intense rivalry forparticipation in Oaklandindustry is shown in the feverish movements in the New York stockmarket whereit is asserted that both the American Car & Foundry company and theJ.G.Brill company of Philadelphia, have clashed in competition for thecontrol ofOakland’s motor bus plant.

“The entrance of the Brill company into thefield, it isprophesized, may boost the securities of the Oakland concern evenhigher.

“SEEKING OF LOOSE SHARE PRECIPITATES BATTLE

“The Brill company is known to have made anoffer for theFageol holdings about eight days ago, but was refused. New Yorkdispatchesintimate that this concern may have gone into the market to gather inthe20,000 loose shares said to be available, thus precipitating thebattle.

“Pending final reports, it is admitted thatcontrol of thecompany may have passed in the fluctuations of the buying, but this isdeniedby many.

“The battle for the control of Fageol, it isadmitted, is alogical sequel to the Hall-Scott purchase, and there are rumors thatothervehicular industries, outside the biggest auto corporations, may beinvolved.

“The actual purchase price of Fageol, it isadmitted, wouldbe several hundred thousand dollars, and observers assert that possiblya giantmerger may be under way, involving more than $10,000,000 in Oaklandindustries.”

Step three of the ACF-Brill takeovercommenced on September29, 1925 when J.G. Brill’s board of directors authorized PresidentSamuel M.Curwen to form a holding company with American Car & Foundry Co.whosepurpose was to acquire a controlling interest in Hall-Scott, the FageolMotorsCompany of Ohio, and the corporately unrelated Fageol Motors Company inOakland. A maximum amount was set at $1.5 million which included theprevious$500,000 already spent on Hall-Scott shares one month earlier.

In the midst of the ongoing corporatenegotiations with ACFand Brill, the Fageol brothers lost their beloved father, John. A smallobituary was included in the October 21, 1925 issue of the OaklandTribune:

“FAGEOL — in St. Helena, California. October20, 1925. JohnJ. Fageol, husband of Mary M. Fageol and father of Rollle B.,WilliamB., FrankR., and Claud H. Fageol and Hazel Fageol Martin, and brother of FredFageol,Mrs. Mary Jamison, and Mrs. Lena Wilson. A native of Illinois, aged 70years,11 months, 5 days.

“Funeral services at the chapel of theCalifornia Crematory,4499 Piedmont avenue, Oakland, Thursday, October 23, 1925, at 2:45o'clock p.m. Remains at the chapel of Grant D. Miller, 2372 E. 14th street,Oakland,until 1:30 o'clock p. m., Thursday."

On October 15, 1925 a majority ofoutstanding preferred andcommon stockholders of The Fageol Motors Company, of Ohio, accepted anoffer byJ.G. Brill Co. to exchange their holdings for stock in a newcorporation to beorganized at a later date. However the sale or exchange of the stock ofthecorporately unrelated, but similarly-named firm in Oakland was anothermatterentirely. The November 20, 1925 issue of the Oakland Tribune provideddetailsof the proposed takeover of the Fageol’s Oakland operation:

“FAGEOL STOCK EXCHANGE

“Stockholders of Fageol Motors will receivein a day or sodetails of the plan worked out by American Car and Foundry and J.G.Brill &Company to merge Fageol into a new company which it is reported willyieldstockholders $14 a share of the new securities for each share of commonstock.The plan approval of two-thirds of the stockholders, but it is believedthiswill be forthcoming. A new company, Fageol-Hall-Scott Motor Companywill beformed. It is planned, with capitalization of 100,000 shares of $100par valuepreferred stock and 300,000 shares of no par value common, but which itisexpected will have a market value of $50 a share.

“Stockholders of the present Fageol Companywill receive, itis understood, the full par value of $10 on the common and in additionwill begiven an additional amount of approximately $4 a share for the surplusof thecompany, which is being determined by an auditor at present.

“The stockholders will receive one new shareof $50 commonfor each five shares of $10 common now held and one new share of $100preferredfor each twenty-five shares of common held. This makes the common worth$14 inthe exchange. The preferred stockholders will receive one new share ofpreferred for each ten shares now held at the closing. In the event theproposal is not ratified, the company will receive a royalty from theFageolMotor Company of Ohio on each bus the new company manufactures inasmuchas theFageol of Ohio has ratified the deal, final approval having been givenyesterday.”

Although President Louis H. Bill and mostofficers and directorsof the California branch of Fageol supported the deal, manyOakland-basedshareholders were reluctant to relinquish control of the firm, and thedeal wasnot accepted by the required two-thirds majority. Consequently, FageolMotorsCo. did not take part in the ACF-Brill merger/takeover and remainedunaffectedby the goings-on of the similarly-named firm in the east as did itswholly-owned subsidiary, the Fageol Motor Sales Co.

However ACF & Brill were able to acquire90% of theFageol Motors Co. of Ohio’s shares and on December 23, 1925 step threewascompleted and the American Car and Foundry Motors Company (ACFMotors) wasincorporated in the state of Delaware. Although the new firm did notown anyproperty, it controlled, through stock ownership, the Hall-Scott MotorCar Co.and the Fageol Motors Company of Ohio.

At a meeting of its board of directors onDecember 31, 1925resolutions were passed approving the acquisition by the American CarandFoundry Motors Company of the entire capital stock of the Hall-ScottMotor CarCompany and The Fageol Motors Company from their respectivestockholders inexchange for the issuance to the latter of preferred and common stockof theAmerican Car and Foundry Motors Company.

The fourth, and final step of the ACF-Brilltakeover tookplace on January 26, 1926 when a Delaware holding company named theBrillCorporation was formed for the purpose of acquiring the entire stock oftheAmerican Car & Foundry Motors Co., and the J.G. Brill Company.

Brill Corp.’s American Car & FoundryMotors Co.subsidiary owned 100% of Hall-Scott Motor Car Co. and 90% of FageolMotors Co.of Ohio. ItsJ.G. Brill Co. subsidiaryowned 100% of the American Car Co.; the Kuhlman Car Co.; the Wason Mfg.Co; andCie J.G. Brill.

The January 6, 1926 issue of the OaklandTribune explainedthe recent transactions to their interested readers:

“Hall and Fageol Made Officials of NewConcern

“New York, Jan. 6. — (AP) — The American Carand FoundryMotors Company, which recently was organized to take over control oftheHall-Scott Motor Car Company of Berkeley and the Fageol Motor CompanvofOakland and Fageol Motors Company of Kent, Ohio, today announced thatW.H.Woodin has been named chairman of the board of directors and C.S. Hall,president.

“Colonel E.J. Hall, one of the co-designersof the LibertyAeroplane engine, and head of the Hall-Scott Company, was made avice-presidenttogether with Horace Hager, W.L. Stancliffe, G.R. Scanlon and F.R.Fageol. H.C.Wick is secretary and S.A. Mallette, treasurer.

“The J. G. Brill Company of Philadelphia,builders ofmunicipal railway cars, through its interest in the Hall-Scott andFageolCompanies, is represented on the board of directors by …..”

“F.R. Fageol, noted bus designer andbuilder, isvice-president in charge of sales, with headquarters in New York.”

The February 10, 1926 issue of the OaklandTribune announcedthat:

“Fageol Motors Had Good Year

“Gross sales of Fageol Motors in 1925 were$5,345,688, whileprofits before charges were $546,214, and net profit was $310,124,according tothe report of President L. H. Bill at the annual meeting ofstockholdersyesterday afternoon. Charges included $111,988 for reserve; $65,848 forfederaltaxes, and $37,651 for dividends, including checks mailed this month.Thesurplus as of December 31 last was $511,142. President Bill said thatthecompany's outlook for 1926 on the Pacific coast, Hawaii, Australia andCentralAmerica is promising. He reported that during the last year the companyhadplaced three new models on the market.

“In its contract with American Car &Foundry Fageol willreceive a minimum royalty amounting to $75,000 in 1926, it is reported.Therewere no changes in officers or directors.”

On March 22, 1926 the Associated Pressannounced thatAmerican Car & Foundry Motors was consolidating its bus-buildingoperationsin Detroit:

“Motor Co. Plant To Be In Detroit

“Huge Combine Will Have Central Factory inEastern City

“(Associated Press Leased Wire)

“DETROIT, March 22. - The American Car andFoundry MotorsCompany, combining the resources and staff of the Fageol Motors CompanyofKent, Ohio, and the Hall-Scott Motors Company of Berkeley, is a$24,000,000development, will have its main plant for the manufacture of motorbusses andmotor coaches here, S.C. Sale, president, announced today.

“The American Car and Foundry plant,occupying 45 acreshere, will begin operations at once, building up in 60 days to aschedule of 15completed units dally.

“Col. E. J. Hall, collaborator with Col.Jesse G. Vincent indesigning the Liberty motor, will be vice-president of engineering incharge ofoperations. F.R. Fageol will be vice-president in charge of sales withheadquarters in New York.

“The J.G. Brill & Co. of Philadelphia,builders ofmunicipal railway cars, through its interest in the Hall-Scott andFageolcompanies, is represented in the new organization by its president,S.M.Curwen, who is director and member of the executive committee of theAmericanCar & Foundry Motors Company.”

The news coincided with the placement of afull-pageadvertisement in the Detroit newspapers announcing the firm wascommencingproduction of Fageol Safety Coaches in Detroit.

Apparently American Car & Foundry Motorscontinued theirefforts to acquire the Oakland-based operations of Fageol Motors Co.,the May7, 1926 Associated Press newswire reporting:

“American Car Buys Fageol Motors, Said

“(Associated Press Leased Wire)

“New York, May 7.— Private dispatchesreceived in Wallstreet from San Francisco state the sale of the Fageol Motor Company ofCalifornia to American Car and Foundry again is reported as nearcompletion.Directors of Fageol are understood to have approved an offer forexchange ofstock, a decision on which is expected not later than May 10.”

Once again their efforts failed, the May 13,1926 issue ofthe Oakland Tribune reporting:

“Fageol Motors common sold off 50 cents to$5.50 on strengthof New York reports that American Car and Foundry had turned down itsrecentoffer to sell or combine on a basis of $5.00 for Fageol. This wouldseem tohave concluded the negotiations which have been under way for manymonths andwhich resulted in Fageol going from $3 to $15 a share during someexciting days last fall.”

Fageol announced a new entry in the lighttruck field in theAugust 15, 1926 issue of the Oakland Tribune:

“Oakland Firm Outs New Light Truck On Show

“Fog of mystery, which has completelysurrounded a rumorrecently current that the Fageol Motors Company would come forward witha newtruck, has been suddenly lifted to disclose Fageol's entry into thelight truckfield.

“The Fageol ‘Flyer’, which is announcedtoday and which ison display at the Fageol Motors Company salesrooms, East Twelfth streetat EighthAvenue, is a truck of one to two or more tons capacity and according totheannouncement, marks a radical departure in light truck production inthat it ischaracterized as being of ‘heavy duty design’.

“‘Heavy duty design’, in the words of T.L.Baumgartner,Fageol branch manager, means that the Flyer's, engineering is basedupon thatof Fageol trucks of greater tonnage, thebasic thought underlying its conception being to produce a truck ofunusual strengthand stamina, according to Baumgartner.

“The great strength of the Flyer, as well asits otherqualities, is evidenced by its specifications.

“It is powered by a Waukesha four cylindermotor havinga-four inch bore and five inch stroke and is fitted with the popularRicardohead, the English invention controlled exclusively by the WaukeshaMotorsCompany. This head has as its feature a high turbulence combustionchamberwhich, it is claimed, increases engine power 15 to 20 per cent.Provision for atmosphericvariations is made by a dynamic thermostat –controlled intake manifoldwhichpermits even motor operation under all condition.”

The October 31, 1926 issue of the OaklandTribune announcedFageol’s a plan to construct trucks and buses in Australia:

“Fageol Motors Planning Plant in Australia

“Fageol Motors of Oakland now is conductingnegotiationswith Australian interests looking to the setting up of a plant inAustralia forthe manufactured of Fageol trucks and buses. Fageol proposes to retain50 percent common stock control in the new company, to furnish executive andtechnical experts at a charge of 10 per cent based on earnings, todistributethe preferred and half the common stock in Australia, and to grantrights for allFageol patents, according to Dow Jones & Co.”

Fageol’s balance sheet for 1926 appeared inthe March 21,1927 issue of the Oakland Tribune which also announced a pendinglawsuit withthe Fageol Motors Co. of Ohio:

“Fageol Sales in 1926 Reported at $2,693,586

“Lawsuit to Collect $120,000 for SuppliesFollows Sale ofOhio Plant

“Sales of Fageol Motors Company for 1926 arereported at$2,693,586 and net profit before dividend at $141,394, according to theannualreport of President R. B. Bill.

“Aftermath of the sale of the Ohio Chassisplant atKentfield, Ohio in 1925 to American Car and Foundry Company is alawsuit for$120,000 against Fageol Motors Company of Ohio on alleged failure topay forsupplies delivered.A letter tostockholderstoday contains this account of trouble and of trade prospects generally.

“Our balance sheet shows that after payingour preferreddividends we have added to our surplus some $25,000. We have also setup areserve of $50,000 for lawsuit. This $50.000 was really additionalearningand should rightfully appear in…..We havebeen fortunate in our dealings with American Car and Foundry MotorsCompany whohave refused to pay us for merchandise sold to the Fageol MotorsCompany ofOhio, to the amount of $120.000. We have been compelled to file alawsuitagainst the Fageol Motors Company of Ohio to collect this amount, andfor thepurpose of prosecuting this suit we lm e set up this reserve of $50,000.

“The year 1925 was a difficult one for thiscompany. Sellingthe Ohio bus plant left us with an overstock of merchandise, which hasbeenreduced since then by nearly $500,000. However, there was someshrinkage andalso we had to pay interest to carry this merchandise.

“In the meantime the truck business hasundergone a change,in that the trade demands six-cylinder motors instead of fourcylinders, andthis has necessitated a new layout for each model of truck. Also, thereis adecided demand here for six-wheel trucks for heavy duty service and wehavedeveloped a six-wheel truck of a ten-ton capacity. We have also addedto ourline of trucks a ton and a half model. We expect to resort at the nextannualmeeting that we have increased our sales of trucks from 322 in 1326 to730during 1927.”

ACF’s move to Detroit, announced earlier inthe yearcoincided with Frank R. Fageol’s resignation as vice-president of salesat AmericanCar & Foundry Motors Co., a move that was prompted by the firm’srefusal tobuild his latest coach, a twin-engine flat-floored transit coach hechristenedthe ‘Twin Coach’. Construction of the 43-seat prototype ‘Twin Coach’commencedin the Fageol Motors Co. plant in Oakland and Frank and William Fageolsetabout arranging for the purchase of the now-vacant Fageol Motors Co. ofOhio factorylocated at 789 Stow St., Kent, Ohio from ACF Motors.

In collaboration with Paul H. Brehm, theFageols formed theTwin Coach Co. in January of 1927 with Frank R. Fageol, president;William B.Fageol, vice-president and Paul H. Brehm, secretary-treasurer. Brehm’sfatherwas a well-known Minneapolis truck distributor (Brehm-McMullen Co.) andPaulhad served as manager of the Minneapolis Fageol Safety Coach office.Twin Coach’sformation was announced on April 14, 1927 via the Associated PressNewswire:

“Plans Kent Bus Concern

“Cleveland, O., April 14—(AP) Frank. R.Fageol, whoestablished the Fageol Company in Kent, O., several years ago, whichlater wassold to the American Car and Foundry Company and moved to Detroit,plans to re-establisha bus company In Kent.”

The June 30, 1927 issue of the New YorkTimes reported thatlawsuit between the Oakland, Calif. and Kent, Ohio Fageol operationshad beensettled out of court:

“FAGEOL SUIT SETTLED; Action Against OhioCompany andAmerican Car Canceled.

“The suit instituted by the Fageol MotorsCompany againstthe Fageol Motors Company of Ohio and the American Car and FoundryMotorsCompany has been cancelled and an amicable settlement has been effectedby L.H.Bill, President of the Fageol Motors Company, it was announcedyesterday. Thestatement adds that the amounts due the Fageol Motors Company, as wellas pastdue royalties, are being paid, and that the company has allowed asatisfactoryamount to take care of field service.

“The agreement between the Fageol MotorsCompany and theOhio Company called for a minimum annual royalty of $75,000 and amaximum of$300,000, until such time as $3,000,000 in royalties had been paid totheparent company.

“For the last eight months negotiations havebeen underwaywith the American Car and Foundry Motors Company, which has acquiredall thestock of the Ohio Company. The proposal of the purchasing companycontemplatedthe exchange of the securities of the parent company for the securitiesof theAmerican Car and Foundry Motors Company, no cash consideration beinginvolved.”

On July 31, 1927, a little more than sixmonths after theformation of the firm, the first prototype Twin Coach rolled out of theoldFageol Motors Co. factory in Oakland.Twenty-five orders were receivedin a short time andwithin the year thefirm had delivered several hundred of the new vehicles.

The rest of the Twin Coach story is located onthe Twin Coach page.

In 1928 Charles C. Pyle, the legendarysports promoter,agent and huckster, sponsored a coast-to-coast foot race with $48,500in prizesto be awarded the top finishers, with the winner getting $25,000 of thetotal.Accompanying the 275 entrants was Pyle’s travelling P.T. Barnum-stylesideshowfrom which Pyle hoped to make his profit. Pyle outlined his businessplan asfollows:

“It will be the greatest free show everoffered the Americanpublic. The runners will go through hundreds of towns, each of whichwill beassessed for advertising. Thousands will flock to these towns to seetherunners. We'll sell them programs and tickets to our traveling sideshow.”

Pyle chose a luxuriously appointeddouble-deck Fageol SafetyCoach for his travelling headquarters which was outfitted with a mobilebroadcast studio to keep the public abreast of progress of thecontestants. Thecoach was outfitted with reclining blue mohair chairs that convertedinto beds,a lavatory and shower, a kitchen with a sink, stove and refrigerator,and amobile office with a collapsible table, writing desk, phonograph andradio set.The rear sleeping compartment was fitted with two double Pullman-styleconvertible seats that slept four. The open second-floor observationplatformwas fitted with a windscreen and transformable awning with seating forsix aswell and compartments that held the water and propane tank that fueledtheon-board stove, refrigerator and water heater.

The March 1928 issue of Bus Age describedthe reportedly$25,000 coach, which was christened ‘America’ as a: “De Luxe TravelingCoach”with “complete transportation, sleeping, bathing, eating, and toiletfacilitiesfor fourteen people.” A second Twin Coach motor coachaccompaniedthe first, upon which rode the numerous ‘race officials’ and‘reporters’ thataccompanied the runners who spent each night in a travelling tent citythataccompanied the side-show caravan.

The side show component of Pyle’s ‘BunionDerby’ failed toturn a profit and the ‘Most Stupendous Athletic Accomplishment in AllHistory’lost a reported $150,000.

Back in California, the Depression caught upwith FageolMotors Co. Despite the firm’s well-earned reputation for buildingrugged,reliable trucks, it was forced to file for bankruptcy in 1929. Barelystayingafloat for the next two years, they went into receivership in 1932. TheOaklandTribune reported that G. H. Gilbert has been appointed temporaryreceiver ofboth the Fageol Motors Company, and its subsidiary, the FageolMotor SalesCompany of San Francisco, Calif., on a petition filed in the federalcourt by theWaukesha Motor Co. and the Central Bank of Oakland.

The Waukesha Motor Co. and the Central Bankof Oaklandoperated Fageol from 1932 until 1938 when its assets were purchased bySterling, who flipped the property and operation to T.A. Peterman, alogger andplywood manufacturer from Tacoma, Wash. Peterman had been rebuildingsurplusarmy trucks and modifying old logging trucks for use in his business.By 1938,his lumber operations had expanded beyond the capabilities of hisfleet. So hepurchased the Fageol assets in order to build custom chain drivelogging trucks.

In November 1938, Sterling Motors acquiredmost of Fageol’sassets from Waukesha in order to get a foothold in the northernCalifornia andPacific Northwest heavy truck market.Seattle’s Fageol Motor Sales Co.,717 Dexter Ave., becamethe region’sSterling distributor and a metro San Francisco Sterling showroom andgarage wassubsequently established at 470 Bayshore Dr. in San Francisco.

Sterling wasn’t interested in the Oaklandfactory complexwhich was subsequently acquired from Waukesha by T.A. Peterman, awealthyTacoma, Washington-based lumber dealer and hauler.

“Sterling Buys Fageol Truck Division

“Sterling Motors Corp. has acquired theassets of the truckdivision of the Fageol Truck & Coach Co. A Sterling factory branchwill beopened at 470 Bayshore Boulevard, San Francisco, about February 1st.”

A lumber magnate from Tacoma, Wash., namedT.A. Petermancame to the company's rescue. He purchased Fageol in April 1939 tobuild achain-driven logging truck. Two units were built and neither worked,butregular trucks continued to be made and to sell well, and soon, theywererenamed 'Peterbilt.' Tradition has it that the ‘bilt’ half stemmingfrom the‘Bill-bilt’ moniker that was sometimes connected with the Fageoltrucks, theBill referring to the firm’s longtime president Louis H. Bill.

After 1927 the Fageol family had nocorporate or personalrelationship with American Car & Foundry Motors Co. A short historyofACF/Brill activities follows.

Although for all intents and purposesAmerican Car &Foundry and Brill had been operating as a cohesive unit for well over adecade,the collapse of the firm’s rail and interurban business prompted rumorsof aconsolidation in late 1940, the December 8, 1940 edition of the OaklandTribunereporting:

“Amer. Car-Brill Merger Proposed

“NEW YORK, Dec. 7.—Stockholders of BrillCorporation and AmericanCar & Foundry Motors Company have been called to a special meetingJanuary8 to act on a merger plan recommended by directors. Charles J. Hardy,presidentof each company, announced today. Brill Corporation will be thesurvivingconcern, according to the plan.

“The proposal contemplates that BrillCorporation willbecome an operating company with manufacturing activities centered inPennsylvania and, through its holding of Hall-Scott Motor Car Companystock,also a holding company.

“At present American Car & FoundryMotors Companycontrols Hall-Scott Motor and is in turn controlled by the BrillCorporation.American Car & Foundry Company owns about 65 per cent of the classB votingstock of the Brill Corporation.”

The merger wasn’t accomplished until 1944,the July 16, 1944Oakland Tribune reporting:

“A.C.F.-Brill Offer Stock

“Philadelphia, July 15. – (AP) – TheA.C.F.-Brill MotorsCompany, N.Y., registered today with the Securities and ExchangeCommission280,138 shares of $2.50 par value common stock to be offered at $12.50pershare to warrant holders prior to 1950 and at $15 between 1950 and1955.

“Warrants are to be issued to holders of ‘B’stock of theBrill Corporation and to common stockholders of American Car andFoundry MotorsCompany.

“Merger Agreement

“The new company formed under a June 19agreement betweenAmerican Car & Foundry Motors Company and the Brill Corporation,owns nophysical properties but is the sole stockholder of its operatingcompanies –the F.G. Brill Company, Philadelphia; the A.C.F. Motors Company;Hall-ScottMotor Car Company, Berkeley, Calif., and the Fageol Motors Company,manufacturers of trolley coaches, steel metal pressings and engines.

“American Car and Foundry Company and asubsidiary, AmericanCar and Foundry Investment Corporation, will own about 45 per cent ofthecommon stock under the merger agreement, exclusive of the 280,138sharesregistered for purchase on the exercise of warrants. American car andFoundryInvestment will also he issued warrants for 178,072 shares of commonstockunder the merger agreement. A total of 1,250,000 shares are authorizedto beissued.

Officers of the Firm:

“Officers of the company are Charles J.Hardy, New York,chairman of the board; Ronald L. Monroe, Philadelphia, president;Lester A.Blackford, New York, vice-president, and K. L. Oerter, Philadelphia,secretaryand treasurer.”

Ripe with cash from massive wartimecontracts, ConslidatedVultee Aircraft Corp. purchased a controlling interest in A.C.F.-Brillin early1946, the February 1, 1946 of the Altoona Mirror announcing:

“Consolidated Purchases Brill And Subsidiary

“NEW YORK, Feb. 1.—Consolidated VulteeAircraft corporation,announced today it has purchased controlling interest in A.C.F.-BrillMotorscompany, Philadelphia, and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Hall-ScottMotorcompany, Berkeley, Calif., from the American Car and Foundry companyfor about$7,600,000 cash.

“Irving E. Babcock, chairman ofConsolidated, said thepurchase is part of a post-war diversification move by the company, oneof thenation's largest producers of Aircraft.

“Consolidated will acquire from American Car445,139 of the962,378 common shares outstanding of A.C.F.-Brill, and 160,464 warrantsof280,044, outstanding. Each warrant carries the right to purchase onecommonshare at $12.50 to Jan. 1, 1960, and $15 to Jan. 1, 1955.

“Babcock, who is expected to become chairmanof Brill, hasbeen engaged in motor truck and bus production for more thantwenty-five years.Until a year ago, he was president of Yellow Truck and CoachManufacturingcompany and a vice president of General Motors corporation.

“Ronald R. Monroe, president of Brill, willcontinue in thatcapacity, Babcock said.

“Brill is currently building two models ofbuses, one forcity – and the other for inter-city operation.

“The company's backlog of unfilled orders issaid to be morethan $50,000,000. Plant facilities include 804,000 square feet of spaceon 29acres of ground in Philadelphia.

“Brill has a license agreement with CanadianCar and Foundrycompany, whereby the latter produces Brill designs for the Canadianmarket.American Car and Foundry, in divesting itself of all interest in Brill,willnot manufacture buses or trolley coaches for city operation, or buses,forinter-city operation, Babcock said.

“The Hall-Scott, company, at Berkeley,Calif., produces bus,marine and industrial engines. Babcock said surplus plant capacity oftheaircraft company may be used to augment Brill's facilities.”

The February 2, 1946 issue of the Oaklandprovided detailsof the acquisition which directly affected the operations of theHall-ScottMotor Car Co. in nearby Berkeley, Calif.:

“Hall-Scott Motor Car Company out inBerkeley which hasbuilt truck and marine engines for a good any years was sold toConsolidatedVultee Aircraft Corporation the other day for $7,500,000. The purchasepriceincludes the controlling interest in the A.C.F.-Brill Motors Company ofPhiladelphia of which Hall-Scott is a subsidiary.

“Both the Berkeley and the Philadelphiacompanies were ownedby the American Car and Foundry Company. A.C.F.-Brill is one of thelargestUnited States manufacturers of motor busses, trolley coaches, andspecializedengines.

“The purchase marks the first entrance by amajor aircraftcompany into the field of automotive surface transportation.Consolidated, asso many of you guys know, built the now famous PBY ‘Cats’ which didsuch yeomanduty during the war. Consolidated-Vultee also built many other types ofheavyaircraft for such duties as anti-sub patrol, training andreconnaissance, andArmy and Navy bombardment craft. Somewhere in the group are the famousB-24‘Liberators’.

“It is expected that Vultee will beginproducing buses alongwith other types of heavy equipment shortly.”

© 2013 Mark Theobald for coachbuilt.com

Appendix - Fageol brothers patents:

Automobile - US675379 - Grant - Filed Sep11, 1900 - IssuedJune 4, 1901 – Rollie B. Fageol

Crude Petroleum Burner - US719573 Grant -Filed Apr 18, 1902- Issued Feb 3, 1903 - R.B. Fageol

Inclined Suspended Railway - US817699 Grant- Filed Nov 28,1903 - Issued Apr 10, 1906 - R.B. Fageol

Pleasure Railway - US927517 Grant - FiledFeb 10, 1908 -Issued Jul 13, 1909 – Frank R. Fageol

Manufactured of Filled Bumpers - US1189675Grant - Filed Sep5, 1911 - Issued Jul 4, 1916 – R.B. Fageol

Vehicle - US1160499 - Grant - Filed Jan 5,1915 - Issued Nov16, 1915 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle Body - USD47287 - Grant - Filed Jan5, 1915 - IssuedMay 4, 1915 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle - US1212616 - Grant - Filed Jul 26,1915 - IssuedJan 16, 1917 - R.B. Fageol

Transportation System - US1219276 - Grant -Filed Jul 26,1915 - Issued Mar 13, 1917 - R.B. Fageol

Amusement device for bathers - US1190743 -Grant - Filed Aug17, 1915 - Issued Jul 11, 1916 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle Body - USD48778 - Grant - Filed Dec28, 1915 -Issued Mar 28, 1916 - R.B. Fageol

Flexible Vehicle - US1226958 - Grant - FiledJan 3, 1916 -Issued May 22, 1917 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle Body - USD48968 - Grant - Filed Feb15, 1916 -Issued May 2, 1916 - R.B. Fageol

Flexible Road Train - US1226962 - Grant -Filed Jul 25, 1916- Issued May 22, 1917 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle Body - USD49959 - Grant - Filed Sep12, 1916 -Issued Nov 28, 1916 - R.B. Fageol

Tread for Tractor Wheels - US1268445 - Grant- Filed Apr 16,1917 - Issued Jun 4, 1918 – R.B. Fageol & Charles A. Smith

Automobile Radiator - USD50270 - Grant -Filed Sep 21, 1916- Issued Feb 6, 1917 – Frank R. Fageol

Automobile Hood - USD51492 - Grant - FiledJun 20, 1917 -Issued Nov 20, 1917 - Frank R. Fageol

Bumper for Motor Vehicles - US1329517 -Grant - Filed Nov 9,1917 - Issued Feb 3, 1920 – R.B. Fageol

Coupling for Vehicles - US1407019 - Grant -Filed May 26,1919 - Issued Feb 21, 1922 - R.B. Fageol

Power Transmission Gear Mechanism - -US1463389 - Grant -Filed Dec 15, 1920 - Issued Jul 31, 1923 – William B. Fageol

Automobile Bumper - US1427275 - Grant -Filed Mar 31, 1921 -Issued Aug 29, 1922 - R.B. Fageol

Motor Vehicle - US1660189 - Grant - FiledMay 18, 1921 -Issued Feb 21, 1928 - R.B. Fageol assigned to Eight-Wheel Motor VehicleCo.

Motor Vehicle & Fender Assembly -USD59728 - Grant -Filed May 26, 1921 - Issued Nov 22, 1921- R.B. Fageol

Torqueing Arrangement for Tandem-axleVehicles - US1739355 -Grant - Filed Nov 2, 1921 - Issued Dec 10, 1929 - R.B. Fageol assignedtoEight-Wheel Motor Vehicle Co.

Road Vehicle - US1660188 - Grant - Filed Nov2, 1921 -Issued Feb 21, 1928 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle - US1763767 - Grant - Filed Jan 20,1922 - IssuedJun 17, 1930 - R.B. Fageol

Automobile Body - US1452369 - Grant - FiledFeb 16, 1922 -Issued Apr 17, 1923 – Frank R. Fageol

Bumper Mounting - US1500380 - Grant - FiledJan 31, 1923 -Issued Jul 8, 1924 - R.B. Fageol

Bumper For Automobiles - US1482226 - Grant -Filed Jan 31,1923 - Issued Jan 29, 1924 - R.B. Fageol

Clamping Device for Automobile Bumpers -US1519399 - Grant -Filed Apr 10, 1923 - Issued Dec 16, 1924 - R.B. Fageol assigned toAmericanChain Co.

Road Vehicle - USRE17889 - Grant - Filed Apr23, 1923 -Issued Dec 2, 1930 - R.B. Fageol - assigned to Eight-Wheel MotorVehicle Co.(re-issue)

Automobile Brake - US1633776 - Grant - FiledJun 18, 1923 -Issued Jun 28, 1927 – William B. Fageol assigned to Rollie B. Fageol

Tandem Drive Axle - US1933667 - Grant -Filed Sep 25, 1923 -Issued Nov 7, 1933 - R.B. Fageol assigned to Eight-Wheel Motor VehicleCo.

Resilient Radiator Shield - US1628131 -Grant - Filed Oct15, 1923 - Issued May 10, 1927 - R.B. Fageol

Motor Vehicle - US1947337 - Grant - FiledFeb 11, 1925 -Issued Feb 13, 1934 - R.B. Fageol assigned to Automotive EngineeringCorp.

Automobile End Fender - US1581432 - Grant -Filed Feb 18,1925 - Issued Apr 20, 1926 – R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Combined Fender Guard and Bumper - US1595390- Grant - FiledFeb 18, 1925 - Issued Aug. 10, 1926 – R.B. Fageol assigned to AmericanChainCo.

Bumper for Automobiles - US1595391 - Grant -Filed Feb 18,1925 - Issued Aug 10, 1926 – R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Fender Guard - US1637770 - Grant - Filed Feb18, 1925 -Issued Aug 2, 1927 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Design For A scooter - USD71011 Grant -Filed Mar 3, 1925 -Issued Sep 7, 1926 - R.B. Fageol

Parallel Bar Bumper - US1623583 - Grant -Filed Jun 3, 1925- Issued Apr 5, 1927 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Vehicle Bumper - USD67952 - Grant - FiledJun 3, 1925 -Issued Aug 11, 1925 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Bumper Tip - US1678853 - Grant - Filed Jun10, 1925 - IssuedJul 31, 1928 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Multibar Bumper - US1620334 - Grant - FiledJun 10, 1925 -Issued Mar 8, 1927 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Multiple Wheel Road Vehicle - US1871432 -Grant - Filed Jun11, 1925 - Issued Aug 9, 1932 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Vehicle Body - USD74261 - Grant - Filed Jul22, 1925 -Issued Jan 17, 1928 - R.B. Fageol

Spring Vehicle - US1727759 - Grant - FiledMar 8, 1926 -Issued Sep 10, 1929 - R.B. Fageol

Toy Vehicle - US1679819 - Grant - Filed Mar17, 1926 -Issued Aug 7, 1928 - R.B. Fageol

Convertible Wagon and Sled - US1654284 -Grant - Filed Aug9, 1926 - Issued Dec 27, 1927 - R.B. Fageol

Child’s Spring Vehicle - US1704315 - Grant -Filed Aug 9,1926 - Issued Mar 5, 1929 - R.B. Fageol

Bumper - US1723774 - Grant - Filed Apr 27,1927 - Issued Aug6, 1929 - R.B. Fageol assigned to American Chain Co.

Snubber For Vehicle Springs - US1771560 -Grant - Filed Sep14, 1927 - Issued Jul 29, 1930 - R.B. Fageol

Vehicle Snubber and Spring Suspension -US1781631 - Grant -Filed Oct 11, 1927 - Issued Nov 11, 1930 - R.B. Fageol

Rail Car - US1883357 - Grant - Filed May 29,1928 - IssuedOct 18, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Multi-wheel Road Vehicle - US1913799 - Grant- Filed Sep 27,1928 - Issued Jun 13, 1933 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Rail Car Construction - US1880953 - Grant -Filed Feb 13,1929 - Issued Oct 4, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Multi-wheel Road Vehicle - US1981449 - Grant- Filed Mar 18,1929 - Issued Nov 20, 1934 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Multi-wheel Road Vehicle - US1981593 - Grant- Filed Jun 3,1929 - Issued Nov 20, 1934 - R.B. Fageol

Multiwheel Twin-Motor Road Vehicle -US1973144 - Grant -Filed Jul 18, 1929 - Issued Sep 11, 1934 – William B. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Dual Drive Road Vehicle - US1992365 - Grant- Filed Aug 3,1929 - Issued Feb 26, 1935 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Multi-wheel Road Vehicle - US2006800 - Grant- Filed Aug 3,1929 - Issued Jul 2, 1935 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Low Bed Delivery Truck - US2018443 - Grant -Filed Aug 28,1929 - Issued Oct 22, 1935 – William B. Fageol

Motor Coach - US1861001 - Grant - Filed Oct18, 1929 -Issued May 31, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Internal Combustion Engine - US1887998 -Grant - Filed Oct21, 1929 - Issued Nov 15, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to TwinCoach Co.

Universal Joint - US1932400 - Grant - FiledNov 7, 1929 -Issued Oct 31, 1933 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Device for Interconnecting Axles - US1936834- Grant - FiledDec 3, 1929 - Issued Nov 28, 1933 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineering Corp.

Dual Drive Multiwheel Road Vehicle -US1949830 - Grant -Filed Dec 5, 1929 - Issued Mar 6, 1934 - R.B. Fageol assigned toAutomotiveEngineering Corp.

Traction Regulating Means for MultiwheelRoad Vehicles -US1926273 - Grant - Filed Dec 7, 1929 - Issued Sep 12, 1933 - R.B.Fageolassigned to Automotive Engineering Corp.

Multiwheel Road Vehicle - US1924984 - Grant- Filed Dec 12,1929 - Issued Aug 29, 1933 - R.B. Fageol assigned to AutomotiveEngineeringCorp.

Multiwheel Vehicle of the Tandem Axle Type -US1926274 -Grant - Filed Apr 26, 1930 - Issued Sep 12, 1933 - R.B. Fageol assignedtoAutomotive Engineering Corp.

Cooling System For Self-Propelled Vehicles -US1969172 -Grant - Filed Sep 6, 1930 - Issued Aug 7, 1934 – Frank R. Fageolassigned toTwin Coach Co.

Sealing Device - US1931724 - Grant - FiledSep 23, 1930 -Issued Oct 24, 1933 - R.B. Fageol & William E. Leibing

Electrically Driven Road Vehicle and Methodof OperatingSame - US1972333 - Grant - Filed Oct 16, 1930 - Issued Sep 4, 1934 –William B.Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Railway Rolling Stock - US1916470 - Grant -Filed Oct 20,1930 - Issued Jul 4, 1933 – Frank R. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Passenger Carrying Motor Vehicle - US1861002- Grant - FiledNov 8, 1930 - Issued May 31, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to TwinCoachCo.

Fuel Control Apparatus - US1982049 - Grant -Filed Mar 20,1931 - Issued Nov 27, 1934 – Robley D. Fageol assigned to LeibingAutomotiveDevices Inc.

Flexible Guard for Road Vehicles - US1825344- Grant - FiledApr 1, 1931 - Issued Sep 29, 1931 – William B. Fageol assigned to TwinCoachCo.

Motor Vehicle - USD84576 - Grant - Filed May7, 1931 -Issued Jul 7, 1931 – Frank R. Fageol & William B. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Fruit Juice Extracting Press - US2010629 -Grant - Filed Jun15, 1931 - Issued Aug 6, 1935 – R.B. Fageol & Huston Taylor

Motor Vehicle Control - US2003431 - Grant -Filed Aug 21,1931 - Issued Jun 4, 1935 - William B. Fageol

Headlight Mounting For Motor Vehicles -US2007599 - Grant -Filed Sep 22, 1931 - Issued Jul 9, 1935 - William B. Fageol assigned toTwinCoach Co.

Trackless Trolley Vehicle - US1988073 -Grant - Filed Oct23, 1931 - Issued Jan 15, 1935 - William B. Fageol assigned to TwinCoach Co.

Motor Vehicle - USD87875 - Grant - Filed Nov3, 1931 -Issued Oct 4, 1932 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Vehicle Drive and Control Mechanism -US2097391 - Grant -Filed Dec 16, 1931 - Issued Oct 26, 1937 - William B. Fageol assignedtoDivco-Twin Truck Co.

Dumping Vehicle - US1996540 - Grant - FiledApr 15, 1932 -Issued Apr 2, 1935 - William B. Fageol & Frank R. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Road Vehicle Body Frame - US2039215 - Grant- Filed May 3,1932 - Issued Apr 28, 1936 – William B. Fageol assigned to Twin CoachCo.

Pneumatic Tire Combination Rail and HighwayUnit - US2027684- Grant - Filed May 26, 1932 - Issued Jan 14, 1936 – William B. Fageolassignedto Twin Coach Co.

Carburetor - US2034048 - Grant - Filed Sep28, 1932 - IssuedMar 17, 1936 – William E. Leibing & Robley D. Fageol assigned toLeibingAutomotive Devices Inc.

Pneumatic-Tired Highway and Rail Vehicle -US2140421 - Grant- Filed Nov 14, 1933 - Issued Dec 13, 1938 – William B. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Motor Vehicle - USD91556 - Grant - Filed Dec20, 1933 -Issued Feb 20, 1934 - William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Universal Joint Construction - US2025502 -Grant - Filed Jan29, 1934 - Issued Dec 24, 1935 - William B. Fageol assigned toTwin CoachCo.

Unit Section Automotive Vehicle - US2128930- Grant - FiledMay 18, 1934 - Issued Sep 6, 1938 - Frank R. Fageol & William B.Fageol;one-fifth assigned to Strauch & Hoffman (William A. Strauch &James A.Hoffman, attorneys)

Motor Vehicle and Vehicle Power and DriveMechanism -US2083059 - Grant - Filed Jun 5, 1934 - Issued Jun 8, 1937 - William B.Fageolassigned to Twin Coach Co.

Motor Vehicle and Vehicle Driving Mechanism- US2118810 -Grant - Filed Apr 6, 1935 - Issued May 31, 1938 - William B. Fageolassigned toTwin Coach Co.

Driving Mechanism - US2118811 - Grant -Filed Apr 9, 1935 -Issued May 31, 1938 - William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Driving Mechanism - US2118812 - Grant -Filed Apr 9, 1935 -Issued May 31, 1938 - William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Cooling Apparatus for Automotive Vehicles -US2123991 -Grant - Filed Jan 14, 1936 - Issued Jul 19, 1938 - William B. Fageolassignedto Twin Coach Co.

Vehicle Driving Construction and Arrangement- US2232105 -Grant - Filed Jun 4, 1936 - Issued Feb 18, 1941 - William B. Fageolassigned toTwin Coach Co.

Panel Mounting - US2173435 - Grant - FiledMar 8, 1937 -Issued Sep 19, 1939 - William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Smoker’s Accessory - US2183425 - Grant -Filed May 10, 1937- Issued Dec 12, 1939 – R.B. Fageol

Non-hook, Non-skid Bumper Construction -US2173642 - Grant -Filed Sep 20, 1937 - Issued Sep 19, 1939 - R.B. Fageol

Passenger Vehicle - US2251584 - Grant -Filed May 25, 1938 -Issued Aug 5, 1941 - Frank R. Fageol & William B. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Reinforced Vehicle Body Construction -US2239089 - Grant -Filed Dec 29, 1938 - Issued Apr 22, 1941 - William B. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Toy Vehicle - USD115668 - Grant - Filed Jan5, 1939 - IssuedJul 11, 1939 – R.B. Fageol

Shock Absorbing Element - US2243462 - Grant- Filed Jun 19,1939 - Issued May 27, 1941 – R.B. Fageol

Automobile Buffer - US2257495 - Grant -Filed Sep 18, 1939 -Issued Sep 30, 1941 – R.B. Fageol

Automobile Bumper Guard - US2259440 - Grant- Filed Sep 18,1939 - Issued Oct 21, 1941 – R.B. Fageol

Governor - US2300378 - Grant - Filed Nov 24,1939 - IssuedOct 27, 1942 – Robley D. Fageol & William E Leibing assignedtoLeibing-Fageol Co.

Vehicle Spring Suspension - US2344983 -Grant - Filed Dec28, 1940 - Issued Mar 28, 1944 - William B. Fageol assigned to TwinCoach Co.

Vehicle Spring Suspension - US2330482 -Grant - Filed Mar26, 1941 - Issued Sep 28, 1943 - Issued Mar 28, 1944 - William B.Fageolassigned to Twin Coach Co.

Carburetor - US2443464 - Grant - Filed Jun7, 1943 - IssuedJun 15, 1948 - William E. Leibing & Robley D. Fageol assigned toR.D.Fageol Co.

Vehicle Suspension - US2404794 - Grant -Filed Aug 7, 1943 -Issued Jul 30, 1946 - William B. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Oscillating Van Rotary Pump - US2526621 -Grant - Filed Dec23, 1944 - Issued Oct 24, 1950 - William E. Leibing & Robley D.Fageolassigned to R.D. Fageol Co.

Fageol Child’s Vehicle - USD144703 - Grant -Filed Aug 8,1945 - Issued May 14, 1946 - William B. Fageol

Flexible Drive - US2491820 - Grant - FiledSep 17, 1945 -Issued Dec 20, 1949 - William E. Leibing & Robley D. Fageolassigned toR.D. Fageol Co.

Wheeled Vehicle for Children - US2423590 -Grant - Filed Oct1, 1945 - Issued Jul 8, 1947 - William B. Fageol

Engine Attachment - US2466090 - Grant -Filed Mar 1, 1946 -Issued Apr 5, 1949 - Robley D. Fageol assigned to R.D. Fageol Co.

Pressure Actuated Transmission - US2634709 -Grant - FiledFeb 2, 1949 - Issued Apr 14, 1953 - Robley D. Fageol assigned to R.D.FageolCo.

Speed Response Governor for InternalCombustion Engines -US2651316 - Grant - Filed Apr 12, 1949 - Issued Sep 8, 1953 - Robley D.Fageolassigned to R.D. Fageol Co.

Pressure Actuated Transmission Control Unit- US2584995 -Grant - Filed Apr 12, 1949 - Issued Feb 12, 1952 - Robley D. Fageolassigned toR.D. Fageol Co.

Method for the Production of Vehicles -US2773304 - Grant -Filed May 5, 1953 - Issued Dec 11, 1956 – Louis J. Fageol assignedto TwinCoach Co.

Method for Construction of Self-PropelledVehicles - US2791826- Grant - Filed May 19, 1953 - Issued May 14, 1957 – Louis J. Fageolassignedto Twin Coach Co.

Single Lever Control for Power PlantCarburetor andTransmission - US2808733 - Grant - Filed May 24, 1956 - Issued Oct 8,1957 –Louis J. Fageol assigned to Twin Coach Co.

Vertical Shaft Inboard Marine Power PlantInstallations -US2976836 - Grant - Filed May 24, 1956 - Issued Mar 28, 1961 – Louis J.Fageol

Internal Combustion Engines and Methods ofManufacturingSuch Engines- US2852837 - Grant - FiledDec 4, 1956 - Issued Sep 23, 1958 – Louis J. Fageol assigned to TwinCoach Co.

Marine Power Propulsion Assemblies -US3164122 - Grant -Filed Feb 26, 1962 - Issued Jan 5, 1965 – Louis J. Fageol deceased byCaryl MorrisFageol assigned to Textron Inc.


<previous




Fageol Motors Co., Fageol Safety Coach, Fageol Truck, Tractor,F.R. Fageol, Frank R Fageol, Fageol Motor Sales Co., Fageol Truck andCoach Co., Fageol Motors Company of Ohio (1)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Gregorio Kreiger

Last Updated: 12/25/2022

Views: 6277

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (77 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Gregorio Kreiger

Birthday: 1994-12-18

Address: 89212 Tracey Ramp, Sunside, MT 08453-0951

Phone: +9014805370218

Job: Customer Designer

Hobby: Mountain biking, Orienteering, Hiking, Sewing, Backpacking, Mushroom hunting, Backpacking

Introduction: My name is Gregorio Kreiger, I am a tender, brainy, enthusiastic, combative, agreeable, gentle, gentle person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.